Mind Set

“Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.”  Colossians 3:2

I’m thinking “choose the higher road” over “so heavenly minded they’re of no earthly good.”

Oh Lord, may the gravity of this world not pull our thoughts down from where You designed them to be.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Defying Gravity

Going to set my thoughts up above
all the rubble lying around

that which can be thrown at me
to knock me out and keep me down

and with my thoughts up higher
where there’s clean air and space

they’ll have a chance to grow in truth
to fuel my prayers and faith.

25 Comments

  1. Debbie, Thank you for this great reminder to always have our minds fixed on Him. This is a difficult thing to do in today’s time. That;’s why we need His people to remind each other of their need to always be looking to Him. Great job… Lord is certainly blessing you.

  2. Debbie good post sis our minds must be renewed our old way of thinking can’t remain the same…Have a blessed day today

  3. Defying graivty- what a great word picture. To defy those things that will drag us down and strive for those that lift us ever higher. God Bless you today!

  4. “…Oh Lord, may the gravity of this world not pull our thoughts down from where You designed them to be…”

    Powerful prayer.

    Great post and not as simple as usual.

  5. Lovely poem Debbie. Above and not beneath.

  6. This is so nice and perfect, Sis Deb! And I heard “gravity” with 2 meanings, so that was a “bonus” for me–not letting this day be weighed down with either!! Thanking and praising God that HE continually LIFTS us UP!! Praying for you a wonderful Tuesday with Him, that He will pour Himself out on you and all our family here at church! much love, sis Caddo

  7. beautiful, and i need to practice this more often also

  8. Really appreciated this post, Debbie. Your poem is spot on and gently reinforces the truth that “reality”, as we know it, is but a wisp of smoke compared to eternity.

    I’m not sure who first coined it, but the phrase about being too heavenly minded seems a bit off. In my experience, it is when I neglect to deeply cultivate an eternity-centered perspective that I cease to be of much earthly use!

    In Him,
    H

  9. Rob, I loved your comment so much, the reminder of why we are doing what we do, encouraging each other in Him! It has helped me tremendously to read Christian blogs and think about Him and His word as I read! God bless you as you lift your thoughts up to Him!

  10. Thank you for the blessings, Dear Desiray, and for the reminder of our minds being renewed by Him, from the way they were. God bless you as you look up!

  11. Oh Ted . .. I like the way you said it better than the way I did! haha! You could write poetry! God bless you as you take that higher road of thought today!

  12. Oops. 😉 Will try to get back to simpler tomorrow then. God bless you as you lift Him up and in front of everything else!

  13. Oh, I like that Tahlitha! “not beneath”. . .when my thoughts get there, I’m in trouble. God bless you and lift you up as you think on Him!

  14. You are so sweet Sis Caddo Delight and your prayers bless me / us! I loved that gravity thought, to not let the day get weighed down either! So good! God bless you and lift you up tonight, carrying your thoughts to Him!

  15. I think you are doing so good, Angel Terry! God bless you as you think of Him and care for Al. Your thoughts are higher than you know, just doing for your brother like you do!

  16. Heather, thank you for putting that phrase into a better perspective! We can’t be of much use without that eternal hope!
    God bless you and yours as you stay Christ minded!

  17. Great poem, Deb. Enjoyed!
    God Bless You!

  18. “Defying gravity” . . . yes, human nature: our own as well as others’ has the tendency to pull us down, down, DOWN.

    But we also have a “gravity” which draws us to our heavenly home. We have our own spiritual nature, exercised by Holy Spirit, and we have our spiritual friends – like you, Deb – who encourage us and assist us as we ‘set our minds on things above.’

    Thank you for your constant encouragement.

  19. Deb I really like this poem and post. This is interesting:

    “I’m thinking “choose the higher road” over “so heavenly minded they’re of no earthly good.”

    I like that analogy. I think it is good to be thinking about Heaven, and remember that we are pilgrims here, but I liked that you chose the “higher road” idea of virtuous thinking. I thinking a way they both go hand in hand. 🙂

    I have been away from the blogging world to some extent lately, and I am hoping to return to more consistency. Please pray for me about this. I am so thankful that you have been able to keep blogging. I feel like I am “coming home” when ever I read them.

    Love
    Theresa

  20. I love it, mentor Angela! Kind of like reverse gravity, drawn up! 🙂 I appreciate you so much and all you do to help us stay thinking of Him! God bless you and hubby as you stay set on Jesus!

  21. I have been thinking of you, wonderful woman of the Word, and praying too! Yes, I’m with you, that there is nothing wrong with thinking of heaven . . .I just was reaching here, trying to tie my thoughts together and merge them with the scripture. haha! Sometimes when I hear in a song or sermon that this world is not our home . . .I know what they mean. I know it’s not our home. But a part of me cringes, feeling that we come off sounding disdainful of the ones He wants us to serve, love, and reach out to. It may not be my home, but it’s where He has me right now , surrounded by people that He wants me to love and I don’t want them thinking that I don’t want to be doing that, that I can’t wait for my ticket out of here and away from them. 🙂
    God bless you and all He leads you to, sweet lady of His! I know it will be good! love and prayers!

  22. thank you for thinking this Debbie. i try so hard with him

  23. I’ll just stick to pictures, Deb. My words tend to be dry as dust unless inspired by other words (like yours!)

  24. The mindset is very important, because the mind is the battlefield where Satan wages war! Thanks for the reminder to keep our minds set on things above! God bless!

    Paulette

  25. Oh so true, praising Paulette! Don’t I know it! God bless you as you keep stayed on Him! love and prayers and thank you for our wonderful Wednesday worship times!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

