I Will Show Kindness

“Then David said, “I will show kindness to Hanun the son of Nahash, because his father showed kindness to me.”  So David sent messengers to comfort him concerning his father.”  1 Chronicles 19:2

Things got messy after this as Hanun was advised and believed that David’s intentions were to spy on him, not comfort him.

Lord, we desire to keep reaching out in kindness today. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Again                                               

When we reach out
in kindness
but it’s twisted
into something else
and explaining
only makes it worse

we stop

until the next time
when we reach out
in kindness again.

25 Comments

  1. This makes me feel better. Thank you for sharing.

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Wise advice for all of us to pay attention to. Thanks.

  3. Thank you so much, Dearest Delightful Deb

    “Lord, we desire to keep reaching out in kindness today”
    Amen…

    Much to learn …

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. Oh Sis Deb–this is such a good word to me, because my usual “plan” is not to reach out again, if my efforts were misinterpreted/misunderstood/unappreciated the first time around. But surely that is NOT Jesus’ way–and I am determined to prayerfully “try again” in His strength and love. I will not allow the enemy to prevail against my joy in being a blessing for God!!! God bless your Monday, sweet Sis–much love to you, and everyone here at “church”. love, sis Caddo

  5. Deb did you get my email I sent you?

  6. I’m thankful the Lord didn’t give up on me. With hindsight I can see that He called me several times but I ignored Him – and He reached out again – and again – and again.

    May I have the same perseverance with others, that I will continue to reach out with the message that will change their lives now and for eternity.

    Thanks Deb.
    We serve an amazing God!

  7. Dear Deb –
    It’s a tough lesson to learn – giving without strings- without even threads attached.
    When someone rejects or misinterprets my ‘kindness’ and it bothers me (which it certainly does sometimes), I have to ask myself what motived the kindness in the first place?
    If I was acting out of love for the Lord and trying to share that, then it’s all good.
    When the same behavior has any ties to my need for acceptance or to please, then I withdraw.
    Thank you for reminding me to keep track of my heart.
    Love to you,
    Debbie
    PS – Caddo has me singing Kung Fu Fighting – does Aub have any suggestions? 😉

  8. Left to myself I would not reach out again–gotta protect myself you know! But God is good and shows the way and walks with me, holding my hand as I reach out… again.

  9. You make me feel better, just seeing your face. 😀 God bless you wonderful woman of the Word! love and prayer – you’re almost there! ( yes, I am your personal cheerleader now! haha!)

  10. God bless you, Larry, and all the kind ways you reach out each day. You don’t even like poetry stuff, but you come here anyway! 🙂

  11. Praying that I stay teachable, dear Ann full of grace and song! Thank you and God bless you for the way you touch others for Him!

  12. Thank you Deb…just keep reaching out. We reach for Him not the reaction…hmmm. May we turn to Him when things get twisted. Great reminder…thanks

  13. Love you, Sis Caddo Delight, who tries again and again. You are so precious. I’m sure there are situations and times that He says “no” to! I think for me, it’s when I decide I won’t try again, that I’m done . . .but He hasn’t said so, that I need to reach out again. Sometimes I just need to regroup with Him first. 🙂
    God bless you and your heart that reaches out in kindness all day long. love you!

  14. Yes I did, dear Desiray, and thank you! God bless you as reach out to the lost and hurting around you each day!

  15. Oh, yes, mentor Angela . . .how wonderful to show how He reached out again and again to us. How true! So glad that He didn’t stop at just once. Praying with you for that perseverance to keep reaching out with Him to others who need to know they have a Savior !
    God bless you and yours, and all you do to show God’s love to others!

  16. Oh gracious one . . .that is a really good question to ask ourselves before we begin again. Thank you for your wisdom and grace . . .a double whamee! 🙂
    Caddo’s Haiku Writing song is staying with me too! haha! Gotta love it! Let’s see, Aub was swinging and listening to the soundtrack from The Sound Of Music today. Does that help at all? And I have this one stuck in my head, from looking it up for someone else . . .

  17. I love that picture your comment brings to me, Patricia . .. of Him holding my hand and helping me reach out again! Thank you so much! God bless you and all the ways you show His kindness each day!

  18. Great one, Tom .. to turn to Him when things get twisted. Thank you! Once when I was struggling with being misunderstood, He told me that there was nothing wrong with me wanting to be understood . . .but that it would help others more to understand about Him. It helped me put things in perspective and to prioritize! God bless you as you keep reaching out!

  19. 😀
    I don’t have enough internet tonight to play the video but you can thank Aub for me. The hills are alive in SE Texas and I’ve got Confidence! 😀

  20. Regrouping with Jesus is an excellent plan, Sis Deb–I agree!!

  21. My friend, I nominated you for the Reader’s Appreciation Award. I know you don’t ‘do’ awards. Nothing is required on your part. I just wanted to publicly express how much I appreciate all that you contribute to TMG. Thank you, dearest Deb!
    Debbie

  22. Thank you sis for that precious gift you sent…it will help others and they will know that I have such friends who love people just like Jesus loves us…Again thank you for the gift. You really blessed my heart when I got the email….God bless you and your family…I know God is going to bless you for it sis.

  23. Thank you so much for nominating me for such a nice award! I appreciate you hugely, and that you take the time to read here and comment. You bless me and I’m so glad that we have gotten to “meet” here in blog land. 🙂 Love and prayers, gracious one!

  24. Debbie,

    Kindness that comes form a heart of love is one of the greatest gifts we can give to those around us. Thanks for anohter important reminder.

  25. The way you put it, Rob, helps me realize all the more how precious kindness can be in someone’s life today. Praying I never get stingy with it! God bless you and the kindness that you show!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

