Flee

“Now when you arrive at that place, look there for Jehu, the son of Jehoshaphat, the son of Nimshi, and go in and make him rise up from among his associates, and take him to an inner room.”  2 Kings 9:2

“Then take the flask of oil, and pour it on his head, and say, ‘Thus says the Lord, “I have anointed you king over Israel.”‘  Then open the door and flee, and do not delay.”  2 Kings 9:3

If I over think before hand, I may never move and go.  If I over think afterward, I won’t be available for what’s next.

Oh Lord, help me not to stay stuck on my own thoughts, or the thoughts of others, but flee quickly back to You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Surely

He has spoken
I have heard Him
and what I do next
will tell

if I move quickly
and don’t over think it
surely all
will be well.

21 Comments

  1. Very nice Deb! I believe too much thinking leads to a phenomenon called “Paralysis through Analysis”!

  2. If only I had a switch to disconnect my brain, then I could react better. Over thinking is a death knell.

  3. Thanks, Sis, for another excellent word for those of us who think too much!! God bless you abundantly today, and all who come here for church! Love you lots!!

  4. Oh I like that Mike! God bless you as you move in Him today!

  5. A switch would be very nice! 🙂 I’m sure I’ve thought my way out many opportunities of His. So thankful we get more chances to run right to it and come right back to Him.
    God bless you as you react to Him today!

  6. Our God NEVER makes mistakes . . . we know it; we believe it, but sometimes we question His wisdom when He asks us to do something . . . how ridiculous!!!

    May we be swift to hear and DO when He speaks!
    We KNOW He can’t be wrong and we KNOW that we will be blessed for our quick obedience . . .
    we just need to spend more time with Him,
    so that we become more like Him
    so that we respond the way we should.

    What an amazing God that He should persevere with such a hesitant child!

  7. You would think thinking is a good thing. And it is . . .just not when He says go do something and flee and come back to Me. 🙂 God bless you and all your thoughts of Him today! Now go . . .have some fun! love and prayers!

  8. Mentor Angela . . .that is wonderful, wonderful! “We just need to spend more time with Him, so that we become more like Him, so that we respond the way we should.” God bless you as you do just that and help us to too! love and prayers!

  9. Oh, Sis! You made me laugh so hard!!! Talk later, I hope. God bless you BIG! your loving sis, Caddo

  10. “… or I won’t be available for what’s next.”

    I had one of those moments today! You explain it so well, humbly and honest. My own thougts can be an unproductive place, too. I totally get that. Praying that God will speak to your heart and tell you what to do next… Hugs : )

  11. Thank you soooo much for your prayers, lovely Linda! 🙂 That is a precious one for me. So often I find myself all over the place in what I’m doing and it can be true then in what I’m thinking! God bless you and the sweet ministry He has given you! love and prayers!

  12. If I over think I would have every imaginable reason to quit! Thankful that God wholeheartedly welcomes whatever we immediately surrender to Him 🙂

  13. My darling Deb,
    Oh, how you get to the point! I love it 😉
    I am guilty of “over think”, in fact my youngest son says “Mom…you worry too much.” I am really trying to control it, though, by praying “Jesus please stop these thoughts.” Guess what?! It works!
    Thank you for reinforcing the presence of God, and how we would do better to focus on Him at all times!!
    God bless you for always keeping your heart centered on Him…and blessing me in the process.
    love from your bee

  14. Good word Deb! Sometimes I question myself right out of obedience! May God help us to take up His cause at the moment He commands!

  15. Sweet spoon . . .you have given me a big blessing! To immediately surrender to Him . . .whatever it is or is about . .. that would take care of the over thinking right there. 🙂 God bless you, sweet surrendered one! love and prayers!

  16. Beautiful Bee. . .I love what you are doing to help with the over thinking! YES! He keeps telling me to just say no to those unproductive thoughts! He knows I need simple. haha! Having you and all the wonderful blog friends and their blogs has been a huge gift to me, a wonderful tool to help me stay focused on Him. 🙂
    God bless you and your beautiful heart! love you too!

  17. Pastor J . . .that is me! I think the first thing that comes is . . .was that really God or just me? Thank you for helping me see that those questions aren’t good! God bless you as you take up His cause today!

  18. I love the passage in James 4 which reminds us to say “no” to satan and he will be forced to do some “fleeing” of his own! 🙂

    In that same passage, we are reminded that if we whisper a quiet “yes” to God, He will draw near to us. Sometimes I may not have the energy or the passion do run to God myself, but somehow I think I can always whisper a “quiet yes.”

    One night recently I was teaching on that passage and my 4 y.o. daughter really got into it. She (wisely) pointed out that if you say “yes” to satan, “he’s not gonna go away.”

  19. Thank you so much for such a great addition! I love that whispering a quiet yes! And your sweet little girl’s wise point! God bless you as you go and as you come to Him!

  20. Thank you, Deb 🙂

    Nice piece! (The comments support as well).

    “If I over think before hand, I may never move and go. If I over think afterward, I won’t be available for what’s next.”
    If I had a dime for every time I over-analyzed… I daresay I would be comfortably well-off by now 🙂

    Thanks for reminding us to do just what He says and skip the drama… 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  21. I love your comment, Ann full of grace and truth. Skipping the drama is such good advice!!! 🙂 God bless you as you just do what He says today! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

