Head First

“And these are the sons of Ehud, who were the heads of the father’s houses of the inhabitants of Geba, and  who forced them to move to Manahath:

Naaman, Ahijah and Gera who forced them to move.”  1 Chronicles 8:6-7

Heads of the households make decisions about where the family goes and what it does.

Lord, help us lead our families ever closer to You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

His House                                    

We love You, Lord
and we’ll follow
where You lead us
to this day.

You are the Head
of our households
and its to You
we bow and pray.

 

(This isn’t my house. 🙂 )

26 Comments

  1. I was about to ask, what if there’s only 1 person in the house? But how silly–Jesus lives here too, and I SO want Him to be Head of my house. Thank you for simple words, sweet Sis Deb–and I love the house pic anyway!! God bless you and your dear ones~~love, Sis Caddo

  2. Yep, you still get to have Jesus as the head of your household, leading you and guiding you. 🙂 God bless you, Sweet Sis Caddo Delight, as you follow where He leads. love and prayers!
    (p.s. this is where I clean and house/animal sit at)

  3. Yes, Deb; the Head of our household, the Head of all our decision-making; the Head of all our comings and goings; the Head of . . . well, “that in ALL things He must have the preeminence” just about covers it.

    There are times I need to remember this: times when I want to run ahead and do my own thing – and then there are times when I lag behind, unwilling to follow. Ah me! One of these days I’ll learn the importance of ‘immediate obedience’ – and one day soon we will be where we will have no other thoughts.

    What a day THAT will be! – and it is one day closer.
    We serve an amazing God!

  4. One nation is suffering from a lack of Godly leadership in the government, church and family. By God’s grace, we all should be in prayer that the Lord would raise up Godly leaders who would put the Lord and His Word first in our lives. Another great reminder for all of us Deb.

  5. Love how you bring God’s Word into our daily lives, thank you Deb!

  6. Reading this made me think of this: A house divide can not stand”

  7. “…(This isn’t my house.)…”

    So, you’re into reading my mind now, huh?

    Great poem.

  8. Such a wonderful truth, Deb! Thank you! 🙂

  9. Dear Mentor Angela . . .I love that verse about Him having the preeminence in all things! And . . immediate obedience. oh. That is a word for me too! Praying that I will just so naturally look to Him and lean on Him, that He can always lead.
    God bless you and love on you today! love and prayers!

  10. Thank you Rob, for your insight into putting Him first in all facets of life. I really appreciate your blog and how you focus us to think of Him! God bless you as He leads you today!

  11. Thanks for being here, Tom! And God bless you as you daily look to Him!

  12. 😀 Inquiring minds would want to know! God bless you, Larry, as you lead your family always closer to Him and doing what He asks of you.

  13. God bless you, Ted, as you make decisions for your family with His love and guidance!

  14. Wow, Sis–BIG House to wear you out! love you!! sis Caddo, PG, SG

  15. Always something to do there . . .job security! 🙂

  16. Thank you, Dearest Delightful Deb

    “Lord, help us lead our families ever closer to You.”
    Amen.

    Lately I have been thinking about my unsaved extended family a lot … I am now praying for opportunities to lead them to Him, and for their hearts to receive His words.

    Long day today but I am glad I made it 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  17. Sweet Ann full of grace and song, I have unsaved family too, like you. Praying for us both, as He leads us in the midst of them. Once He showed me a vision of sorts, of a math type line, with the points and arrows each going in opposite directions. I was the point in the center and my family and my in laws were the lines extending out each way from me. It was my job to travel down those lines to them, to reach out to them. God bless you and all your days, that He will build you up and give you the words to say each day! love and prayers!

  18. Dearest Delightful Deb is a name that will stick…Always there is peace when we remember who our head is and allow Him to lead us… He shall keep us in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Him!
    Such good news!

  19. Oh I love that faithfilled fisherlady . . .that there is always peace when we allow Him to lead us. 🙂 God bless you as you keep yourself safe and stayed on Him! love and prayers! Thanks for being here and adding to the post in that special way you do!

  20. Dear Desiray . . .I’m so sorry, I found you and Paulette’s comments in the spam section! That is a wonderful verse to go with this. Thank you! May we stand with Jesus all the time! God bless you and yours!

  21. that is okay sis I am noticing that allot with wordpress never had this problem before not sure why now..

  22. Guess what? This comment about being in the spam was in the spam! haha! thank you for your patience and grace! God bless you!

  23. that’s okay Debbie seems like allot of us are getting our faithful readers comments in spam…

  24. I’m late, as usual. However, I enjoyed the post. My thoughts are a bit off of the beaten path. I thought about my body being the temple of the Holy Ghost. Therefore, the Lord has control over my body, His temple. I am supposed to allow the Lord to lead and guide me, in my going out and my coming in. I must allow Him to control my thoughts, my actions, and my words. God is In control! God bless you today!

    Paulette

  25. Now that you have approved at least one of my comments, hopefully they will continue to post to your page directly and not to spam. 🙂 🙂

  26. I hope that spam thing is in the past too, Paulette! You are so not spam. 🙂
    And you were right on about being His temple and Him having control over you. That is a beautiful way to look at it!
    God bless you as you come and go for Him! love you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

