Inside Israel – Independence Day 2012

Hi sweet friends and thank you for stopping by for a look inside Israel though J of Jerusalem’s eyes and heart. This was sent to me on April 25/26, so it’s a little late, but I thought you would still appreciate reading it. God bless you as you pray for Israel and for J!  Now, here she is . . ..

 Yom ha’atzmaoot – Inedpendance day  25/26 April, 2012
Psalm 30:11, 12 KJV
“Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness; To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever.”
 A dear sister who knows this land well, sent the verse to me concerning the current cycle of observances that so defy adequate description. How do they ‘pull this off’ every year?…I simply do not know.  I see it…I live it…I witness it and I stand in growing wonder as the years pass: the entering of grieving, collective memory with the memorial day for the Holocaust…the pensive week leading to the grieving, collective memory for the soldiers and victims of terror…and the moment, perhaps as mysterious as birth itself, as the minute passes drawing the nation from mourning to rejoicing for the rebirth of the nation promised by God to a rebellious, wandering, peculiar people. 
 The extraordinary ceremony that closes the season of collective grieving and opens, with a strange combination of honor and wonder, the Independence Day ceremonies, take place on Mount Herzl, just several blocks from where we live.  This mount shares its face with Yad V’Shem (the Holocaust memorial), with the Zionist museum and center, and with the Mt. Herzl military cemetery, where all of the country’s leaders are buried as well as soldiers from the area of Judea.  As I write, I hear the ceremony from outside my window as well as on the television, where I can see it clearly.  The ceremony tonight was opened with the reading of Psalm 1, followed by an Israeli song calling upon us all to praise God with one voice and to live for His praise.  I wondered how the ceremony would proceed, if indeed it was going to, because it was in question this year.  One week ago, as the soldiers were rehearsing for tonight’s events, a structure collapsed in the strong wind, and a beautiful young soldier, Hila Betaleli, was killed.  Only with much heart wrenching discussion was it decided that tonight’s ceremony would be held, but with changes, including that instead of the head of the Knesset lighting the opening torch signifying the bridge between the grave and the birth, Hila’s parents would light it.  I sat in tears watching them, so bravely, stepping forward before the entire nation to, none the less, give glory to the fact that this nation survived 64 years; to stand as perhaps the newest family to have given one of their beloved children for this country.
 I watch as 12 individuals come forward to light the 12 torches that represent the twelve tribes of Israel.  This year’s ‘theme’ is ‘water’.  We have had so many years of drought…this land that has seen the promise come to pass…the desert blooming.  Water is indeed precious here and each one who lights a torch this year has contributed to the wise and creative use of water for the good.  Yes, water is precious and recognized as a gift from God.  The entire theme of this year’s celebration seems to have placed recognition of God at the center. 
Will this be the year?  Perhaps the year that the ‘type’ becomes the ‘Reality’?  That instead of the symbols (as touching as they are) that the veil is removed and The Precious Face of Messiah, Yeshua, Jesus The Christ, is recognized?  That the prophecies will complete full cycle and instead of seeing through a glass darkly, we shall see face to Face?  There was glory with the first covenant, but it pales to The Light Who IS the second!  I long for the day that His Face is revealed to my people.  You know, I share with you the things that I see and hear and smell here, and they DO bring a sense of wonder: a nation re-born in a day…a nation that truly IS  God’s promises for His purposes.  But it is like a pregnancy in many ways.  The baby is there and the pregnancy has it’s glory…but it isn’t the final result.  The baby must be born, and I trust, that, as with a pregnancy, there is a ‘set time’ ahead when His Face WILL be revealed AND embraced as we read in Zech 12… in Romans 12… and reflect in our prayers. 
 And so I send off another poor offering.  I KNOW that many of you would enjoy some of the very revealing articles in ynet this week http://www.ynetnews.com/home/0,7340,L-3083,00.html  or the Jerusalem Post  http://www.jpost.com/  May The Lord be glorified and may you know how precious each of you are to me.  His body is a true wonder!  Lovingly, from Jerusalem, your sis
ani b’derek
Published in: on May 20, 2012 at 6:58 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

10 Comments

  1. Thank you, Bridging-Deb

    This post fills me with a sense of hope, Deb. There may be drought now, but we wait in anticipation of the Water that satisfies completely.

    I like the analogy of the pregnancy. Yep… We will wait for the full manifestation of His promise. One day we shall behold Him!
    “Will this be the year? … That the prophecies will complete full cycle and instead of seeing through a glass darkly, we shall see face to Face? ”

    I so pray!!!

    Blessings
    ann

  2. It filled me with hope too, Ann full of grace and song! And excitement for what He will yet do! God bless you, my friend who crosses bridges to encourage others! Sending you to J!

  3. very informational and interesting. it doesn’t matter if it was late or not, still very good

  4. Next year in Jerusalem.

  5. God bless you, angel Terry! Praying you are having a good day! love and peace to you!

  6. It sure stirs my heart to read that, Larry! God bless you as you believe and pray.

  7. Wow! Great Letter — very interesting!
    God Bless You, Deb!

  8. Thanks Lady D! I’ll let J know you liked it! God bless you too, and all your family, big and small!

  9. Thanks Debbie for this… and I agree with you J that… “The Precious Face of Messiah, Yeshua, Jesus The Christ, is recognized” more and more by Jews and Israelis from all tribes.
    For those who can help towards that divine goal and the fulfillment of our Union with the remnant of Israel… please support the ministry of Todd Baker who goes to Israel every few months to share Yeshua as their Messiah on the streets… as the Holy Spirit leads.
    (I’m sure Deb won’t mind this “plug” to see the article about “Brit Hadashah Ministries” on my website. It is a vital end time ministry to bless and open their eyes. Many of these people who are touched and receive free New Covenant Bibles and literature may go on to join with other Messianic believers in Israel who are worshiping and waiting for Yeshua our Bridegroom How shall they see and hear lest someone goes?)
    Love in our Messiah… Maranatha Susan.

  10. Thank you Susan, for leaving that info here! God bless you and your heart for Him and for Israel! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

