House of Sacrifice

“Then the LORD appeared to Solomon by night, and said to him; “I have heard your prayer, and have chosen this place for Myself as a house of sacrifice.”       2 Chronicles 7:12

I think of the house of God, the house of the LORD, the house of worship, but somehow forgot it was called the house of sacrifice.

Lord, we desire to be living sacrifices for You.  And here is a simple poem . . .

This Place

Solomon built the Lord’s house
and it became a place

for worship, for sacrifice
for them to seek His face

to bring their offerings
more than just bull or ram

to lay down their very lives
before the Great I Am.

31 Comments

  1. Oh Sis Deb–this is brilliant good work! I had somehow overlooked/forgotten the connection with sacrifice, but now I see how rich and beautiful it is, and how my heart wants to be offered up as sacrifice to Him. A daily work, it is. Also, I was unfamiliar with the video, so at first I was quite distressed–I need to see the whole thing. You are so wonderful to keep teaching me what else there is–in His Word, and elsewhere, that’s good. God bless your rest, and fly you through your work tomorrow with Holy Spirit power! much love, sis Caddo

  2. I just love your comments ,Sis Caddo Delight! Thank you so much for encouraging me here so faithfully. I loved how it is a daily work, to be a sacrifice. Beautiful. And, I’m so sorry about distressing you! I don’t know why but this is what came to my mind to try to find for a picture this time. Hope it doesn’t bother everyone!
    Thank you for your prayers! God bless you as you live for Him! love and prayers!

  3. Don’t be sorry, silly Sis! You know how sensitive I am–especially late at night; and I think you told me once that it was a good thing! Love that you welcome me here–and love you bunches!! God bless.

  4. That’s right, you’re sensitivity IS a good thing and you are a blessing of His! Thank you and love you!

  5. Hi Debs,
    First of all I must say, I really missed you. Sorry have been away. But I always felt this drawing to come back. I was just so weak I couldn’t even write or think straight. Thankfully, our Lord who gives us peace and strength has set me on my feet again. I am so glad to see you continue writing, day after day. You are an inspiration to me. Thank God for you. I love this post really very much Deb. Ran through a lot of other posts. I have a lot of catching up to do. But I must say I am edified, comforted and uplifted through what I just glanced through. Especially, this post on sacrifice. I often wonder, Jesus gave His all, how much more do we owe Him than we give? Learning about sacrifice practically is a painful process, like clay on the wheel. However, the end result is more beautiful. We turn from lump of clay to beautiful useful pot. 🙂 thanks for the reminder. Love and blessings to you and all your loved ones… hugs, Rita

  6. God bless you, Dearest Delightful Deb

    Great piece! Thanks for linking His house and sacrifice so ‘simply’ and clearly. 🙂

    I first read the Chronicles of Narnia when I was too young to understand the significance of the symbols. Years later I read the books again and recently watched the film. What a difference time makes!

    Blessings to you and yours as you remain a living sacrifice upon His altar.

    For Him,
    ann

  7. Thank you for reminding me of this, Debbie. This song, “We bring the sacrifice of praise” meant a lot to me as a young” born-againer” in 1987. Still does as an old one!

    Bless you heaps.

    RogerI

  8. If the Old Covenant is a shadow of what we have in the New Covenant, then the “house of sacrifice” perfectly describes worship in the New Testament, according to Romans 12:1.

    Great insight.

  9. yes, we do have to sacrifice so many things in order to follow the lord, but look at what he sacrificed? our are nothing in comparison

  10. Debbie,

    What agreat thought to be a “living sacrifice” for Christ… it si our reasonable service… He deserves it and so much more! Thansk for such an encourging post.

  11. Indeed, if our bodies are the living temple, then our lives must be a living sacrafice. Great post, Debbie!

  12. Love this Deb! The LORD has provided just the place for us to lay down our very lives! Blessings and sacrifice!

  13. >> “to lay down their very lives before the Great I Am”

    A living sacrifice – what a tremendous privilege! Can there be anything more precious than to be an instrument in the hands of almighty God?

