Preparing A Place

“David built houses for himself in the City of David; and he prepared a place for the ark of God, and pitched a tent for it.”  1 Chronicles 15:1

Preparing takes time.

Oh Lord, help us take time to prepare our hearts for You today.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Prep Time

We can have a great idea
and  want to see it done

but find it involves much more
once we’ve begun

so let us prepare
first with humble hearts

that let You guide us
and bless our efforts.

See http://larrywho.wordpress.com for a great series on preparing!  🙂

25 Comments

  1. Thank you Deb 🙂

    “Oh Lord, help us take time to prepare our hearts for You today.”
    Amen…

    I have an unexpected guest coming in 30 minutes … no, I am not prepared 🙂 I can prepare myself to receive her, or I can prepare my heart to receive Him. Going with option ‘B’ first.

    God bless you much,
    ann

  2. One aspect of preparing our hearts for worship and His service involves the proper use of our bodies as Godly instruments for HIS use.

    1Cor 6:19-20 (KJV)
    19) What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost [which is] in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?
    20) For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

    Lord bless you… you’ve pointed out another important principle for all of us!

  3. so let us prepare
    first with humble hearts

    The thought occurred that much of preparation is in being humble and quiet before the Lord. Neither of these qualities come easily to me and require effort on my part.

    Thank you, Debbie, for the reminder that genuine Christian service is not an “automatic” thing in the life of the believer.

  4. “…but find it involves much more
    once we’ve begun…”

    My walk with the Lord is filled with this truth as the Lord first tells me something which sounds so exciting. Then, I throw myself into it, only to discover it will be a lot of work and take a lot of time.

    Now, I understand our walks are always meant to be a classroom for us learning about Him and His ways, but I also think He is a Master Marketer who knows how to hook us into what He desires for us. He is the Creator of the original “Gotcha” ploy…all for our own benefits.

    Thanks for the shout out! I appreciate it.

  5. I am also reminded when Jesus said I will go and prepare a place for you and come back and receive you as my own. He was talking about those mansions we will be living in when He comes back for His children..AMEN

  6. Ahhh, great good word for us, Sis Deb! How often I have “run ahead”, powered by enthusiasm and excitement, before seeking God’s blessing–and prep plan. I appreciate this reminder! Love to you, and everyone at church today~~sis Caddo

  7. Thanks so much, Debbie! This really hits home today. 🙂

  8. Love it Deb – reminds me too that when we have a great idea / dream, we not only need to prepare our hearts, we need to remember that He will also prepare us for it through refining:)

    On a different note, like Desiray I was reminded that He is preparing a place for us. Misha and I have been talking a lot about heaven again and that Jesus will return when He’s finished those mansions for us – Misha is convinced He is building her a castle, she’s even told me what her bed linen will be like 🙂 May we anticipate what He is preparing for us like little children.

    Bless you dear Deb xx

  9. Oh dear Ann full of grace and song . . .this really touched me.
    “I can prepare myself to receive her, or I can prepare my heart to receive Him.” It’s one thing to prepare my heart as I read and pray . . .but to prepare my heart to receive Him all through the day is what I desire. Thank you!!!!
    God bless you as you stay prepared and ready for your King!
    love and prayers!

  10. Rob, thank you for showing us more about preparing ourselves for Him! Excellent and exciting . . .as you know His Word always is! 🙂
    God bless you as you honor and give Him glory and praise!

  11. Heather, thank you for sharing about being humble and quiet before the Lord . . .how that isn’t always easy for us. I kind of need to prepare before I prepare. 🙂 God bless you and your genuine love and desire for Him always!

  12. I love thinking about Him hooking us into what He desires! Now that you say that, I can see it better! 🙂 God bless you Larry, and all that He is doing as you prepare! You are so welcome for the shout out . . .now if I only can figure out how to do links . .. haha!

  13. Amen, Desiray! Thank you for getting us to think about what He is preparing for us! 🙂 God bless you, one who is ready for her Lord!

  14. For me, Sis, it’s always the time thing! Praying that I take the time to prepare in all the ways He knows I need to! God bless you and thank you for being here. Church wouldn’t be church without you! love and prayers and hugs!

  15. God bless you, Ted , as you prepare and follow His lead!

  16. Wow, Aimee . . .so much in your comment! Thank you! Loving the part about His preparing us through refining . . .that is a good insight and truth. And that happens over time too, doesn’t it?
    And then precious Misha . . I’m thinking she is SO going to have a castle and the bed linens she is thinking of! 🙂 Love that girl and her heart of trust and belief in Him!
    God bless you Aimee, as He prepares you and prepares for you. It’s all good with Him!!! love and prayers!

  17. Thanks Deb! Great reminder to prepare our hearts for the King of kings to preside!

  18. Thanks, Debbie. I wrote a song once that included the line, “Steady your heart and make ready your hands/For doing God’s work is more work that you plan.” It’s so true! Blessings, Amy

  19. No matter what “ideas” or plans or thoughts we have, if they are not brought under the control of our Master and put to action with His guidance, they will be fruitless. On the other hand, when HE is in control, they will reap an abundant harvest.

    We serve an amazing God!

  20. God bless you, Tom, as He presides in your heart and life today!

  21. Oh Amy . .. I love that line! You are such a writer of both songs and poems. You help me prepare with the reminder to not shy away when it doesn’t fall into place easily. 🙂 God bless you and how you prepare today!

  22. What a wonderful insightful point, Mentor Angela. A way to know if our preparations are on track with Him or not. God bless you as you keep your heart prepared for Him! love and prayers!

  23. Thank you for sharing your thoughtful comment! So true!

  24. This is a wonderful word, Encouraging Debbie! It’s such good advice! It is expedient that we prepare our hearts, by spending time in His presence, that we might know what His will is concerning us! God bless you today, as you prepare your heart for Him!

    Paulette

  25. Nothing beats spending time with Him. Nothing can prepare me better for anything that is coming up. 🙂 God bless you and your eagerness to be with Him always, prepared to worship and praise!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

