Where To Fall

“Then Saul said to his armor bearer, “Draw your sword, and thrust me through with it, unless these uncircumcised men come and abuse me.

But his armor bearer would not, for he was greatly afraid. Therefore Saul took a sword and fell on it.”  1 Chronicles 10:4

The Word of God is described as a sword.

Lord, may I fall upon Your Word daily, dying to myself so I might live for You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Falling On Jesus                                             

I fall upon
the sword of the Word

and indeed
I’m slain

dying to myself
for Jesus

being made alive
by His blood and name.

22 Comments

  1. Debbie,

    Using this text to describe our need to die to ourselves by falling on His Word is very unique and Scriptural… I never heard it before. Thanks for a very convicting and instructional posting. Lord bless You!

  2. Love this, being made alive by His blood. May the Spirit of His truth pierce our souls! Blessings!

  3. Great word, Sis Deb. I especially love the idea of being made alive by His blood–like a Holy Transfusion that I need daily, sometimes hourly–like right now. Praying for you to have extra strength and energy for today. God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

  4. Ouch!

  5. Crucified with Christ but made alive in Him, sharing His resurrection power!

    What an amazing God!

  6. I wonder about my uniqueness sometimes . . .haha! But thankful for the grace and wonderful readers and commenters that bless me in all of this! God bless you, Rob, as you think on Jesus today!

  7. Oh I like that, being pierced by His truth. We need something sharp and powerful to cut through all the lies. 🙂 God bless you, Tom, as you stay alive in Him!

  8. Oh a Holy Transfusion! Yes, Sis Caddo Delight, that is what we need. 🙂 God bless you as He keeps you alive and joyfully infused for Him!

  9. 😀 God bless your ouchies, Larry!

  10. God bless you as you go forth in His resurrection power, sweet Mentor Angela! Love and prayers for hubby’s surgery tomorrow!

  11. Dearest Deb-
    What a beautiful word picture you’ve painted here! I wouldn’t have thought of it. It’s just perfect.
    I’m more inclined to lean (tell Aub I’m singing Leaning on Jesus – it’s old so she may not know that one?)
    I often lean, but I can see the need to FALL. Thank you, dear friend!
    Debbie

  12. Oh gracious one . .. you have me thinking too, about leaning and falling. I might need a push some days. 🙂 Aub says to tell you that she’s singing “Do The Locomotion” song. She rode the little train at the park near where we clean at. She loves that train. 🙂
    God bless you, sweet friend, as you sing and lean and fall more and more in love with Jesus! love and prayers!

  13. Amen! That was a profound post/poem. Brilliant!
    God Bless You!

  14. “Dying to myself for Jesus.”

    Whether dying a death out of fear like Saul, or dying to myslef, I am a coward, afraid to give my life completely. I’ll pray for courage and faith, that I would be strong enough to give personal truth to the words of your beautiful poem. I’ve missed you! ; )

  15. Profoundly simple. 🙂 God bless you, Lady D, as you fall into His arms and word today! And take your camera with you!

  16. Sorry Deb bit behind on all my reading – kids are on school holidays 🙂 but I love this thought and your poem. Was wondering where you were going to go with the verses – great insight and so very true xx

  17. I’ve missed you too! Praying for you as you re-settle anew. You are no coward, lovely Linda. You are wonder woman. I know that you have to die to yourself, just because of what you do each day. You are as completely given over to Him as you can be this day. Tomorrow is a new day, with more opportunities for us to die and Him to live! love you and am thinking of you! Blessings and hugs!

  18. Sweet Aimee . . .don’t you worry about reading right now! You have your hands full! love and prayers and blessings for you and yours! Praying their time off on holiday is blessed!

  19. Thanks Debbie. The surgery went well yesterday. (we are a day ahead of you here). He was still quite sore last night but I’m sure a good night’s sleep would have helped that. It is early Saturday morning here and I will be going to see him in a couple of hours.

    At least now he has a Pacemaker he won’t get any more ‘drop outs’

    Thanks for your prayers. We serve an amazing God!

  20. Oh I will have to remember that about the time difference. But thank you soooo much for letting us know that he is doing okay. Praying for that rest and time to heal that he needs . . .and for this to be a blessing for you and he! love you!

  21. “Lord, may I fall upon Your Word daily, dying to myself so I might live for You.” I really enjoyed this one, Encouraging Debbie! I intend to fall on my sword, again soon! Praise God! Thank you so much! God bless you! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  22. God bless you as you fall on Him often, sweet Paulette. Love and prayers for you as you do!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

