Inside Israel – So Good To Reach Out To You Again – 13 June 2012

Hello and Happy Father’s Day to all the dad’s out there. Praying you are blessed and honored today for all that you do!  Today, J of Jerusalem is writing about her most recent situation, being laid up with a herniated disc. Even in this, He reveals Himself.  God bless you as you read and pray for J and for Israel!  Now, here’s J . . .

“I will sing unto The Lord as long as I live, I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.  My meditation of Him shall be sweet, I will be glad in The Lord…Bless ye The Lord, oh my soul, Praise ye The Lord!”  Psalm 104:33-35 
We used to sing those words from ‘The Blue Psalter’ when I was newly His, in the midst of real revival back in the mid 1970s.  We would sing them over and over again and I would feel as if my soul blended with the heavenly choir.  It has been years and years since I sang them, but I sang them this morning, spontaneously, as I finished reading Psalm 104, as if for the first time!  How GOOD and how FAITHFUL Abba is to ‘confirm His inheritance when it is weary.’!  And how readily we can probably all say as Joseph said to his brothers in Egypt ‘What you meant for evil, God meant for good.’ when the enemy thinks he sends a blow to us but God turns it ultimately (as all things for those of us who are His and called according to His purposes) for the good.  I have noticed that many painful trials take a LONG time for me to see clearly ‘the good’ that came from them, but there are others, like this one for me, where we can see it almost immediately. 
My husband set my computer up so that I can now type from his recliner chair; what a blessing!  I saw the doctor again on Sunday and he took an x-ray that showed that the herniated disc was healing ‘remarkably well and rapidly’, to his surprise and to my joy. “Oh, I am so thankful to The Lord!” I said.  He stared at me… He ALSO found that I had a great deal of ‘chronic damage’ to my spine (no surprise to me.  I have suspected that for a long time) so was surprised that I had not been ‘complaining’ about that J  God is so good!  He prescribed another week of bed rest on my back on a hot water bottle with walking for exercise as was comfortable.  (plus these powerful pain pills to keep swelling and tension down).  Most of you know that I have had a desperate need for a season set aside with The Lord, and for physical rest.  I am receiving two weeks of BOTH!  He even kept me back from writing for most of that time so that my priorities would be straight in line with His (I hope and pray).  He knows our weaknesses!  I am scheduled to return to work next Monday although I am not yet ‘sitting’ successfully and my work calls for 7 hours of that daily.  He has my ear! 
So it has been a rich time and I have been blessed in The Word much, as I was this morning in Psalm 104, as well as the rest of my reading.  My prayer life I find still wanting…just that rich time of being fully lost in Him, undistracted by the world…”…show me Your way, that I might KNOW YOU and find grace in Your sight, and consider that this nation is Your people…” Exodus 33:13.  Yes…to renew and refresh my relationship with Him, and to awaken my heart to the passion of His Heart for the lost…and for His purposes and concerns for this nation and people – this is my crying need. May it happen! 
I told you that I would try to remember to share with you how my back was healed one time before…for it was truly healed.  It was 30 years ago as our youngest daughter was a baby and I began riding my bike with her in a baby pack on my back.  One day I heard a ‘pop’ and sure enough, pain!  I was 36 back then and didn’t know anything about herniated discs, so just ‘kept on keeping on’…but the pain got worse and worse!  Down my body and through my legs…I could no longer sleep at night.  Walking was painful.  By winter I would (literally!) ROLL out of bed on to my knees and crawl to the kitchen where I would pull myself up and fill a waiting hot water bottle with hot water (back in those days we had hot RUNNING water!  I do miss that now!  It was a blessing.) I would carry it in my mouth to my chair where I would sit against it for an hour while I had my devotions.  I asked everyone I knew to pray for it.  My back was slippery with oil where it had been anointed and prayed for.  NOTHING!  Finally, after a year of agony, I saw a doctor who scheduled me for (aargh!) surgery! I did NOT want surgery and the outcome was NOT guaranteed! Shortly before the surgery, one morning while I was having devotions, The Presence of The Lord came in one of those all too rare and intense ways.  I reached up, weeping, and said something like ‘Oh Lord!  I would stand before You and just worship You … but… well; my BACK hurts so badly that I can’t STAND yet…’ I stopped…and I looked … ‘My BACK, Lord??  Would You please heal my BACK?’ And that is just what He did!  Suddenly, instantaneously, fully and completely!  His fire went through me and I was HEALED!  I jumped up and down and ran into our bed room and woke my husband up doing jumping jacks and yelling ‘I’m healed!  I’m healed!  The Lord just healed my back!!’  My husband, still sleepy (but he WAS walking with The Lord at that time) yelled back at me ‘Stop it!  Sit down!  You’re going to be CRIPPLED!’ (I had already done a great deal of nerve damage according to the surgeon who was scheduled to operate) by then he was awake. ‘No.  Look.  I really am healed!’  
And that was that.  I WAS healed!  I saw the surgeon one more time and told him what had happened.  He told me that he had another patient who had been seriously injured in a car accident and had a brain injury…but The Lord had completely healed him.  ‘I will have to really think about this.’ He told me. 
I was not troubled again for another 30 years.  Perhaps I had taken it for granted. 
The small witness that it has had so far this time came in an unexpected form, which reminded me how The Lord can use us as He likes in ways so different then we expect.  I took a taxi to the doctor’s office and was pleased when the driver was an older sabra.  I love to hear them talk and philosophize about the land and the state of things.  First we got past the small talk; ‘You are going to the doctor?  I hope that you will be well’ he told me kindly.  ‘Yes, it is a herniated disc.  It will heal.’  I answered ‘Oh!  That can take months!  Y-e-a-r-s!’ he added.  ‘My friend is healing up after surgery.  She couldn’t even walk, but she will be ok now.’ I told him I was glad for her and believed I would be fine.  We moved on to other subjects; the state of affairs of the nation and surrounding nations.  I finally said ‘Listen.  I am not religious (they can always see that by my manner of dress) but I love God and every morning I read in the scriptures and I pray from my heart.  If this country is man’s idea, we are crazy and will all die…but if it is God’s, then we must look to Him and He will be our defense.’ He fell silent.  As we pulled up I said ‘I hope that I have not offended you?’ and he looked at me and said ‘No.  But you have a herniated disc and you did not complain one time.  I know that it is a lot of pain.  I never saw someone in a lot of pain who did not complain.’  I was shocked!  ‘Well… what good would complaining do?’ I asked him. ‘I would not feel better and neither would you.  If I complain, then I don’t have time to hear the bird’s song or see the beauty all around me.  I would rather thank God for His beauty.’ He stared at me and continued ‘…never.  Someone in pain who does not complain.’  He drove off and I scratched my head and thanked The Lord for using me for SOMETHING, especially for something I was so unaware of…inspite of myself! 
your sis J in Jerusalem
9 Comments

