There Was Joy

“Moreover those who were near to them, from as far away as Issachar and Zebulun and Naphtali, were bringing food on donkeys and camels, on mules and oxen – provisions of flour and cakes of figs and cakes of raisins, wine and oil and oxen and sheep abundantly, for there was joy in Israel.”  1 Chronicles 12:40

I love that there was joy in Israel.

Lord, we thank You that there is joy in us through Jesus.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Joy Response                 

Joy in the moment
for the little things

joy in the serving
of others and our King

joy in the beauty
of all that You bring

joy in the trials
a sweet offering.

33 Comments

  1. Beautiful, marvelous words today! Seeking the joy of our Lord in everything.

  2. He is Joy unspeakable and full of Glory… Blessings.. Bro Pat. Wonderful post..

  3. The Joy of the Lord is our strength and no one can ever take it wasy from us, unless we hand it over to them. And I for one am not giving my joy over because it helps me in my time of need

  4. Debbie,

    the type of joy that comes from our Lord is true, lasting joy. Thank you, Lord ffor the gift of joy you give to your people. Thank you, Debbie for another wonderful posting.

  5. I knew you’d like this one, Ted . .. it had a horse in it! Joy! 🙂 God bless you and the joy He brings to you today!

  6. “He is Joy unspeakable and full of Glory.” I love that Bro Pat! God bless you as you live joyously for Him.

  7. I’m not handing my joy over either! The joy of the Lord is our strength. 🙂 God bless you, dear Desiray, and all the joy He gives you and you share with others!

  8. Thank you, Rob, for showing us joy that comes from Him is true, not a temporary thing that depends on our circumstances. 🙂 God bless you with His wonderful gift of joy today!

  9. Thank you Debbie; .. Hope you’er haveing a good day… Bro Pat.

  10. “…Joy in the moment
    for the little things…”

    One of the things we American Christians do not do well is enjoy life. Yes, of course, we are not of this world, but still, we do live in it and we should enjoy our journeys through it.

  11. I like the way you show joy in the little things on facebook. 🙂 It was joy in those Christian ladies at the exercise place I was going to, that drew me in and got my attention. God bless you, Larry, as you find joy in it all.

  12. http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/the-kreativ-blogger-award/

    Hi! I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award!

    Hope you have a really nice evening..

    — Bird

  13. Thank you, Bird! God bless you and yours tonight and all the creativity He gives you!

  14. Right back at you, Debbie!!

  15. AMEN!

  16. I think that young people today are on an endless search for ‘FUN’. They think they have found it, but it soon turns sour and sometimes it costs. I remember that search for fun and satisfaction of my teen years and the frustration that nothing ever lasted.

    How I would like to introduce them to JOY! – to the reality of the never ending JOY that comes with knowing Jesus.

    How amazing that in EVERY aspect of life, we can REJOICE because we are not alone, and in fact we are in the care of the most loving Father God who delights to pour out His blessings on us.

    Whether we are enjoying the pleasures of His creation, or delighting in the laughter of playing children, or doing the mundane household chores, or enjoying the company of friends . . . or we are not feeling very well, or burdened with the cares of life, or struggling with difficulties, or passing through trials . . . whatever we are doing, our God is ‘in the midst’ right there with us, and He gives us JOY in Himself and in His presence.

    What an amazing God!!!

  17. Dearest Deb –
    I just dropped by after visiting our sis, Caddo, and learning that Aub had another seizure. I show up at your door to say I love you and I’m praying and what am I greeted with? Joy!
    Dear sweet friend, I too, love it that there was joy in the house of Israel – and that there’s joy in your home, too.
    I’m sending Aub more cyber bubbles, floating to on my prayers.
    Debbie

  18. So so good, Mentor Angela, the way you describe looking for fun and then finding JOY in Jesus! And how it lasts and lasts no matter what we are doing or going through, the good and the bad. 🙂 What an amazing God that can give us a lasting joy that never loses it’s strength! God bless you, dear woman of His, joyful and praising, all her days!

  19. Isn’t He amazing, gracious one? I posted this prior to her seizure, so He gave me the opportunity to choose joy today! Yay! We are loving the cyber bubbles and thinking of them floating on your prayers. In the summer, when the air conditioner is running (it’s right beside her swing) I do big bubbles over it , and it blows them up way high into the sky . . .like prayers and praises rising to heaven.
    The little neighbor across the street calls her “Bubbles”, and the one next door will call over , “I see bubbles!”. And the mailman jokes with her, asking if she left the washing machine lid open again.
    God bless you , dear Debbie , and thank you for showing up here at our door with love and prayers! love and prayers to you!

  20. What a beautiful poem Deb. May you know the fullness of joy that is found only in His presence as you serve so many so well and may His comfort fill every corner of your heart on the days joy comes tough xx

  21. Thank you, Deb

    God bless you much. This is truly beautiful 🙂

    Love the comments too! (Thanks all)

    Knowing the difference between happiness and joy helped me over many a hump. Thankful too for the Joy we have in Jesus 😉

    Joyful,
    ann

  22. Sweet Aimee, thank you for such a beautiful comment / prayer. You have me thinking of His comfort when joy comes tough. 🙂 Love that! God bless you and your choice of joy, of Him, no matter what! love and prayers!

  23. Oh yes, Ann full of grace, song and joy . . .that joy helps us through it all. It’s tough stuff and not easily dislodged like happiness. 🙂 God bless you and His beautiful joy you display so well!

  24. Oh, Debbie… judging by Aubrey’s photo, that must have been a wonderful day! I can see your smile from here!

    Like you, I am an encourager. Giving people a heartfelt boost is my greatest joy. How blessed we truly are…

  25. God bless you, Linda, and all the joy He brings to your heart, as you bless and encourage others! Like me! 🙂 love and prayers,as you serve and love in His name and with joy!

  26. Dear Sis Deb–Apologies for being late and almost missing this treasure! Love the pic, of course–and the great message that we have a choice to “choose joy”!! Love to you and Aubie~~sis Caddo

  27. Oh sweet Sis . . .you were kinda busy, remember? haha! I’m so glad to have you here, always, but it’s okay when you’re not. We’ll always save you a seat and keep a copy of this up for you! teehee!
    God bless joyous you! love and prayers and thank you for you!

  28. I praise God for His joy which is my never-ending strength! 🙂

  29. Thanking Him with you, Pastor J! God bless you and yours with more and more joy!

  30. Cool that Aubrey was especially on my mind this morning and I get to see her for the first time. Not on here much anymore. Glad I scanned the posts and saw this.

  31. PS
    Say hello to her for me.

  32. Oh Mike . .. I didn’t think about sending you a picture of her! So glad that you found this and thank you more than I can express, for being in her life, for praying for her like you do . . .like God knew you would do. God bless you and give you joy unspeakable!

  33. You bet I will! She always says , aaahhh, blessed to have friends that care about her and pray for her through the computer. Who’d have thunk it? 🙂


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

