Leaving the Commonlands

“For the Levites left their common lands and their possessions and came to Judah and Jerusalem, for Jeroboam and his sons had rejected them from serving as priest to the LORD.”  2 Chronicles 11:14

The Levites didn’t want to stay where they couldn’t serve the Lord.

Oh Lord, help us to follow Your calling on our lives, wherever it takes us.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Can’t Afford It

photo credit – wikipedia

It won’t always make sense
what we will do

where we will go
who we will choose

nor leaving behind
what we can’t afford to keep

if it means
not serving our King.

27 Comments

  1. I like that you say “it won’t always make sense”–not to others, and sometimes not even to ourselves. If we have “real” faith, and we’re listening for the Holy Spirit’s nudge, and trusting that we are fully capable of hearing God–we don’t have to worry about whether it “makes sense” or is logical/reasonable or not. We are just to Do/Go/Obey–and receive His blessing!! He is the only One we have to answer to. God bless you and our angel today with healing peace. Much love, your sis Caddo

  2. Debbie, A great need among Christians today is to follow His calling for our lives. One of the most important aspects is for us to understand the talents and gifts He has given to us. It is through a knowledge of these that helps us discern to what ministry we are called. Lord bless you Debbie.

    Rob

  3. Thank you, Dearest Deb

    “Oh Lord, help us to follow Your calling on our lives, wherever it takes us.”
    Amen

    Praying alongside you. I really cannot afford to keep anything that will hinder me from serving Him.

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. “…It won’t always make sense
    what we will do

    where we will go
    who we will choose…”

    How many of our Christian friends today would we have chosen to be our friends before our conversions? I can’t speak for you, but I can for me: very few.

    You see, as a young person, I made up my mind never to be a Christian because I didn’t want I thought they had; a religion without power. Who needs that, I thought.

    So, I went out of my way never to be around Christians.

    Yet, God still sent some sneaky Christians into my life anyway. Thank God for these people who loved me when I was unlovable.

    Great post. Eat a donut.

  5. oh Deb, how true… How true. The straight and narrow path has a surprisingly high number of twists and turns – and only one real decision to make – but within THAT decision, a myriad of others. As usual, your simple poem is NOT so simple. God bless and keep you my friend! 🙂

  6. great post!

  7. Nothing has made less sense than moving to Texas and working on an oil rig. Nothing could be more right, right now. God indeed works in mysterious ways, His wonders to behold! 😉
    Thank you, friend, always encouraging us to stop and listen.
    love from you F.F. Debbie

  8. Thank you for understanding my heart in these posts! I really liked the part about how we don’t have to worry about if it makes sense or not. 🙂 And thank you for our blessings and prayers! love you and God bless you, Sis Caddo Deiight!

  9. Your comment has me thinking of how sometimes after coming to Jesus, we can get stuck there in that place . .which is a wonderful place . . .Salvation! Praying for us all to seek Him for discernment over our talents and gifts and what He has called us to! God bless you and thank you, Rob!

  10. Thank you so much Ann full of grace and song . .. for the song and for your comment. Praying with you and asking Him about anything that I am keeping that is hindering me from Him. God bless you and your heart’s cry for Him!

  11. So thankful for those sneaky Christians He sent into your life! 🙂 He has blessed me with some childhood friends that also came to love Him!
    God bless you, Larry, and all that doesn’t make sense right yet in your life, but will! And thanks . . you don’t have to tell me twice about the donut! 🙂

  12. Thank you for putting it so much better than I . . more poetic even. 🙂 God bless you and all those decisions you make today, that lead you closer to Him!

  13. God bless you, Angel Terry, in this place that doesn’t always make sense. He’s there with you!

  14. Oh gracious one! I thought about you when I wrote this! The thing that makes perfect sense to me, is Jesus in you, wherever you are! God bless you in your new location, as you once again leave a common land. love and prayers, my FF!

  15. Thanks Deb, love this! I want to serve the LORD where I am and not stay in a place where I can not. Blessings!

  16. God bless you Tom, as you serve Him and don’t hold back! 🙂 Thank you for adding your insight and wisdom!

  17. Great thought! I’m excited because I’m finally getting time to catch up on reading some of my favorite blogs. I’ve been so busy lately that I haven’t much time to do any reading. Loving reading your blog! God bless you as you continue to encourage others!

  18. Ben! So thankful you are here . . but no pressure to read and comment okay? We can only do so much in a day! God bless you and the special calling He has given you!

  19. Amen! Sometimes things don’t make sense, but we need to listen anyway! Great Post, Deb.
    God Bless You!

  20. Such a wise post Deb – love your thought ‘they didn’t want to stay where they couldn’t serve the Lord.’ We can get a bit comfortable with geographical locations/physical markers – may we have the wisdom and courage to know when He is asking us to move on.
    Bless you sweet Deb – I am missing stopping by each day, a lot of ‘stuff’ on my plate at the moment but you are daily in my thoughts and prayers xx

  21. So well said – serving Him is what counts. Everything else can fit in with that… not the other way round (true freedom). Great stuff.

  22. So many things that God has done in my life just didn’t make sense to me . . . that is, until AFTER He accomplished His purpose. You know what? He ALWAYS knows what is best and He ALWAYS wants the very best for us.

    One of these days I’ll learn that and won’t question His illogical (to me) commands.

    I’m so thankful that my Father isn’t limited in His thinking like I am!

    What an amazing God!

  23. Love that Lady D . . .listen anyway! Taking notes here! 🙂 God bless you and yours, as you listen and follow His will for you!

  24. Well, sweet Aimee . . you got me crying, just cause with all you have to do, you are also praying for me. Praying for you too, that as He asks you and stretches you, that He also makes a way for you to leave behind what isn’t helpful right now, so you can go with Him. Your prayers for me are being answered by Him . . I want you to know that! God bless you always as you always bless us! love and prayers!

  25. I love the way you put that, Ali, that everything else must fit in with serving Him. 🙂 Thank you! And God bless you today!

  26. I’m thankful too, mentor Angela, that He doesn’t think like me! 🙂 You always encourage me as you testify to His faithfulness in your life and all that He has done, and how it worked out for good! God bless you as you praise your amazing God!

  27. […] and our angel today with healing peace. Much love, your sis … … Read the original: Leaving the Commonlands « Deb's Blog ← Naming God “Sophia” by Ken Pennings | Orchard Ridge United […]


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

