Besieged But Not Overcome

“Then Rezin king of Syria and Pekah the son of Remaliah, king of Israel, came up to Jerusalem to make war, and they besieged Ahaz but could not overcome him.” ย  2 Kings 16:5

(Just a note . . . Ahaz was not doing what was right in the sight of the LORD. 2Kings 16:2)

When we are besieged, we might feel overwhelmed, but we won’t be overcome.

Lord, thank You for overcoming all that will ever besiege us. And here is a simple poem . . .

Our Overcomer Has Come

Attacks keep happening
whatever they may be

internal or external
they besiege me

I feel the weight of them
and might get a little down

but in Jesus, I won’t be taken out
His victory is sound.

16 Comments

  1. Oh I am SO loving this, Sis!!! Hurray for you, you got a picture up and everything! Way to go! And you surely know how much I love the ideas expressed in your poem–so perfectly said, because we are already over-comers in/with Jesus!! Besieged and overwhelmed some days, but always Victorious–Yes Lord, Yes–AMEN!! Praying for you tomorrow, SIs–Love you LOTS, Caddo-1st-in-church

  2. God bless you, my Sis Caddo Delight . . .first in church even! woohoo! ๐Ÿ˜€ I knew you could relate to this one, as one of His joy filled overcomers! love and prayers for your day, victorious in Him!

  3. Thank you, Dearest Deb

    “Lord, thank You for overcoming all that will ever besiege us”
    Amen ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lately, I cannot help but feel I have been besieged behind and before. I am GLAD that HE has already overcome all that and more!!

    Here’s Israel Houghton – We have overcome:

    “Thanks be to God
    Who always causes us to triumph in His name
    Thanks be to God
    Who always causes us to win, yeah
    Thanks be to God
    Who always causes us to triumph in His name
    Thanks be to God
    Thanks be to God

    WE HAVE OVERCOME!”

    Blessings
    ann

  4. God bless you, Ann full of grace and song! This was so perfect and such a blessing! Thank you! Praying for you during these times of constant pressure and besieging, knowing His seal around you is strong and sure! love and prayers!

  5. Dearest Deb – What an appropriate Thursday post! Besieged but Not Overcome!
    Reminds me of me – even when I’m not doing what is right in the sight of the LORD and am besieged, He doesn’t allow me to be overcome!
    Love to you and Aub on this Thursday,
    Debbie

  6. I didn’t even think about that being an appropriate Thursday post! haha! I love that, gracious one . . how even when we aren’t doing right, He still won’t let us be overcome! You always see the coolest things about Him. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for your love!! How blessed we are! I have an extra prayer request . . .if you’re up for it. We couldn’t go clean today because Aub had a seizure last night. So we’ll be going on Friday . . .could you keep praying??
    God bless you, grace filled overcomer! love and prayers!

  7. Deb, you continue to amaze me. You have the talent to put sooooooooooooo much into just a few words . . . OK I know it isn’t ‘just’ you. You are His mouthpiece, but He is using your talents to bless us, so I praise Him for you and thank you for your obedience to Him.

    No matter what happens . . . His victory is sound . . . and His promise is sure.

    What an amazing God!

  8. Deb – I don’t go to bed until 5 a.m. so I’ve got you two covered for the next several hours. I’ll set a reminder with my alarm to pray when I get up this afternoon!
    So sorry to here Aub had a seizure. Truly sorry.

  9. Thank you so much, Mentor Angela, for your encouragement and support. It helps so much! I’ve been concerned lately that I may be taking things too much “out of context”, as I try to encourage from the chapters I am reading. Please always let me know if I have gone too astray, okay?
    God bless you with His sweet victory and promise today!
    love and prayers!

  10. “Pressed but not crushed, persecuted but not abandoned, struck down but not destroyed!” Thanks so much Deb! A very good reminder!

  11. Once again you’ve really hit the nail on the head with this one. How often do we all feel as if our sin and this world is overtaking us. Thanks to the Lord we are truly more than conquerors through Him that loved us!

    Thanks Debbie for another wonderful thought for the day,

  12. Oh my wonderful Deb, this really hit home. I’m feeling overcome to the point of inaction…which is never a good thing. After reading…and reading…and reading this again, I find that this line is playing over in my head… “But in Jesus, you won’t be taken out…”
    Hallelujah!! Praise Him and bless you and Missy. Will be praying without ceasing for His healing and peace.
    Loving you with big bunches of {{huggs}}
    love, your bee

  13. Oh Pastor J . . .I hear a song in your comment!! ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you as you keep saying Yes Lord, to Him!

  14. God bless you, Rob , for reminding us of that, that we are more than conquerors though Christ! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy dance!
    I so appreciate your times of directing us to think on Him and His word! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. So blessed , beautiful Bee, if this could help in anyway. He knows all that is besieging you and there just is no way He’s letting go of you! Love you so much and thank you for all of your prayers! Missy is doing much better today! Yay Jesus! and He has covered us so beautifully! God bless you and all that He is overcoming on your behalf today!

  16. I have praying alot for Missy and am so glad to hear she is doing better…praise God!
    Thank you for your prayers, too.
    love u!!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

