Wrestling

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.”  Ephesians 6:12

Flesh fights against flesh.

Lord, increase my understanding of what I’m truly fighting against.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

What We’re Up Against

I know what my eyes see
and my ears hear
and how it affects me

but You say this is not
where my battleground
should be

and ask me
to wrestle in prayer
on my knees

against all powers
rulers of darkness
and principalities.

18 Comments

  1. We don’t wrestle flesh and blood but we fight those things in the spirit realm those dark things and yet we know this and we end up fighting with our brothers and sisters. James had it right when he said we fight because of a war on the inside of us wanting us to have our own way. If the world would stop trying to have their way and do what God says it would be a whole lot much better but because we love to let our flesh win all because we don’t want people to think we are soft or passive.

    Don’t fight your sister or brother but that spirit that is there once we do that , that evil spirit will leave. AMEN

  2. Amen, what a powerful weapon the Lord Jesus gifted us with. Faith, in He who has overcome the world.
    Bless You
    paul

  3. “…Lord, increase my understanding of what I’m truly fighting against…”

    Me, too.

    Great reminder for all of us. Thanks.

  4. Powerful poem, thank you.

  5. Excellent word, Sis Deb. Joyce Meyer reminds us that when we are hurt by people, we should remember that the enemy uses the people in our lives–even sometimes those who love us, even sometimes those who are believers. So, instead of fighting with them–we need to fight the “one” who is acting behind their hurtful words and deeds. Whack-whack! Love and prayers for you and all here in “church” today—sis Caddo

  6. Thanks, Deb

    Praying alongside you.

    Sometimes, in the heat of the moment, the ‘enemy’ looks like my colleague, or people in my circle, or random strangers. Sincerely praying your prayer … I need to.

    Blessings,
    ann

  7. Thank you, dear Desiray, for helping us wrestle out this wrestling! 🙂 God bless you as you obey Him and fight the good fight today!

  8. Yes . . .prayer is a powerful weapon. I keep realizing that and how much the enemy doesn’t want me to realize that. God bless you, Paul ,as you fight on in faith!

  9. Thank you, Larry, for helping me see it all clearer. He has used you in my life wonderfully! 🙂 God bless you as you understand and follow through with what He has for you to do.

  10. God bless you, dear Vessel of His, as He directs you today, where to go and what to do and how to wrestle with these things. God is preparing you for more.

  11. I love all of your Joyce Meyer’s lessons! 🙂 And how you know how to fight and whack attack that evil one. You are one lean serene fighting machine. God bless you and your prayers for His good and ours! love you!

  12. Ann full of grace . .. I fall for that too often, in the heat of the moment. So really really need to pray too!!! God bless you and all that He is readying you for in the days ahead. love and prayers!

  13. Great Post, Debbie. And oh so true!
    God Bless You!

  14. God bless you, Lady Dei, and your understanding of what you are up against today. So happy you got to hold that sweet new baby boy again!

  15. Remembering Paul also wrote, in Romans 8:38-39: “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons…will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
    Amazing…simply amazing! Thanks, Deb 🙂
    love and prayers buzzing your way…

  16. What a blessing you are Bee! Thank you for helping us remember that we can never be separated from His love! What a comfort and an encouragement! God bless you and hold you close in His great love for you today! love and prayers!

  17. If I was literally wrestling against flesh and blood I would be badly beaten because I am not a fighter.

    When *I* wrestle against principalities and powers, I am also badly beaten, but when I avail myself of all God has provided for me and allow Him to be in control in my battle against them, they are defeated. I am not victorious, but Christ in me is – and He delights to give me the victory, making me ‘more than a conqueror’

    What an amazing God!

  18. Thank you so much, Mentor Angela, for reminding us that it is Him in us who is battling. A big amen to your, “what an amazing God! 🙂
    God bless you as He delights in you today!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