    What an amazing privilege!
    What an amazing God!

  14. Oh my Ritas . . .Sorry for what you have been going through! Praying for you now, as He ministers to you in that oh so special way He does. Sacrifice doesn’t sound lovely, does it? But somehow with Him, it is. God bless you and I’ll be over to see you at your blog soon! love and prayers!

  15. Ann full of grace and song . ..I was an adult when I read those books! Loved them . . .felt like a little kid.
    God bless you too, Ann, and all that you lay before Him each day! You are truly an inspiration and encouragement for us!

  16. Oh Roger . . .I remember that song! I was a new believer in 1987! 🙂 God bless you as you give Him your all today! I loved the memory you brought here!

  17. Thank you, Larry, for showing us about the Old being a shadow of the new and the house of sacrifice being worship. How did you get so smart? All those grape-nuts? God bless you and yours and all you gladly sacrifice for Him!

  18. Great point, Angel Terry! God bless you and cover you as you live sacrificially for Him! love and prayers!

  19. I loved this, Rob . . .”it’s our reasonable service”. That makes me think how could we not live sacrificially? God bless you and yours and thank you for encouraging me!

  20. I keep seeing more and more in the comments, than what I saw as I wrote this. 🙂 Thank you, Ted! God bless you as you live for Him!

  21. Yes, He did provide that for us . . .He covers everything! God bless you as you lay down your life for Him!

  22. thank you my friend

  23. Mentor Angela, I love your grateful attitude and how you count it all joy and a privilege . .. all this life of ours! You have me smiling and praising our amazing God, for allowing me to be His and to give my life to Him. God bless you and yours, as you so willingly give Him your all! love and prayers!

  24. My dearest Debs, He has never left me one second of all that has happened – what I term as one of the most difficult times in my life. Our Heavenly Father has not only embraced me in His everlasting arms, but has spoken and applied balm over my broken heart. All I had to do was let go of how I dreamed things would work out and the utter disapointment in my heart. I had to lay it all on the altar of sacrifice. I had to make the decision to say even now Lord blessed be Your name! It was difficult, but when I did it, He opened the eyes of my understanding and showed me how it was all for the best. He is truly close to the broken hearted. I am just enjoying His love, joy and peace. One thing for sure, nothing we lay on the altar is worth above Him; this makes it a little more easier to surrender things. Sweet surrender Debs! It is the best thing ever.
    Thank you for visiting my blog. You are a very precious woman of God. Keep shining His light and spreading His love like you already do. 🙂
    Blessings and love as always,
    Ritas

  25. Deb, This goes so well with the retreat I went to last Saturday where we learned about the temple and the sacrifices that were given there. Your poem is awesome! It is so wonderful to be able to worship and be a living sacrifice for the Great I Am! Peace, Linda

  26. Ritas . . .this is so beautiful and makes me cry. YOU are a special child of His. Thank you for leaving these comments for others to read and be blessed by, in their own hardest times ever. love you!

  27. Oh that’s right . . .I remember you sharing about that retreat! Thank you so much for being here, Linda! God bless you as you worship Him with your life! Praying you have a good Friday and weekend!

  28. Encouraging Debbie, I loved it! Wonderful poem! The sentiments of my heart! God bless you, as you offer your life as a sacrifice unto Him!

    Paulette

  29. Praising Paulette! God bless you for coming by, and for being the one who worships in such a sacrificial way. Love you and love the song! Thank you!

  30. Wow you made me cry again beautifully Deb! I used to live in a house of sacrifice where I do things out of fear but now I willingly stay in The House of Sacrifice where love blooms out of it — sacred prize 🙂

  31. Now you are going to get me started crying too. So thankful that you can now do things out of love, out of His Love! God bless you and all that blooms and is sacred in your life! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

