But Still

“And he did what was right in the sight of the LORD, according to all that his father Uzziah had done (although he did not enter the temple of the LORD). But still the people acted corruptly.”  2 Chronicles 27:2

We can’t always see the immediate effect living for Him is making on the people around us.

Lord, help us not be discouraged as we follow You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

It’s Not Over

I might think
it doesn’t matter
that my faith
is a small thing
as loved ones
continue their way
“but it’s not over”
says the King.

 

16 Comments

  1. This is absolutely true and humbling. When we share the way it is for God to change hearts, not us, even if it hurts to see the “before His miracle’ part in those we love so much. But we can believe in Him who is faithful to bring to completion that work which He has begun!
    loved your post!

  2. What a great poem and song, Sis Deb–and a GREAT Word from Our God! Faith is SO Powerful! And like electricity, we can’t usually “see” it–but if we believe, we will see the results! God bless you Big today–love, sis Caddo

  3. “…as loved ones
    continue their way
    “but it’s not over”
    says the King…”

    I’ve been a Christian 27 years and this “simple” poem has caused a torrent of tears this morning. How prophetic that you posted it this morning after I wondered when God would finish His work in my family.

    Thank God, it’s not over!

  4. Thank you so much, faith filled fisher lady, for the encouragement of Him being faithful to bring to completion that work which He has begun! Amen! God bless you and yours today, as He loves on you all!

  5. I LOVED the electricity analogy Sis Caddo! Yes, I do believe when I turn things on that they will work, whether I understand how it happens or not. Praying to believe even more today in our great God! God bless you BIG today too and envelope you in His love! love you!

  6. I know those kind of tears Larry! So thankful that He can keep us believing and praying, encouraging us along the way. Praying with you today too, for your loved ones as well as mine. God bless you!

  7. I don’t even know where to begin.The scripture, the devotional thought, the poem, and the song. Each element of this post speaks. I just love this post!

    Today is a good day for me. All of my days since my classes have ended have had virtually no physical demands. There is the housewife/ mom chores, but I am in a laid back type of setting that allows me to be lazy and messy if I want to be that way. So in a sense all of my days have been good days, but emotionally and physically I have had a lot of fatigue. So when I say that today is a good day I mean that I slept long and well with no pain and woke up feeling rested and looking forward to the day like when I was younger.

    When I am having a “good” day my outlook is better. I am sharing this
    because I read this post and felt very confident and excited while I read it and listened to the song…confident that it really is going to eventually be okay for all of us, because it doesn’t depend on us. I’m not saying that our good works and Christian witness will not be used by the Lord, but I think it is more for our good than the good of our loved ones. It helps us to be at peace…to have that peace that passes understanding.

    I truly believe that if we fail it hurts us more than our loved ones. I know there are the verses about stumbling blocks and offenses. I know that we might be both of those things at times, but I think it says “Woe to them”, because when a Christian messes up and hurts somebody else it grieves the Spirit and as a result that Christian is aware of it and that knowledge grieves him or her and robs them of their own joy and peace. (Remember, Peter wept bitterly.)

    But as far as our loved ones go…the drawing, the convicting, the saving…all of those things are the Lord’s job. He loves our loved ones too much to allow our mess ups to interfere with what He has planned to do. His love is powerful and effective…it’s an “unfailing” kind of love. Love “never” fails(1 Corinthians 13:8), and God is Love. (1 John 4:16) We are mere creatures, but He is King of kings and Lord of Lords! 🙂

    35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

    36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

    37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

    38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

    39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:35-39

    I know this is your post and I said an awful lot, but I just couldn’t help myself.

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. Love you wonderful woman of the Word! And I’m so glad that you just couldn’t help yourself. 🙂 I just love this, that He loves our loved ones too much to let our mess ups interfere with what He has planned to do. 🙂 God bless you and give you many more good days, refreshed in all ways, for Him! love and prayers!

  9. Debbie, In my expereince I have found we almost NEVER immediately see the effect our lives have on others. As we live for Him it takes patience and faith to have a consistent testimony in the eyes of those around us! Lord bless… great posting!

  10. Thank you Pastor Rob, for sharing about what it takes . .patience and faith. . .that consistent testimony. There can never be any regrets for living for Him, regardless of what we see happening in those around us. God bless you and your faith that inspires!

  11. I think I remember one time you said something along the lines of my jail ministry actually helping real people (something like that) to which I said you just minister to a different group of people (and again . . . something like that) This thread proves you do indeed minister here. Cool stuff.

  12. The comments are always the best part, Mike! 🙂 Thank you for being here and adding to the thread . . .the one that keeps us all attached to Him. Heading over to your post! God bless you and your life lived for Him!

  13. “It’s not over” . . . but I think time is running out at an alarming rate, so each of us who delight in the Lord should become more and more and more diligent as we follow the Lord’s leading in making Him known to family, friends and all we encounter.

    If we don’t see results, it doesn’t matter. It is not our concern. All we have to do is obey Holy Spirit in sowing the Seed or watering or fertilising the Seed sown, and leave the harvest to Him . . . (and of course be ready if He wants to reap through us)

    We serve an amazing God!

  14. God bless you, Mentor Angela, as you feel His urgency to make Him known in whatever way He leads you each day. I feel it too and what a privilege it is to be here now, to follow Him now. Your comment reminds me of when Peter asked Jesus about John . .. and He replied , what is that to you? Yes, let us obey, Lord!
    love and prayers for your day, sweet dear lady of His!

  15. Wonderful post, Encouraging Debbie! Many times we might become discovered, because we do not “see” a change in our loved ones, though we are allowing the light of Jesus to shine through us before them. We must remember, that while we are looking on the outward appearances the Lord is looking on the hearts of men. Sometimes He is working on them, and transforming them into His image, as only the Potter can! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  16. I love thinking about Him working on the inside, seeing the hearts. God bless you , praising Paulette, and thank you for your love and prayers! love you too!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

