The Lesser Known

These were all the sons of David, besides the sons of the concubines, and Tamar their sister.” 1 Chronicles 3:9

I wasn’t familiar with all the names of David’s sons, and even more weren’t individually mentioned.

Lord, may we not let the fact that we aren’t well known keep us from the calling You have given us.ย  And here’s a simple poem . . .

 

 

Lesser Known

We aren’t house hold names
but we are known by Him
obscureย  in our places
yet we begin
and through this humble start
we come to find
it’s easier to reach out
to the common kind.

24 Comments

  1. As long as HE knows my name…:)

  2. Beautiful, Deb

    Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Pastor J, echo!

    Blessings
    ann

    HE knows my name ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Besides … He never forgets my name ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am NOT forgotton – HE knows my name!

  4. Debbie,
    It is much easier to serve the Lord when we are receiving praise and recognition for our service. It is much harder to serve when no one seems to notice us, or care about us.
    Over the years, I have seen those who are not recognized for their service used in GREATER ways than those who are always being recognized and praised.
    When they stand before the Lord, I truly believe there will be many more rewards for those who have been unnoticed as they faithfully serve the Lord.
    Lord bless you. Today’s posting was a real blessing to me. Thank you.

  5. “…We arenโ€™t house hold names
    but we are known by Him…”

    “God must love the common people because he made so many of them.” (Abraham Lincoln)

  6. And that He does, Pastor J! I think He even put a smiley face and heart beside yours. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค God bless you as you share Him, so others may know.

  7. Ann full of grace and song . . .my how you blessed me. Only you would find a song that goes with this . . .exactly! God bless you now and forever more!

  8. Okay, I think I’m going to change your name . . .you are the Lord’s DJ. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for furthering the blessing here, of being known and then never forgotten. love and prayers!

  9. Rob, your comment was such a blessing, Sometimes that praise and recognition can get in the way. He knows what is best for us and what He’s given us to do. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you and your faithful service to Him and us!

  10. Larry . . .what a wonderful quote to bring here! Thank you and God bless you, in lesser ways and greater ways!

  11. Oh I love love love, LOVE this poem, Sis–I just feel so at home in it!!! Thank you for your fine example of simple faith in our Great Big God. Praying for you to not have knee pain today–catch you later, sweet sis! God bless everyone here at church today–the quite “uncommon” common folk!! love, sis Caddo

  12. Deb, I do not always get here to “like” or comment, but I am so grateful and appreciative for your every post. Simple poems, simple faith… simply a daily breath of love and fresh air. Thank you always for your prayers. Bless you! Angela

  13. Oh Sis Caddo Delight, thank you for always encouraging me and cheering on the simple and common. And thank you for your prayers always. God bless you as He makes Himself known through you! love and prayers!

  14. Hi Debbie isn’t it wonderful that we’re loved by the God that created the universe and yet we’re not well known! But then we don’t have to be to please our Heavenly Father “Woooohoooo”!! Because we believe in him and trust in his awesome Son Jesus Christ,and he has made us whole and pleasing in God’s sight.
    Love you ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. What a beautiful comment from a beautiful lady! God bless you and love on you today, as you live and breath and share Him in that beautiful way you do! love and prayers!

  16. Precious Pat. .. I loved your comment and I love you! That we don’t have to be well known to please our Heavenly Father. Oh that is solid truth there. God bless you and pour out His delight on you today. Praying as you undergo more pain right after one area gets addressed. May He hold you and lead you through this!

  17. Thank you for this important reminder to not take knowing the Lord for granted.

  18. Wow, Deb, this post really touches my heart and speaks to a specific situation I’m in just now. Thanks for posting this. You know, not very long ago I was praying about something I felt i needed to accomplish and wondered if i could do it. i can recall praying “But I’m just . . . and what if i’m not able to .>>” and loudly as if He was in the room i heard the lord respond to my prayer with “I Am.” What more do we need?

  19. Knowing Him and being known by Him are awesome things, dear wonderful woman of the Word! And knowing you is really great too! ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you and yours today. Love and prayers!

  20. Dear Martha, thank you for sharing this with us! Wow, what a powerful example of not letting who we think we are (or aren’t!) stop us from what He wants us to do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Indeed, what more do we need! God bless you as He is your everything!

  21. Oh I loved this post Deb – something I have been pondering myself lately and checking my heart on. In this world it can be so easy to think that the value and importance of things is measured by whether they are noticed by others – but really it should all just be unto Him. His applause is all that matters in the end. And what beautiful comments from all your readers reminding us that even when we feel common and maybe overlooked, that He knows us, remembers us, He can never forget us, we are engraved on the palms of His hands. Bless you for encouraging us all again today!

  22. God bless you, sweet Aimee! There was something really important about what you shared, to me. Praying that I not get fooled into thinking that the value of what I do lies in whether or not it’s noticed by others. You have such a great way of getting to the heart of the matter. love and prayers that you feel His presence and His delight in you today!

  23. Praise God that He knows my Name and He calls me by Name, saying “You are Mine!”

    Sometimes it is a bit ‘offing’ to know that He also knows my every thought, my motives and everything about me . . . but it is comforting too, because I know He is working on my weak points, bringing me (slowly) towards His perfection.

    What a day that will be when I am presented faultless before the throne – all and ONLY because of His work in me.

    What an amazing God!

  24. Dear Mentor Angela, I love how you find comfort too, in Him knowing all of you. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is a safe place to be, even when He knows the not so flattering things. Only He knows what to do with us. God bless you as you trust Him to present you faultless! love and prayers for you and yours!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

