In All The Cities

“So they taught in Judah and had the Book of the Law of the LORD with them; they went throughout all the cities of Judah and taught the people.”  2 Chronicles 17:9

“And the fear of the LORD fell on all the kingdoms of the lands that were around Judah, so that they did not make war against Jehoshaphat.”  2 Chronicles 17:10

Jehoshaphat wanted everyone in Judah to know God’s word.

Lord, please help us not attach any conditions or connotations to Your word that You did not intend. And here is a simple poem . . .

Off The Shelf                                                                  

Take His word and go
spread it across the land

make sure they know
God will help them understand

as they read and experience
the living Word for themselves

the awe of God foretold
no longer sitting on a shelf.

16 Comments

  1. “they went”, thanks Deb! I pray we go and give today what we have been given…that’s where God had me this morning to…compelled to go! Blessings!

  2. so beautiful……….

  3. “Lord, please help us not attach any conditions or connotations to Your word that You did not intend”
    Debbie this is a wonderful desire of your heart. Over the years, I’ve seen it is very difficult to achieve. Very often, I find myself interpreting the Word with a tainted view based upon the teaching I have received in times past.

    Lord bless you!

  4. Whenever I hear the name, Jehoshaphat, it makes me think of Gabby Hayes listening to Roy Rogers explain about the bad guys and then Gabby exclaims, “Great jumping Jehoshaphat, Roy. We’ve been hornswoggled!”

    Great poem.

  5. Oh Sis Deb, I love this one too! I love the comfort and encouragement you wrote that “God will help them understand”–it just occurred to me that nobody had commentaries at the way-beginning; folks just had to open their hearts in faith, and God would give them holy revelation–same as He does today, when our spiritual ears are tuned in to Him!! God bless you for sharing His heart with us in nice little “simple poems”, Sis–praying for you and everyone at “church” to have a Great Day in Him today!! love, sis Caddo (have to say, I love Larry’s note too!)

  6. I so agree with you, brother Rob–and I think it’s one of the more serious stumbling blocks for the body of Christ. As I get older, I’m having to unlearn a lot of imperfect teaching. Extra work for God, and everybody. God bless you.

  7. Amen! Good Post, Deb. And oh, so true!
    God Bless You!

  8. I read your comment at Pastor J’s . .. loving how He is working in your life and compelling you! God bless you as you go!

  9. God bless you, angel Terry, as you take time with Al in His word, to comfort and give peace! love and prayers!

  10. I appreciate you so much, Rob and I am sure that I am influenced too, by others and what I’ve heard and been taught. Kind of hard not to be!! And it’s not all bad . . .just thinking that some may be turned away from His Word before ever reading it for themselves and seeing what they think and who God is to them. 🙂
    God bless you and your blog which doesn’t add nor take away from His word!

  11. Sis Caddo …thank you for encouraging us all with this comment! I know that I started later in life and had a good church and teachers there. A big big blessing! 🙂 love you and God bless you. You are a joy to Him and to us!

  12. Larry . . .I kept wondering where I had heard that name before! And how it had gotten used in such a different way from it’s origin! haha! I really love “hornswoggled” too! Now here it is way late as I’m answering so telling you to take the night off is kind of pointless. How about tomorrow . .. take tomorrow off and eat a donut and watch basketball! God bless you!

  13. Love you , sweet Sis Caddo Delight! I’m one of those without a commentary. haha! Betcha could tell, huh? haha! But I just think there is something beautiful about letting Him reveal something to us . .. maybe it won’t be super deep or know all the back ground history and the Hebrew and Greek translations . . .but it will be something just between Him and us. That’s my story! 🙂
    God bless you and thank you for your prayers over us at church and always!

  14. God bless you, Lady D, as you go today .. .fly even! 🙂

  15. As a Gideon, I delight to give the Scriptures, whether placed in motels, hospitals, waiting rooms, prisons, half-way houses etc or given to high schoolers . . . and the biggest joy is to personally hand a copy to an individual, pointing them to the ‘helps’ in the front and the way of salvation in the back.

    Deb, your ‘simple poem’ brings home again the importance of those who know Christ to know His Word – to read it, meditate on it, and more importantly to memorise it. We need to live and breathe His Word to all we meet, and we cannot do that unless it is hidden in our hearts and minds and will. Then, our amazing God can pull it out at any time and use us to speak His Word to someone in the darkness.

    What an amazing God!

  16. Mentor Angela, thank you so much for your comment. You always bless us with your experience and insight. Thinking of you pointing dear ones to the helps and the way of salvation makes my heart sing and pray. How you explain us needing to know His word so He can pull it out at any time and use us to speak to someone also strengthens me to keep on this journey with Him, making His word to me applicable and personal so it sticks.
    God bless you and yours! love and prayers and thanks!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

