“He Loved The Soil”

“Also he built towers in the desert. He dug many wells, for he had much livestock both in the lowlands and in the plains; he also had farmers and vinedressers in the mountains and in Carmel, for he loved the soil.”  2 Chronicles 26:10

My youngest likes to grow things.

Lord, thank You for loving us and tending to the soil of our souls.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Growing Us                                                            

Oh He loves
the soil we’re made of

delights to plant
and see what grows

watering
what has become hard

pulling out stones
as He goes.

18 Comments

  1. Wow, what a lovely expression of how God delights to nurture the soil of our hearts, despite our ‘hardness’ at times. What a loving Father/gardener we have! He loves us right to the end doesn’t He, at which point He will see us ultimately flourish into what we were meant to be all along… 🙂

  2. My dad was an Illinois farmer who always loved to look at fields of corn, soybeans, oats, hay, or whatever. He could stand there and watch for hours, as if he could see the sprouts move up through the soil toward the sun. His son, me, couldn’t wait to leave the farm and make his life in big cities.

    Now, in the autumn of my life, I sometimes think Dad knew something I didn’t.

  3. Oh Sis Deb, this is beautiful! And wonderfully true! As I get “older and closer” to the Lord, I can really feel His excitement mixed with mine as He plants new things in me/my life, and we watch them grow–He has great patience; me, not so much sometimes! Thank you for this simple, lovely poem–God bless your day with a bumper crop! love, sis Caddo

  4. Growing strong, healthy plants takes a LOT of work–I discovered the hard way that proper soil preparation and maintenance is essential!

    Thankfully, the Lord is the Master Gardener 🙂

  5. I am so thankful that He tends to our hearts.

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. I love that “He loves us right to the end”, Ali! And that He never gives up on us. God bless you, God’s girl!

  7. I love looking at the fields around me , Larry. All of a sudden, I realize that things are shooting up and growing. It inspires me! Your dad sounds great . . and I think he passed that down to you! God bless you as you grow and go for Him!

  8. Sis, I love that you thought of that, and feel that excitement at what He is planting as you watch together with Him as it grows. It is exciting!!! You inspire me! I am smiling so big at your bumper crop blessing for us. God bless you as you grow more and more beautiful in Him! love you!

  9. Heather . . .you have me thinking about how much work growing things really is, there is more to it than we think. But our God, He makes it look easy and shows delight in all that goes into it . .into us! God bless you as you garden with Him!

  10. Me too, wonderful woman of the Word! He’s had to pull a lot out of me to make room for something good to grow. 🙂 God bless you and yours this weekend . .. love you!

  11. I love the pulling out stones! 🙂 Isn’t that the truth – well with me anyway! 🙂 Love God’s handiwork! Great Poem!
    God Bless You!

  12. Me too, Lady D! I think I see His bulldozer parked in my front yard! God bless you, and all that He is growing in you!

  13. Funny, I was just reading Abba’s Child tonight about how He transforms our hearts of stone. 😀
    Just like the land I live on, I’m in need of water.
    The lesson for me in your poem is that I don’t do the planting – I don’t even do the watering – just the yielding.
    Thank you, sweet friend.
    Debbie

  14. Oh gracious FF .. .your comment blessed me! “just the yielding” really speaks to me! Praying to yield to His tending today! God bless you in the land you live with Him! love and prayers!

  15. AMEN Debbie what a blessing it is to know the lord is working in our hearts, grwoing His Word and bringing us closer to Him! Lord bless.

  16. God bless you too, Rob, as you lend yourself to Him daily!

  17. The Lord has blessed you abundantly Deb in showing you truths from His Word that most of us just skip over. Thank you for listening to His voice and sharing with us.

    Indeed He is a Gardener, and unlike most gardeners, His work is always perfect and always brings forth sweet blooms and fruit.

    What an amazing God!

  18. God bless you, Mentor Angela, and the sweet blooms and fruit He has brought forth in your life! Thank you for coming here and sharing some of it! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

