Can Do – Should Do

“The sons of Reuben, the Gadites, and half the tribe of Manasseh had forty-four thousand seven hundred and sixty valiant men, men able to bear shield and sword, to shoot with the bow, and skillful in war, who went to war.”  1 Chronicles 5:18

These men were not only able to go to war, they went to war.

Lord, we desire opportunities to do what you have abled us to do.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Abled                                                

Thank You, Lord
for making us able
for giving us skills
to use for Your good
that we might bear
the work You’ve given
blessed we can do
what we indeed should.

27 Comments

  1. I loved your comment “These men were not only able to go to war, they went to war.” May we not only possess ability, but willing hearts! Thanks Deb – I so love stopping by at the end of the day xx

  2. amen

  3. “These men were not only able to go to war, they went to war.” Great line empowering line! What am I doing with my abilities…this is a line to contemplate and pray over! Thanks Deb!

  4. “Willing hearts” I echo her thoughts. 🙂

    God bless you, Deb.

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Great poem! I really enjoyed it! So true!
    God Bless You!

  6. ‘Morning, Sis Deb! It IS a great poem and empowering word! Sometimes we don’t even know all the gifts/abilities God has given us, until He calls us to use them–and that makes for a fun surprise!! But if we’ll always give Him what we have, And what we Don’t have–He is ever faithful to show up and help us accomplish what He has ordained for us to do. Yesterday I listened to a preacher who was imprisoned for one day in India–for preaching–his message to us was that, even if you’re imprisoned (physically, mentally, whatever) you can still do what He has anointed you to do, for He is There with you–to empower and enable you for His purpose. Who knows–maybe the preacher accomplished more for God in the prison for one day, than he’d done as he preached his message prior to the arrest!! God bless you, Deb, and everyone here at church today–Let His Power move even the “little” mountains in our lives!! love, sis Caddo Delight

  7. Deb,

    If we only did what the Lord equipped us to do the world would be a far better place. In many cases, we selfishly refuse to use His gifts in service to Hm. In other cases, we do not recognize the gifts He has given to us. In either case, we are missing His will for our lives and missing a great opportunity to be a blessing to others. Lord bless you.

  8. Beautiful poem, Deb!

    How often we are given weapons and armor, only to sit around polishing and admiring them. When God gives us something, he expects that we will use it when appropriate.

  9. Sweet Aimee . . you did it again, got right to the heart of the matter – willing hearts! Praying for that now! God bless you and your willingness to serve Him! love and prayers!

  10. God bless you, dear Betty, as He ables you today!

  11. I’m praying over it right with you, Tom! 🙂 God bless you and all that He is doing with you!

  12. You have that willing heart for Him , wonderful woman of the Word! I am so blessed by your new blog! God bless you as you go out in His name today! love you!

  13. God bless you, too, dear Lady D . . .and all that you do today!

  14. Thank you so much, Sis Caddo Delight, for sharing that! 🙂 Beautiful encouraging truth that He is there with us when we use what He has given us to use. You are a blessing! God bless you as you move mountains today, in His power and strength, and send them running. 😉

  15. One thing for sure we sure don’t always do what God tells us to do..but I thank Him for His mercies..

  16. I can relate to not always recognizing what He has given us! So glad that He is faithful to keep showing us. I really liked thinking about what a difference it can make when we do what He equips us to do . . .thank you, Rob, for sharing that! God bless you and all the opportunities He is giving you!

  17. Oh wow, Ted! What a visual that is, of getting the equipment and then just admiring it. Thank you!!! God bless you today as you use what He gives you in wonderful ways!

  18. What a great encouragement for the church, Debbie … ‘Can Do – Should Do’.

    Ok … Will Do!!

    Bless you

    Roger

  19. making us able..giving us skills…to use…

    Wonderful reminder. He makes us able with skills, and we are to use them for His glory. No excuses!

  20. Oh boy…

    Thank you, Deb…

    You always leave so much for us to feed on… coming in late gave me the chance to read all these wonderful comments.

    So much to do… so many still don’t know … so many need help…

    Blessings
    ann

    “Heal my heart and make it clean
    Open up my eyes to the things unseen
    Show me how to love like You have loved me
    Break my heart for what breaks Yours
    Everything I am, for Your kingdom’s cause
    As I walk from earth into eternity”

  21. Love this comment, Roger! 🙂 I paused at that title . . .as I try to be gentle and that does sound a little more assertive. haha! God bless you and all you will do in Him!

  22. God bless you Patricia, as you don’t shy away from what you can do! You are a blessing! 🙂

  23. Love you, Ann full of grace . . .and God’s DJ. 🙂 I think the comments are the best part, what everyone else brings!
    Oh the song, Ann . . .break my heart for what breaks yours . . .that is good. So what I need.
    God bless you and all that you are doing and will yet do, with your Jesus! love and prayers for your weekend!

  24. God’s commands are God’s enablings. He never calls us to a task without equipping us to complete it.

    I’ve replied to so many blogs in the last two days I can’t remember if I shared with you that since returning home I have been challenged to do something rather mind blowing. At first, I thought ‘No way’ but the Lord gently lead me to accept His will and I obeyed. Now I will have to take the medicine I give so freely and trust that He will provide. Yes, of course I know He will, but it is rather daunting. He has never failed me, and He never will! Isn’t He wonderful?

    What an amazing God!

  25. You sweet heart you . . .faithfully building us up in blogland! I did hear you mention this at Ann’s. I am praying for you right now, that you will feel His presence and constant leading as you take this challenge step by step. There have been so many times that I’ve posted something that He then gives me a chance to put into action. Good . . .but yes, so challenging! love you!

  26. awe thank you debbie

  27. Me too, dear Desiray! God bless you as you listen to Him today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