  1. […] disc, Israel, Jerusalem, praise, prayer, The Blue Psalter … … The rest is here: Inside Israel – So Good To Reach Out To You Again – 13 June 2012 … ← GC12–a Prayer for Mercy « Lent & […]

  2. what a delightful account of your joyous faith… loved following along and will keep you in our prayers

  3. Thank you for those prayers for J! Forwarded you on to her, sweet faith filled fisherlady! love you and praying you have a sweet Father’s Day!

  4. Blessings to you, Dear Deb

    How great is our faithful and marvelous God! Trusting for another miracle 😉

    “If I complain, then I don’t have time to hear the bird’s song or see the beauty all around me. I would rather thank God for His beauty.’ ”
    Running with this today!

    I am in bed as I type. I think I overdid yesterday and despite a hot soak, my back still hurts… I don’t believe in coincidences, but I am amazed that this posting came at this time. Our God is faithful.

    Gratitude will be the song I sing today. I will arise and go meet with my Father.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Blessings
    ann

  5. “…He drove off and I scratched my head and thanked The Lord for using me for SOMETHING…”

    Sometimes we water, sometimes we plant, but it’s up to God to give the increase…and usually we don’t know which one we are doing at the time. So, I like the word SOMETHING used to denote what happened in the taxi.

  6. Oh Ann full of grace . . .Praying for you healing and also amazed that the post matched your circumstances so closely. Yes, He is faithful and true and sees us all! God bless you as you arise and go to Him! love and prayers!

  7. I like that too, Larry! Praying that He uses me for something today as well! God bless you and hope your Father’s Day’s been grand!

  8. Dear Sister J,
    You have a wonderful Faith and walk with the Lord… may He raise you up again in a miraculous way again and fulfill all His purposes in your life! Love in Yeshua from Susan, Australia

  9. Thank you for praying for Israel and J like you do, Susan! God bless you and I forwarded you on to J! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

