A Lovely Lowliness

Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.”  Philippians 2:3

We often hear about low or high self esteem.

Thank You, Jesus, for giving us a totally different take on this – “other” esteem, that leaves ourselves out of it.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

 

The Other Esteem

Thinking of myself too much
only causes pain

either I become self-righteous
or condemned all over again

but when I esteem others
better than myself

it shifts the focus off of me
and back onto Jesus.

41 Comments

  1. How simple and lovely, Sis Deb! Thank you for setting us a good example, and being an excellent teacher. Sending prayers and SO Much love~sis Caddo

  2. You do that too, sweet Sis Delight . . .teaching and setting good examples. And this is a little look at the bathroom you were in, in your dream. haha!
    God bless you as you think of Him and bless everyone! love and prayers!

  3. I’m sure this will come as a surprise, but this makes me think of a C.S. Lewis quote:
    “Humility is not thinking less of yourself but thinking of yourself less.”
    Other esteem. Yes, Deb – very unnatural and right! 😀

  4. Oh gracious one! You brought us a C.S. Lewis quote! Thank you and I love it . . .remember hearing it now that you helped me! God bless you as you continue in His grace and pour it out on us too!
    love and prayers!

  5. Oh Deb I LOVE this – ‘other’ esteem, will add that to my voabulary :). Your poem is so true – couldn’t agree more that when we are on our minds too much we get a distorted view of ourselves. Really brings us back to the two greatest commands – love God and from that love and focus, love others!

    Bless you for how you bless us all so much (love the pic too!) xx

  6. Thank you much Dearest Delightful Deb

    “Thank You, Jesus, for giving us a totally different take on this – “other” esteem, that leaves ourselves out of it. ”
    Amen echo!

    If I keep my focus on Him I have no choice but to trust Him to lead.

    Blessings to you, Messenger-of God. I am thankful for you.

    Looking to Him,
    ann

  7. amen sis amen to this..

  8. This is beautiful, Deb! Thank you!

  9. Philippians 2:3 is one of my favorite scriptures. Thanks for your poem which once again hits the nail on the head.

  10. I’ve found, in my life, that one of the most difficult aspects of the Christian life is living a life of sacrifice for others. Because of our fallen, sinful natures, our first inclination is to live selfishly, putting ourselves first. What a great reminder of our responsbility before the Lord.

  11. I thought it looked familiar–although, I hadn’t noticed the color when I was dreaming!!

  12. Thanks, Debbie for the C.S. Lewis quote–I’m writing it down!! God bless you.

  13. There you go sis doing your study from the book of Philippians…thanks you so much for your comment to my posting..I can always count on seeing your face and words you are one faithful soul to The Devotion Cafe…God bless you

  14. Very True.

  15. Amen! Very well done Debbie!
    Love you so much 😀

  16. God bless you, Aimee, and how you love God and others! This is one of the first things that He told me when I was saved, because I was soooo self conscious. He told me to think of others.
    love and prayers and blessings upon you, precious one!!!

  17. Thank you Ann full of Jesus grace and song! I love this song! 🙂 You bless us each time you come here, leaving something for us, thinking of Jesus and others as you do. God bless you today as you lift Him up and He lifts you too!

  18. God bless you, dear Betty, and your love of Him and others! 🙂

  19. So good to see you, AngelaMarie! God bless beautiful you today and all that He has you doing for others!

  20. It’s one of your favorites? Wow Larry! I had something happen last week that tested this . .. I kind of stumbled through it. Going back this week better prepared! 🙂 God bless you and how He is working in and through you.

  21. Rob, thank you for this! It’s true . . .we tend to think of “our rights” and it seems like we have to put ourselves first to survive. When I do that though, I leave Him out of it and find I’m not trusting Him to take care of me, but me to take care of me. Bad idea!
    God bless you as you look to Him each day and live a sacrificial life!

  22. I love coming to the Devotion Cafe! You have such a heart for Him and an honest way of sharing His word and ways . . .not putting yourself above everyone else. You do what this verse is talking about! 🙂 God bless you, Desiray, and your desire for always more of Him!

  23. Precious Pat! I love you too and love seeing your beautiful face. Praying that you are healing and feeling less and less pain. We have a date to happy dance together! haha! God bless you, wonderful lady of His, and your heart for Him and others!

  24. God bless you, Heather, and all the ways you think of others and esteem them better than yourself! love and prayers for your day!

  25. Thank you Debbie I have not forgotten about our”Happy Dancing LOL”!!! Praise God I am doing better every day!!

  26. It became one my favorites through life-experiences and the Holy Spirit holding my nose over it for long periods of time. Who really likes to think of himself as less than someone else? Not me…unless the Holy Spirit deals with me, that is.

  27. Oh I like this . .. the Holy Spirit holding your nose over it for long periods of time. Ya, my nose got a little out of joint. I was doing fine thinking of others better than myself . . .it was when they thought they were better than me too that things got sticky. Time to let Him straighten my nose back out, over this verse! 🙂 Thank you, Larry!

  28. We cannot think too highly of ourselves when we consider what it cost our Saviour to redeem us.
    We cannot think too lowly of others when we consider the love of Christ towards them.

    A few thoughts from Mr Anon:
    # God thinks most of the one who thinks himself least.
    # The lowliest Christ is the loveliest Christ.
    # God can only fill valleys, not mountains.

  29. You really hit the nail on the head for me with this. So often I worry that the time I spend blogging is really just selfish conceit. It takes so much time and that is time away from prayer and other activities.

  30. So true. Needed to hear this Deb!

  31. Mentor Angela . . what a beautiful insightful comment. It was like a post itself! Thank you sooo much! God bless you as you esteem others and put Jesus first!!! love and prayers for you and hubby.

  32. Dear Tammy . .. God bless you and your tender heart. I think we could all consider that one! But honestly, what I see at your blog is your passion and heart and it is not just toward agriculture and locally grown food, but toward people. You encourage us and keep us informed. I need you!!! ❤

  33. God bless you Pastor J, as you minister to people everyday, with humility and grace!

  34. Thanks Deb. I am going to keep praying about it because it really does make me feel self-centered and that’s the opposite of where I ought to be at this time.

  35. What wise words! Thank you for sharing them.

    Love,
    Theresa

  36. Oh God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word! Praying your week is going good and your family is doing okay! You have a lot of “other” esteem going on in your life! love and prayers!

  37. Wonderful words of wisdom, Deb!
    Thank you for this beautiful expression…
    encouraging “other esteem!”

  38. Hi Caroline! God bless you, beautiful lady, as you esteem others! 🙂 I love your comments at Tom’s . . .you are a poet!

  39. Thank you Debbie!! When we are weak He is strong. Lowliness places us in a position to serve…

  40. Wow . . .great insight, Tom. Thank you for adding to things here. You have a unique perspective that I so appreciate. God bless you as you serve Him today!

  41. Such a heart-warming comment! Heartfelt thanks to you!
    God bless you, beautiful Debbie! 🙂
    As your Sister in Spirit, I am grateful to Partner with you in Poetry –
    all out of Love for the Lord! Glory to God!
    Keep shining – and rhyming – for Him!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

