Gathering Vessels

“Your maidservant has nothing in the house but a jar of oil.” 2 Kings 4:2

“Then he said, ‘Go, borrow vessels from everywhere, from all your neighbors – empty vessels; do not gather just a few.'”  2 Kings 4:3

“And when you have come in, you shall shut the door behind you and your sons;  then pour it into all those vessels, and set aside the full ones.”  2 Kings 4:4

The widow was able to sell the oil and save her sons from being sold into slavery.  There was even enough for them to live on after that.

Lord, we come to You as empty vessels asking to be filled and used in the lives of others.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Lasting Oil

Father, we come to You
empty as we are

as You seek  and gather us
from near and from far

bringing us into Your house
closing the door on our past

pouring Your Spirit into us
an oil that lasts and lasts.

37 Comments

  1. I love this passage and your poem Debbie! Got goosebumps when I saw it – so good to be reminded that God can take what we have in our hand, whether it seems like nothing or alot and He can do great things, amazing things with it. So glad we serve a God who is ABLE. Bless you and may He multiply what you have in your hand xx

  2. “…closing the door on our past…”

    If only the Lord’s people would allow the Holy Spirit to empty them of their guilts & bondages, Debbie … the oil doesn’t flow until they do so. Praying for us all. Thank you for the blessing,

    Roger

  3. i like this line

    bringing us into Your house closing the door on our past

  4. Really like this post..had forgoten the scripture of 2Kings;4,2…. Many blessings .. Bro pat.

  5. I love this story and your poem. It’s important that we remember the miracles.

  6. He is the oil that never stops flowing!

  7. “…And when you have come in, you shall shut the door behind you and your sons…”

    How many neighbors wondered why she needed extra jugs and vessels? How many might have followed her? Maybe they were standing outside the door, just waiting to ask questions and tell her, “That’s silly. Don’t listen to Elisha.”

    Nothing puts out the fires of faith like a bunch of wet blankets. So, if possible, stick around people who have faith in a miraculous God. The others can see His acts afterward.

  8. I love God’s miracles. Great Post!
    God Bless You!

  9. “…do not gather just a few.” When we come to be filled, we need to bring all of our ’empty jars’, not just one.

    Wonderful again, Deb! Thanks. 🙂

  10. Hello Debbie, guess who gets to mess with the ABC Award. Oh yes, it’s you, if you chose to accept the mission. I believe i’ve goofed, but the post is http://iamnotshe.wordpress.com/2012/02/01ay-bee-cee/
    OR
    Take a gander at iamnotshe and see how i screwed up the link! xoxo melis

  11. Oooh, I love this one SO much, Deb! I love that He shuts the door on my past, and that the oil of His Spirit is poured into me to last and last. This is one anointed poem, Sis! Great, great work–wonderful word from Him! Praying your day is blessed with Excellence!! love you, sis Caddo

  12. I was thinking about this Bible passage yesterday.

    I am so very thankful for the promises illustrated in that passage and the precious truth contained in your poem!

    11For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

    12Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.

    13And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

    Love,
    Theresa

  13. Debbie, once again you have captured everything in just a few words. We come to Him empty because we are nothing and have nothing, but He fills us because we are precious to Him. He is not interested in our past, but in our future, which is in His hands and under His control.

    What an amazing God!

  14. Hi Deb — reminds me of the oil in the lamps of the 10 virgines .. may we all diligently seek to have our oil ready.

    Rachel

  15. “…closing the door on our past…”
    I love that, Deb…really love it!
    Forging ahead with thanks to God that all of my past sins are forgiven!
    Blessings and love coming your way,
    from your Bee

  16. I get so excited at your comments, sweet Aimee! 🙂 I love to remember and repeat that He Is ABLE!!! Oh yes He is!! God bless you too, and all that He is going to do in you, His precious vessel.
    love and prayers!

  17. Thank you, Roger, for sharing that! How important for us to know, and to know that He is willing and able to empty us of guilt and bondage. God bless you and praying with you!

  18. God bless you, Z! Excited about what He is doing and planning for you! 🙂

  19. I like the Old Testament! God bless you, Bro Pat, and pour the oil of His Spirit over you today!

  20. You’re right Tammy, it is important to remember! He has done amazing things for me, my own miracles, and your comment has helped me recall and thank Him for each one! God bless you and all that He is miraculously doing in your life!

  21. Amen,Pastor J! God bless you as He flows in and through you!

  22. Oh Larry . . .I loved this! Thank you so much for being here and adding that something special that He wants us to hear! God bless you and the fire of faith He is pouring lighter fluid on in you. 🙂

  23. God bless you, dear Lady Dei, and work miraculously in your life today! Thank you for flying in!

  24. I love that, Ted. I’m gathering all I got and running to Him! 🙂
    God bless you and all He fills you for.

  25. Thank you so very much, and I truly thank you for the oil of His spirit… Debbie; May God’s Love be with you always… Love in the Lord… Bro Pat.

  26. Thank you amazing melis, for this mission! God bless you and the oh so very special mission He has you on. (oh yes He does!)

  27. I’m so thankful He does all this too, and even more! Thank you for blessing us, for being here, for always bringing His joy with you! God bless you as He keeps you close to Him always!
    love and prayers!

  28. And this is why you are our wonderful woman of the Word! Thank you so much, Theresa, for being here, for bringing His Word, God bless you and pour out those precious promises on you today, like a sweet oil. love and prayers and hugs!

  29. I love that, Mentor Angela, that He fills us because we are precious to Him. And that He is interested in our future, not our past. 🙂 God bless you and all the people He has filled you to be a blessing to today! ( I’m one of those people!)

  30. Oh Rachel, it does remind me of that too! Thank you for bringing that here! God bless you as you remain full and ready for Him. Love you!

  31. I’m so thrilled that He does that, beautiful Bee, that He closes the door on all that we don’t need. God bless you as you go into Him and He pours His love out all over you! love and prayers and thank you!!!

  32. Dearest Deb – I’ve often come so nearly full, that there’s only room for a dropper of oil, which quickly burns out, leaving me wondering why I’m wandering in the dark.
    Thank you for encouraging me to come empty, ready to be filled in the present, for the present.
    Much love and Thursday prayers for you,
    Debbie

  33. Grace filled one . . .your comment has me thinking and praying. Wow! Thank you for sharing in that oh so special Debbie way. I, too, can come . . .but not really think I need too much from Him. I didn’t realize this before now! What an eye opener!!! God bless you, wonderful lady, and how He moves in you. He is pouring in you and out of you more than you know.
    And thank you for the Thursday prayers! They were a blessing, for sure! I was praying for you as well, and then got home and here you are! yay!
    love and some more prayers!

  34. Short but so, so sweet, I think this is my favourite poem so far. I loved the fact that God keeps collecting all these empty vessels to fill them up with oil that never ends and never fails. LOVE THIS SO MUCH.

    Thank you for being His vessel xxx

  35. I was thinking about you when I wrote this, sweet Vessel of His! 🙂 God bless you with more and more of that oil that never ends or fails! love and prayers!

  36. Thank you Lord, I pray my vessel leaks no more…

    Philippians 3:13
    Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    And thank you too Deb…for another wonderful devotional reminder.

  37. I love your comments, Paul! 🙂 We are all a little cracked, aren’t we? Must be part of the miracle how the oil stays in us!
    God bless you as you reach forward for all He has for you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

