Blessings In Disguise

“The ark of God remained with the family of Obed-Edom in his house three months.  And the Lord blessed the house of Obed-Edom and all that he had.”  1 Chronicles 13:14

At a time when I questioned the techniques being used, a public school administrator said, “Well, why don’t you school her?”

Lord, we desire to receive Your blessings through what others might consider curses.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Blessed Sightings                     

I can chose
how I see

what my God
has given me

where some think curse
I know blessing

more and more reasons
to always praise Him.

33 Comments

  1. Debbie one of the reasons I so look forward to stopping by here is your beautiful heart, your willingness to see His hand, His blessing in all that you walk through. 2 Chronicles 16:9 says For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him. I know He sees in you a fully committed heart so may He continue to strengthen and you may always see His hand of blessings in your life xx

  2. When the Lord turns a curse into a blessing it is His greatness on display. It never ceases to amaze me, like Joseph told his brothers…”You meant it for evil, but God meant it for good.” May the Lord be praised for His absolute control over all things, even the curses and sinfulness of man. Lord bless you!

  3. You really do have a gift for biblical application on a daily basis. Thank you.

  4. Wow, this lines up with Ann’s post for today. More for me to think about.

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. God always has a Ram in the Bush

  6. “…where some think curse
    I know blessing…”

    For us Christians who do our best to walk with God, then truly “God causes all things to work together for good.”

    Great poem. And yes, you can “school” her.

  7. Aimee . . .I’m humbled and speechless. Thank you for seeing things in me that I don’t always see myself. God bless you as you see His blessings in even the hard parts of your life, and give Him praise! love and prayers! You are such a blessing to me! 🙂

  8. I loved this, Rob! Yes it does just display His greatness all the more, and that’s what we want too. Thank you so much for your comment . .. it really blessed me! God bless you and all that He is doing in your life!

  9. God bless you, Tammy, as you see Him and His goodness and blessing today . . .no matter what. 🙂

  10. Wonderful woman of the Word . . .it’s one of those God things again. 🙂 God bless you, Theresa, as He continuously works on your behalf today! love and prayers . . .you are almost there!

  11. I just loved this, dear Desiray! 🙂 God bless you as He turns every obstacle thrown at you into a blessing and a praise!

  12. >> “where some think curse I know blessing”
    That makes me think of Joseph and how God used his faithfulness.

    Then I think that Joseph was ONLY able to be faithful because God gave him the ability.

    Then I think that God is desirous of blessing each of his children and using us to reach and bless others.

    >> “I can chose how I see what my God has given me”

    While EVERYTHING is His work, it is up to me to chose my response . . . and then I will see the glory of God and praise Him for giving me the faith to believe.

    What an amazing God!

  13. I love to remember this, Larry, and really NEED to remember it some days! Thank you!!! At the time that person told me that, I was overwhelmed and she knew it. I didn’t think that I could do it. After all, there was a whole team of people there trying to teach her and get her to do what they wanted her to do. Some teachers were wonderful and some used inappropriate techniques, in my opinion.(like telling her she wouldn’t be able to see me until she had gotten her work done.) At home, there would just be me. Then, low and behold, that is the door that God told me to walk through. 🙂 Blessed!
    God bless you and all that He is working together for your good today!

  14. I love this, Sis Deb!! I only wish I’d known decades ago that I had a choice about “how I see”–we all need a pair of Holy Spirit glasses so we can that Our God Is Greater, no matter what we see around us (and inside us, on “Pigpen” days!). Love to you, sweet Sis–God bless everyone at church today!!!

  15. I love the flow of your thoughts, Mentor Angela! 🙂 Thank you for helping us see that it’s up to us to chose how we see. God bless you as you chose Him and His glory and good each day! love and prayers! Are things going okay with hubby?

  16. I love “seeing” you here, Sis Caddo Delight! And am giggling about the special goggles I need on Pigpen days, when all that dirt and cloud are swirling around me. God bless you and your always choice of Jesus! love and prayers!

  17. A-men, A plus.

  18. Yes thanks Deb. He is a bit sore and can’t use his left arm much for a couple of weeks, but apart from that he is fine. At least his heart rate can’t drop like a bomb again!

  19. God bless you in and through whatever comes, poet friend! 🙂 Thank you for being here!

  20. Your simple poems say so much in few words. Unlike me who needs many rambling words.

  21. Patricia, I love your words! They are just the right amount to get your point across. 🙂 God bless you and your furry ones today!

  22. Sis! Let’s add “safety goggles” to the tool box!!!

  23. Oh . . .good one, Sis! Love it!

  24. Perspective is easy to preach but much harder to practice. You, my dear friend, have such a graceful heart.
    (oh, and I can supply the safety googles for you and Caddo – there must be a few hunderd pair within a few hundred feet of me!) 😀
    Love to you!
    Debbie
    Tonights tune – 16 Tons (way too old for Aub) but fits my location. What’s Aub singing tonight?

  25. You are the His representative to help us develop those graceful hearts! 🙂 So funny about the goggles! haha! Sis Caddo is on a mission. She’ll be down to get them pronto. 🙂
    Aub was making up a song for awhile here tonight, but also has Barney on . . .don’t want to get that started in your head though. I read a post where that is the song they used to wear down prisoners somewhere. haha!
    God bless you and Heidi tonight, as you work and sing and think of Him throughout the night! love and prayers!

  26. Right you are Deb! God chooses to turn even the curses of others for our good if we can only see them through the eyes of faith in a God who works all things together for good. I am catching up on my reading today and man your blog has so far hit me square between the eyes! Needed to hear these things today! 🙂

  27. Love the world through your glasses, Deb. Your “point of view” is right on target. Love, Amy

  28. Thank you, Pastor J, for reminding us to see things through eyes of faith! Yes! God bless you in all things and ways today!

  29. Love you, Amy! God bless you abundantly and all that He has given you!

  30. Deb – Sorry to add this here but I don’t have your email – I accidently published two posts on TMG today – the first one It’s Show Time was missing the quote. I thought I’d made it private but guess not. :/
    So I’ve lost your comment. If you feel inclined would you repost your comment on Secure in the Source – same post, different title and includes the Nouwen quote. I wanted to clairfy that I wasn’t just church bashing. I had my own difficulties. Thanks my friend,
    Debbie

  31. Oh sweet and gracious friend . . .I will do my best to try and remember it. You challenge my brain power. haha! I wondered when I saw another post come up so soon . . .. Thank you for letting me know! love you!

  32. A hearty AMEN, Encouraging Debbie! Love and prayers!

  33. God bless you, Paulette! love and prayers for you too! And so thankful that your comments aren’t going into spam now! haha!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

