Service of Song

“They were ministering with music before the dwelling place of the tabernacle of meeting, until Solomon had built the house of the Lord in Jerusalem, and they served in their office according to their order.”  1 Chronicles 6:3

My daughter often awakes with a song on her lips and sings throughout the day.

Lord, thank You for those who minister to us with song.  And here is a simple poem . . .

Soul Notes                                   

Before Solomon
ever built the temple

they sang outside
the tabernacle tent

offering their
service of song

a ministry that’s
heaven sent.

20 Comments

  1. Another great one, Sis! For some reason, as I read it I thought, it is not the “talent” of the voice which matters, but the “heart” of it. Perhaps that is merely my justification for singing, even though my voice must surely make the angels scream, or cringe at least! Like your daughter, it makes me feel good to sing! Bless every voice that sings out for Him! God bless you, Sis Deb–much love to you~~sis Caddo

  2. How wonderful! Does Aub have a jukebox in her head, too? Tell her we’re ‘soul sisters’ – if she’ll have me as one! 😀

  3. I really love that, Sis Caddo, that it’s the heart that He hears. I can’t picture the angles screaming at your singing. No way! 🙂 Sometimes we just can’t help but sing, no matter what we sound like. God bless you as you make music in your heart and home today! love and prayers!

  4. God bless you, gracious music loving one! Aub smiled when I asked her about the juke box. I don’t think she knows what one is. haha! She sings a lot of songs from the movies she watches. And from the songs on the radio. Sometimes she makes up her own songs too! She is blessed by all the blog friends that keep adopting her. How good God is to bring such sweet sisters and brothers into our lives! love for your weekend!

  5. One of the many, many, many things I’m going to appreciate in heaven is the fact that I will sing in tune. I love to sing but I’m sure nobody wants to hear it! While I can immediately tell if a note is played out of tune, I cannot sing in tune myself. Oh well. One day . . .

  6. Thank you, Deb 🙂

    May Papa place a new song in your heart today.

    Laryngitis has gotten the better of me and the most painful part of it is that I cannot sing right now. There are many time words fail me, but He always provides a song to say what’s on my heart. I am very, very, very! thankful for those He has gifted with the ability to minister to us in song.

    We often participate in choir ministry that number in hundreds … as beautiful as those events are, they in no way compare to what will happen on that Great Day when all the redeemed will sing His praises. I am so looking forward! …

    Thank you so much for starting my day this way.

    Blessings
    ann

    P.S. ‘Beautiful One’ is one of my favourite jumping/dancing worship songs.

  7. I just want you to know that I never really understood poetry, but your poems have taught me what a valueble gift they really are! Perhaps, it’s the way you did it. Gave a verse then tied a poem to the image. Thank you for that!
    God Bless You!

  8. “…a ministry that’s
    heaven sent…”

    Every move of God in America has had it’s own music. Charles Wesley wrote hundreds of songs for the First Great Awakening. Fannie Crosby wrote three thousand songs for the Businessman’s Prayer Revival. The Pentecostals had their music. The Charismatics had their own. Out of the Jesus movement came the worship music which is popular right now.

    But what we really need right now is a new sound from heaven, new songs from the throne of God. There have been prophecies about this happening. Yet, so far, we’re still waiting.

    Great poem and so timely, too. And tell Aubrey, I’ve also adopted her. I hope she likes chocolate.

  9. I love music,and thank God for all of the music makers! “Hallelujah praise the Lord it brings joy to my soul and my heart”! Thanks so much for your “Birthday Wish”! I’m going to crank up some music now.
    Love you 😀

  10. 🙂 You are so dear, Angela! Love you! I can’t sing in tune either. So I usually just sing really quietly . . .maybe hum. haha! Someone who can sing told me Aubrey, my daughter, has perfect pitch. What a sweet gift He has given her! God bless you and looking forward to hearing you sing!

  11. Oh Ann, praying for you now, for healing and comfort during this time of laryngitis. And you, a singer! What could be worse?
    I am so blessed by your comment, of looking forward to all the redeemed singing praises. It gave me goosebumps.
    And . .. thank you for the song! Aub and I love that song, only for the longest time just listened on the radio and couldn’t figure out all the words . .. the “must sing” ones. You have solved the mystery for us. 🙂
    God bless you as your whole life is a worship song for Him!

  12. Oh Lady D . .. you are so wonderful. My poems are not what real poets would consider poems. . .but they are what keeps coming to me to do here. I know exactly what you mean about poetry, that it can be hard to understand! I didn’t want to make His word harder to understand, just add something that could accompany it, in a simple way.
    God bless you, too, and all you do!

  13. Larry, thank you for sharing about every move of God having it’s own music. I never knew that or thought about it. And that there is a music to come next, a new sound. Wow!
    And God bless you as you adopt Aub too! Yes, at times she likes chocolate. 🙂 This morning she woke up singing The Twelve Days of Christmas. . .in her own special way.

  14. Happy Birthday, precious Pat!! I’m thanking Him for all the music makers too, with you. Music does bring such joy to our souls and hearts . . .what a wonderful way to express it.
    God bless you and your special day!
    love and prayers!

  15. I truly enjoyed this poem and the comments, Encouraging Debbie! Like your daughter, I sing throughout the day! There is a song ringing in my heart, more often than there is not. Sometimes I dream of songs, which I have never heard before!

    I love the title of this poem, “Soul Notes.” When we’re singing unto the Lord, we are singing notes from our hearts and souls! So, no matter what our voices sound like to everyone else, it sounds beautiful unto the Lord. After all, Psalm 100:1 tells us to make a JOYFUL NOISE unto the Lord all ye lands. I don’t think that leaves anyone out of the discussion! 🙂 God bless you, and your precious daughter!

    Paulette

  16. I am so thankful for this post and all the comments. It reminds me of these Bible verses:

    26Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. 27And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God. Romans 8:26-27

    There have been times when my Spirit was troubled, but I couldn’t describe my feelings adequately. Sometimes I would enter a church where music was being played while people worshiped. There was something in the music that ministered to me at those times. I can even now play certain songs on youtube, and have the same kind of experience.

    Love,
    Theresa

  17. I love what you described here, wonderful woman of the Word. And I am also blessed knowing that you are someone who has been given the service of song. You have a beautiful gift and voice! God bless you as you serve Him and us with your voice!
    love and prayers!

  18. May God grant that I would be always given a song to bring!

  19. Here’s what I’m thinking, Pastor J . .. you, your life, is a song. So you got one already!! 🙂 God bless you and all that He gives you to sing!

  20. Wow Paulette! That is so beautiful that you get songs in your dreams. I think there is a Psalm about that one! 🙂 Thank you for being so gracious even as a singer who can sing, to include everyone in this! haha! God bless you and all the songs He gives you today! love and prayers and thanks!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

