Men and Women of God

“Then the king sent to him a captain of fifty with his fifty men, so he went up to him; and there he was, sitting on the top of a hill.  And he spoke to him: “Man of God, the king has said, ‘Come down!'”  2 Kings 1:9

“So Elijah answered and said to the captain of fifty, “If I am a man of God, then let fire come down from heaven and consume you and your fifty men.”  And fire came down from heaven and consumed him and his fifty.”  2 Kings 1:10

We are men and women of God.

Lord, let us remember who we are and whose commands we listen to and obey . . .and whose we don’t.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

If I Am

Man of God
who has commanded you
who has told you
you must come down?

Woman of the Lord
who has beseeched you
who has said
to stop making your rounds?

For indeed you are Mine
and its only by My voice
that you move and have breath
and utter each sound.

24 Comments

  1. actually i thought the passage was about courtesy. the 3rd captain spoke humbly (almost begging) and fire didn’t rain on him.

  2. You’re right about that Z. I just wanted to encourage in a different direction this time, looking at them calling him a man of God . .. but not really thinking about that, about what that might mean, about not having a fear of God themselves. I loved the 3rd captain’s approach. 🙂 God bless you and your heart for Him and His word!

  3. I think you captured the passage beautifully Deb and it made me remember the incredible power and responsiblity we have as the men and women of God. I love how Elijah waited until God told Him he could come down – can be tempting to go when everyone calls but you are so right that it is His voice and command we need to wait to hear. Sometimes he’ll tell us to go while everyone is saying wait, other times wait when everyone says go, so we need to have decided whose voice matters most! Bless you as he tells you where and when to go today xx

  4. That is one of my favorite stories about the fire from heaven. We area only to obey God’s voice no one else, not even our own voice. Because only God knows we have so many things that tries to get our attention and if we aren’t careful we will listen to those voices and not knowing we’ve been listening to the enemy. Great Post sis

  5. Excellent, Debbie! Listening for God’s ‘still small voice’ instead of those that are clamoring for my will and attention. Only One needs to be obeyed.

  6. Thank you, Deb

    “Lord, let us remember who we are and whose commands we listen to and obey . . .and whose we don’t.”
    Often we forget … It is only His voice that makes the difference.

    Your post reminds me of a song by Wintley Phipps. Hope it blesses you. I am also reminded of the story of the young prophet who disobeyed God and listened to the old prophet. Ended up costing his life… I am sitting here wondering what I have lost out on as a result of listening to other voices. I am thankful that He heals, loves and forgives the way He does.

    Listening for Him,
    ann

  7. Powerful words, Sis Deb, urging me to listen carefully! (What happened to Ephesians? Was I poem-ing when I should have been paying attention in church?) Much love to you and Aub–and prayers that this day is Full of His Blessings and Covering!!

  8. Thank you, Aimee, for helping us see that . . .the incredible power and responsibility we have as men and women of God. 🙂 I think you captured it better than I did! 🙂
    God bless you, sweet woman of God, and all He does through you today! love and prayers!

  9. Hi Debbie
    oh what a blessed reminder this word is,I’m being reminded who I should be listening to and what!! “Hallelujah”!! What a blessing!!
    Love you much my dear sister 😀 😀
    p.s. I am following you but for some reason I am not receiving your post in my mail

  10. I love this, dear Desiray, how we are not to even obey our own voice, nor all those that are trying to get our attention . .. not knowing we’ve been listening to the enemy instead of our God. God bless you, dear woman of God, as you hear Him today and move on His behalf!

  11. God bless you, Ted, as you listen to the One who loves you and has your attention!

  12. I loved this Ann full of grace . .. only His voice makes the difference! And the song . . .I love how you think in song! Oh yes it blessed big! Thankful with you for His healing love and forgiveness, that teaches us how to hear Him and follow Him.
    God bless you, Ann . . .a woman after His own heart! love and prayers for your week of hearing Him.

  13. You are a careful listener, sweet Sis Delight! Sorry about the switch back to the Old Testament. I meant to warn everyone, but forgot! oops! I am going back and forth from the New to the Old Testament, doing a little poem devotion from each chapter. Ephesians was just too short!!! haha! There are not only more Old Testament books, they are also longer too!
    God bless you and cover you today too, in His love and grace and word. love and prayers!

  14. This is one of my favorite stories in the Bible. Can you imagine it happening today, here in America? It would sure add some excitement and probably have some repercussions, too.

    Awesome.

  15. Dear precious Pat, you are SO a woman of God, directed by His voice when to post and what to post. 🙂
    Sorry about not receiving these in your mail. I’ll see if there is anything I can do from my end!
    God bless you as you stay true to who you are in Him!
    love and prayers!

  16. I can’t help but think of you, Larry, when I read about the prophets. “It would sure add some excitement” . . .oh yes it would! 🙂
    God bless you, man of God!

  17. deb, u have shown me a new light to this passage.

  18. As I read I thought of Acts 17:28 “For in Him we live, and move, and have our being”.

    I like this verse because it gives me comfort and encourages me. It has that “feel good” quality . . .

    . . . but it is sometimes too much of a challenge! If I live and move and have my being in Him, I do nothing of my own will or desire. As you say:
    For indeed you are Mine
    and its only by My voice
    that you move and have breath
    and utter each sound.

    Lord, make it so!

  19. I love how God does that Z . . .keeps showing us new things in His word, no matter how many times we read it. God bless you!

  20. Thank you, Mentor Angela, for bringing that verse here. Yes, it made me think of that too! 🙂 Praying with you for Him to make it so for me too. God bless you, our dear woman of God, beloved and moved by her King!

  21. “Woman of the Lord
    who has beseeched you
    who has said
    to stop making your rounds?”

    He does beseech…we are worth the trouble to be besought. 🙂

    I love these retreats the Lord provides through you!

    Love,
    Theresa

  22. Yes, He loves you and seeks you out! 🙂 Praying for you, His wonderful woman of the Word, that He will provide for you and cover you, keep you and uphold you, carry you and sustain you though this time! Love you and sending hugs your way!

  23. I was just praying this morning that God would help me to obey His voice rather than the voice of men! Thanks for the confirmation!

  24. God bless you, Pastor J, as you listen and know His voice! Thank you for letting me know it was a confirmation for you. 🙂


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

