“That I May Not Cause Pain”

“And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, “Oh, that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!”  So God granted him what he requested.”  1 Chronicles 4:10

Evil can cause pain.

Lord, deliver us from evil so that we are not the cause of pain in each others’ lives. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Delivered to Deliver

So much pain
in the world today
physically and mentally
the anguish tears away.

Oh let us not add
to this suffering
but bring healing and deliverance
in the name of our King.

24 Comments

  1. Ah yes, that is my prayer, Sis Deb. Thank you so much–your title, “Delivered to deliver” is like an add-on to Aimee’s “Blessed to be a blessing”!! Going to bed now. God bless you sweet Sis!

  2. This means a lot. I am so glad the Lord is using you to bring these important messages to us. The next time I pray the Lord’s prayer I want to pause and think about that.

    “Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.”

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. YOur right Debbie there is so much pain in this world and only Jesus can heal…that’s why it’s so vital we evangelize the world for Him

  4. “…Oh let us not add
    to this suffering…”

    Great prayer. It reminds me of Jesus’ prayer in John 17 where He prayed that we believers would be one so that the world would know the Father and the Son.

  5. this is so relevant to all that has been happening around me… praise God He is so much more than Tylenol 🙂 I am sharing a post from Lysa which some of your readers might be blessed by… for healing…
    http://lysaterkeurst.com/2012/04/when-your-husband-has-given-up/?utm_source=feedblitz&utm_medium=FeedBlitzEmail&utm_campaign=0&utm_content=303165

  6. A-men Deb! As the Chinese church says “May we be a plague that brings life!”

  7. Amen, how true this is Debbie,with so much pain in the world today Lord please help us not to cause any one pain,but to show love. Beautiful poem Debbie!
    Love you 😀

  8. Thank you, dearest Deb
    Lord, deliver us from evil so that we are not the cause of pain in each others’ lives.
    I so pray…. I so pray.

    Blessings
    Ann

  9. You are so sensitive and caring, Sis Caddo Delight. I know that He answers this in your life. Oh . . .I didn’t even see that until you pointed it out . . that is like Aimee’s! Aimee is a good influence on me too, like you! God bless you as you reach out to others in love each day! love and prayers!

  10. Oh yes, Theresa, our wonderful woman of the Word! That is the perfect place to stop and think about it. God bless you and yours, as you continue on through this semester! love and prayers!

  11. Dear Desiray, I was so touched by how you said that. It’s so true. I don’t have any thing to bring or any other answers to people’s pain besides Jesus! God bless you as you share Him with others today!

  12. Great comment , Larry. I love your insight and thoughts. May the world know the Father and Son by our love for each other . . .and how we walk in reconciliation. God bless you and all that you do to relieve the pain in people’s lives by showing them Jesus!

  13. I love that , Pastor J! God bless you as you share life today to ease the pain of others.

  14. I’m thinking now of Paulette’s post about what not to say to someone in pain. When you are already hurting, extra care is needed. We can do that for one another because of all He does for us! God bless you, precious Pat, as you continue to bless and love us all, on good days and bad! love you!!!

  15. Dear Ann full of grace . . .I can’t imagine you causing pain. God bless you today, as you walk and talk in His love with those around you!

  16. Thanks Debbie! Love you and Saturday is my “Birthday”! I’ll be 61 and I still get so excited about it LOL!!!

  17. I love birthdays! wooohooo! Happy Birthday, precious one of His! God is singing over you right now! love you!!!!

  18. While reading this message, I thought about the tongue, a little member. “But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God.” Lord, may our words be seasoned with grace and the power of the Holy Spirit, that we not cause harm or pain to anyone.

    A wonderful message, encouraging Debbie! Blessings unto you!

    Paulette

  19. I love this, Deb.
    I wish this were preached from every pulpit every Sunday: First, do no harm.
    At TMG, I often talk about what I think doesn’t quite fit in many Christian cliches – but the old one that says: “Christans are the only army that shoot their wounded” isn’t entirely without grounds.
    Thank you for your gentle reminder to lay down our arms and outstretch them instead.
    much love to you and Aub,
    Debbie

  20. Gracious Debbie . . .that reminds me of what the vets on animal planet said about whether or not to work on a pet brought to them. . .to not do harm . .. to not make things worse. Things can go downhill so fast . . .I don’t want to add to that! God bless you as you offer us grace abundantly, which works wonders on wounds! love and prayers and thanks! We had a good cleaning day!

  21. Hi Deb. In the sense in which you write it, “let us not add pain” is indeed a lesson we should be sure to follow.

    However, might I say there is an exception? A few months ago I was thanked for “causing pain” in someone’s life. A teenage girl thanked me for all the times I had counselled her regarding her spiritual condition. She said I often caused her pain because she knew she was rebelling against God . . . but praise the Lord, she surrendered and thanks Him for that pain.

    So – we must guard against causing others pain . . . but not hold back when we know the Truth will hurt, but hurt in order to bring peace.

  22. Oh Angela . . .this was precious and needed. Thank you! I didn’t think about how the Truth can seem painful, but then He is there to comfort and bring joy as we repent and turn to Him. I am just smiling, thinking of all the young people (and old!) you have touched for Him. Your life bears such wonderful fruit, sweet lady. God bless you as you know when causing pain is for someone’s good. love and prayers! And Angela, thank you for being here. It means so much to me that you take the time to read and comment so thoughtfully like you do . . .when you have so much to do.

  23. Oh that is so good and true, Paulette! That is what can be the cause of pain so often, our tongues. Thank you for such a blessing and a prayer. God bless you as you keep others from pain, even as you endure your own. love and prayers!

  24. I am praising Him with you, dear faithfilled fisherlady! Going to read at Lysa’s now . .. sorry, your comment was in my spam section for awhile! I will have to check that more often! God bless you and all that your hands reaches out to do in His name!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

