A Double Portion

“And so it was, when they had crossed over, that Elijah said to Elisha, “Ask! What may I do for you, before I am taken away from you?”  And Elisha said, “Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.”  2 Kings 2:9

Jesus told His disciples “to wait for the Promise of the Father, ‘which,’ He said, ‘you have heard from Me; for John truly baptized with water but you shall be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.’”  Acts 1:4-5

Lord, we come to You and ask to be filled with your Holy Spirit today . . .even a double portion.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Ask!

Please just come
and do not be afraid
to ask
for what you want.

I love you
and give good gifts
to all who do not fear
and come.

39 Comments

  1. Oh yes, Sis! This is one place where we’re invited to be “greedy”–ask for ALL God has for us!! Thanks for a great word, as usual–you’re such a blessing to us! And how ’bout that–I got to be first, yippee!!

  2. Oh Debbie I was sooo looking forward to stopping by here today and then for this to be the post – feels like my double portion already! I will mull your poem over and receive it as His Word to me today 🙂 Bless you xx

  3. 🙂 Just ask…am asking

  4. Deb,

    You are so right! What a blessing it is to know that the Lord is working in us through the Holy Ghost. My only wish is that the Lord continue to use His Spirit to grace His people. It is only through the Spirit that we can be fruit bearers for Him. I really appreciate your blog, Debbie. It is a blessing to me.

  5. “…I love you
    and give good gifts
    to all who do not fear
    and come.”

    My wife once said, “I know God is going to help us because we asked Him, but I’m fearful I may not like the way He helps us.”

    As silly as this example may sound, it pretty much sums up how we Christians think and the fear which so easily erodes our joy.

  6. Love the poem, Debbie. And I’m looking for that double portion today! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Always seek God….God will be right there even you haven’t knock the door!

  8. “To all who do not fear and come!” These are two great qualifiers Deb! We must not fear to advance in the Spirit and we must draw near!

  9. Thanks, Debbie! I just need to stop asking for ‘stuff’ and ask for Him. What more is there?

  10. Bless you indeed.

  11. I always want a double portion of what God has for me. Great post

  12. Hi Debbie,
    What a simple but powerful poem , thank you.

    We must pray each day for more of the Holy Spirit in our lives to enable us to do the work God has for us.
    God bless you.
    Pam

  13. “He is able to do exceedingly abundantly MORE than we ask or even think” [Eph 3:20]

    More? He has done soooooooooo much! He is doing soooooooooo much! He wants to do MORE? Incomprehensible . . . but true! More from Him? More *OF* Him! I am coming and asking.

    What an amazing God!

  14. You’re #1! Way to go, Sis Caddo! 😀 God bless you as you go to your Father and ask for what He is so willing to give! love and prayers for a way wonderful evening!

  15. Aimee . . .you bless me so much. Thank you! Asking Him to bless you doubly today! 🙂 love and prayers!

  16. God bless you, dear Vessel, and fill you up to overflowing! 🙂

  17. Thank you, Rob, for such a wonderful encouragement! Praying with you that we ask and receive all He desires for us to do all He has planned for us! God bless you and thank you for giving me good things to think on each day at your blog!

  18. Thank you so much, Larry! You said what I was feeling / sensing when I wrote this. That we ARE often afraid to ask. God bless you as you come and ask anyway. May He give you double and beyond all that you ask for!

  19. Pastor J, thank you so much for the confirmation. What a blessing you are. And I’m not forgetting His word to you . .. God bless you doubly!

  20. Oh so good and true, Ted! God bless you and show you Himself more than ever before! 🙂 Oh and Ted . . .I told Julie at Mended Hearts today you were praying for her and the work she does and she was so blessed . . .thank you!

  21. God bless you and give you a double portion of poetic mojo, friend! 🙂 (like you need it! )

  22. Pam, I agree! God bless you and the work you are doing and pour out His Spirit doubly upon you! Thank you so much for being here!

  23. I love your comments, Mentor Angela! MORE? How could it be? 😀 I with you and asking for more of Him today! God bless you and your heart that wants more and more of your amazing God!
    love and prayers!

  24. God bless you, Dear Desiray! I’m praying that for you!

  25. I needed this .I am so tired.

    Love,
    Theresa

  26. It’s easy to ask God to bless everyone else… Why is it so hard to ask for me? I appreciated all the comments… learned that’s it’s okay.

  27. God bless you Jonathan, and I’m believing with you for Him to doubly pour into you today! Thank you for the encouragement!

  28. Thank you, Daniel, for the beautiful encouragement! God bless you abundantly as you ask and seek today! 🙂

  29. Love and prayers for you, wonderful woman of the Word. God bless you as you go to Him and pour out your heart and ask Him for a double portion today. Or even a quadruple one.
    love you and am thinking of you and holding you up in prayer tonight!

  30. I do that too, lovely Linda. So . .. now we know, right? It’s okay! I’m praying for you right now, and asking Him for double His Spirit within you as you minister and work, as you go out and come in, as you write and as you post, that you will see His mighty hand upon all that you do. God bless you, precious lady of His, who He delights and sings over! love and hugs to you!

  31. Thank you, Deb

    Glad I came this late so I get the double portion – the beautiful post and the wonderful comments 🙂

    I think I do a pretty good job of asking… The waiting is a whole ‘nother ball game! I need to learn to wait on His timing. Should I not ask Him that too? 😉

    Blessings
    ann

  32. Oh boy Ann full of grace! So I shouldn’t be afraid, right, and ask for a double portion of patience??? Okay, I’m with ya! Let’s put this into action tonight!
    God bless you as you ask and receive, over and beyond what you could imagine! love and prayers!

  33. Debbie, your post made me smile… thinking on Elisha just the other day I was bold and asked God for that double portion 🙂
    I so want to honour and bless Him with every part of my life ….Oh gosh, a double portion of faith, and longsuffering, and patience, kindness, and on and on
    and His joy…all these good things that His Spirit brings…

    as a kid my dad would buy me a double scooped ice cream on Sundays on the way to visit grandma … it was always enough to share with a friend there or my Lassie dog and then we were all happy.
    I love how double portions are best when we use them to bless others.

  34. Oh dear faith filled fisher lady. Your comment made me cry. Just so beautiful. To have a double portion of joy, faith, patience, kindness . . .to share with others, to bless them with. This so touches me. Thank you!!!! You have given me something more to pray for with this. God bless you and yours, precious lady, as you bless us all doubly! love and prayers!

  35. Sweet Susan . . .I found a way to comment on your beautiful blog . . .If I just do it as anonymous. So you know, I’m not trying to be sneaky! haha! God bless you!

  36. Man! I sure could use a double portion right now.. Loved your post… Blessings.. Bro Pat.

  37. Praying just that for you, Bro Pat! God bless you and pour Himself into you doubly today!

  38. My Deb,
    I usually fail to ask God to bless me, because I am so concerned with asking God to bless my loved ones! Thank you for reminding me that I should ask to be blessed…even double blessed!
    love you 🙂

  39. I know Bee . . .I forget too! I do want to do my best for Him, as I serve and love others, so that helps me ask. 🙂
    God bless you, beautiful one, and give you all you need and more! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

