Treason!

“And when she looked, there was the king standing by his pillar at the entrance; and the leaders and the trumpeters were by the king .  All the people of the land were rejoicing and blowing trumpets, also the singers with instruments of music, and those who led in praise.  So Athaliah tore her clothes and said, “Treason! Treason!’ ”  2 Chronicles 23:13

Athaliah had “destroyed all the royal heirs of the house of Judah”.  (2 Chronicles 22:10)  Now she cries treason?

Lord, help me not to immediately emotionally respond to what I hear or read.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Emotional Halt

Guy Fawkes by Cruikshank
source – wikipedia

I hear the cry
on an injustice done
and my heart is off
on the run
ready to go
to the rescue
before I even know
what is true.

22 Comments

  1. This is a thought provoking post. I was curious about Guy Fawkes so I read about him at Wikipedia. They told us at school that Wikipedia is not reliable, but what I read there was sad.

    Your prayer is a wise one.

    17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

    18 Of his own will begat he us with the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures.

    19 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:

    20 For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God. James 1:17-20

  2. My comment accidentally posted before I was finished commenting.

    I meant to say that I am praying that prayer too.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. How easy it is to respond out of emotions (I am speaking from experience, ugh!) instead of taking time to think and pray. This really got me thinking about my need to stop and work things through before i do something stupid! Thanks alot for the encouragemnt.

    By the way please let me know if you find this in spam again. Thanks so much Debbie. Lord bless.

  4. Now that is a good one you don’t hear much on that word Treason…Love what you do sis. we can’t be afraid to speak God’s word

  5. the secret is waiting to hear that still small voice of God … I loved your simple poem and the thoughts shared here… also Theresa’s encouraging verses from God’s Word!

  6. Excellent word and poem, Sis Deb! I too have often watched my heart go galloping off–and my mouth, or pen, with it! Trying to listen more for the “Wait” from Him–and praying for more Grace! God bless you, Sis, as you go through your day–love, sis Caddo

  7. “…and my heart is off
    on the run
    ready to go
    to the rescue…”

    Gadzooks! Me thinks you’re talking about me and my pal, Pancho Sanza. You see, I have a history of charging windmills and coming up short.

    Thanks for your great reminder.

  8. Often my thoughts and opinions are emotional and too quickly shared. We are to be ready but to wait on His leading. He doesn’t always instant message.

  9. Thanks Deb for this reminder.
    Think first, pray first. All too often we allow our emotions to speak. We are told to ‘bring every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ’ [2 Cor 10:5] and this would apply even more to our emotions, which are our thoughts in action.

    Our amazing God takes our thoughts and produces a sweet outcome when we yield them to Him.

    What an amazing God!

  10. God bless you wonderful woman of the Word! I loved what you brought us from James! And, I didn’t read about Guy . . just went for a picture under “treason”. Now I’ll have to go back and find out about him too!! haha! God bless you and your desire to listen to Him first!

  11. Love and prayers and hugs to you! 🙂

  12. Rob, this comment wasn’t in spam. Yay!
    As I read your comment I realized that I feel pressured sometimes to respond right away, by my emotions. I don’t have to listen to them!! 🙂 God bless you as you stop and work things through with Jesus first!

  13. God bless you as you wait to know His truth!

  14. Yes, that is the voice we need to hear from at times like that . .thank you, faith filled fisherlady! I love when Theresa starts pouring out His word here . .. or anywhere! 🙂 God bless you as His truth guides you today!

  15. God bless you, Larry, as you charge off, with Holy Spirit backup! 🙂
    Gadzooks makes me smile!

  16. I love that, Patricia . . that He doesn’t always instant message! Oh that I learn how to wait well! God bless you as He keeps you ready and prepared!

  17. I love that verse in 2 Cor! What an amazing God that can recycle our thoughts and emotions into something useful and for His glory! 🙂 God bless you, dear mentor Angela, as you give Him your thoughts and your prayers!

  18. This has been a hard lesson for me to learn over the years but I think I may have finally arrived.

  19. It just means you have a tender-heart. There are worse traits! 🙂 We all need to rein in our emotions!
    God Bless You!

  20. God bless you, Tammy! I love your wisdom and grace! Thanks for stopping by!

  21. God bless you, Lady D, and your sweet encouragement to me! I better still keep a rein on it . . or better yet, hand the reins over to Him! love and prayers . . .as you come to my rescue again! You are really good at this! 🙂

  22. You are doing so good at this, waiting and listening and holding that pen and heart for just a bit, until you know it’s okay to let them go! God bless you, sweet Sis Caddo, and your heart that is big and generous with His love! love and prayers!
    p.s.okay, I found YOU in the spam this time! gggrrr! haha!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

