He Has Humbled Himself

“So it was when Ahab heard those words, that he tore his clothes and put sackcloth on his body, and fasted and lay in sackcloth, and went about mourning.”  1 Kings 21:27

“And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,”  1 Kings 21:28

“See how Ahab has humbled himself before Me?  Because he has humbled himself before Me, I will not bring the calamity in his days, but in the days of his son, I will bring the calamity on his house.”  1 Kings 21:29

Even though Ahab had provoked God many times, a little humility went a long way.

Oh Lord, I long to stay humble before You, so our relationship can grow and deepen.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Process

What will it take to
humble this stiff heart

a word, a glance, a touch
to soften it enough

to lay low before You
forever bowed at Your Holiness

assured that whatever it takes
is so worth the process.

 

Published in: on February 17, 2012 at 8:17 am  Comments (28)  
Tags: , , , , ,

28 Comments

  1. “…What will it take to
    humble this stiff heart…”

    From my experience, it take all that you mentioned and one other ingredient: time in the wilderness.

    As Kenneth Hagin remarked about his time in the wilderness, “I wouldn’t take a million dollars for it, but you couldn’t pay me two million to go through it again.”

  2. The process is painful and every fiber in my flesh bucks against it but my spirit says “let it happen”. So here I am God! Thanks Deb!

  3. Praise God I to long to stay humble before God,for as you said a little humility goes a long ways.It’s God’s grace and mercy for sure.Good post Debbie I truly enjoyed the read.
    Love you and do have a good weekend.

  4. Oh, so that’s what the wilderness is all about! It does work really well. haha!
    Thank you, Larry, and God bless you as you stay humble before Him!

  5. Pastor J, I appreciated how you put that . .”let it happen”. YES. That’s how I feel too. I once asked God if there were any short cuts to this process. 😀 Got a no from Him on that.
    God bless you, right where you are!

  6. Thank you Precious Pat for reminding us that we have His grace and mercy to help us through the staying humble process! 🙂
    God bless you and tenderly care for you. Love you and praying for you a good weekend too!

  7. Pride was the first sin (Lucifer’s pride made him rebel against God and Eve’s pride made her desire to be as god) and is still the basis of all sin (e.g. I react in anger because “I” am hurt)

    Humility is the opposite of pride and is a characteristic of the One who “humbled Himself and became obedient to the cross”

    He desires to see humility in us, His children, but there is only one way humility can be achieved . . . we have to fall; we have to be lowered; we have to be humbled.

    As you say, we can be thankful for God’s work in us because we are “assured that whatever it takes is so worth the process”

    What an amazing God!

  8. “We have to fall”. . .thank you for pointing that out, Mentor Angela! I think it’s easier to see it happen to me, than someone I love, but it still needs to happen. Then to not try to climb ourselves back up onto our self pedestal. I seem to have quite a string of humbling times. Once, because it was so rare, I wrote “I was right today” down on the calendar. 😀 It definitely keeps us leaning on Him, which is where we want to be.
    God bless you in the process and as you glorify Him through it all!
    love and prayers for a great weekend!

  9. Dearest Deb –
    What a lovely, and humbling poem. It reminds me of my favorite Keith Green song – My Eyes are Dry – do you know it?

    My eyes are dry
    My faith is old
    My heart is hard
    My prayers are cold
    And I know how I ought to be
    Alive to You and dead to me

    But what can be done
    For an old heart like mine
    Soften it up
    With oil and wine
    The oil is You, Your Spirit of love
    Please wash me anew
    With the wine of Your Blood

    Love to you,
    Debbie

  10. It is so worth the process … the process of dying to self and coming to life in Him. 🙂

    Rachel

  11. Thank you, Gracious One, for the Keith Green song! No . ..I didn’t know it. . .that’s why I need you and Ann and Linda. 😀 The song is just perfect.
    God bless you as you stay before Him!
    love and prayers!

  12. I think its the words “dying to self” that scares people. 🙂 We need to look at it as taking out the trash. We’ve got something so much better. . .Jesus!
    God bless you as you submit to Him with joy! Thanks for stopping by Rachel!

  13. Dearest Deb,
    When I read your poem I thought my father, whose heart was “stiff” his whole life. I prayed for many years, hoping his heart would soften, so that we might have a relationship. He passed on a year ago; we had not spoken in many years.
    I love how your poems help me work out issues I have faced in my life. You have a powerful way with words, my darling friend! Bless you and thank you for helping me cope.
    love from your Bee!

  14. Beautiful Bee . . .thank you so much for your comment. You have helped all of us who have those in our lives with hearts we long to have softened and drawn to Him . .. and to us. Hugs my friend.
    Praying for Him to softly touch you tonight, with healing and love, as your heart stays supple and tender before Him. God bless you our Bee, Queen of Everything!

  15. You are so right…t is worth the process.When we are humbled we are in a position we are in a position in which we can experience His rest…a rest like no other.

    Love,
    Theresa

  16. Oh goodness–I read all of this and see that I still have so far to go! That piercing knowledge makes me glad that HE knows my heart, my desire to be molded further by Him, into what HE wants–I continue to pray to be “open”, to not “run ahead” of Him. This is such a good “church”, Sis Deb–thank you so very much for your faithfulness to Him, your servant’s heart. love you, sis Caddo

  17. Hi encouraging Debbie,

    How I long to be like Jesus: so meek and lowly, so humble and holy; how I long to be like Him! I too am a work in progress, which is difficult at times, but it will definitely be worth it all! Thank you for sharing this message!

    I wanted you to know that I appreciate the support you’ve given me, at “A Place of Worship.” Therefore, I have nominated you for an award which is truly about you, The Reader Appreciation Award. My way of saying thank you! To learn more about this award, click on the link! Thank you so much! God bless! Have a great weekend, my friend!

    http://pbus1.wordpress.com/reader-appreciation-award/

  18. Wonderful woman of the Word . . .what a word for us! Thank you! That when we are humbled we are in a position in which we can experience His rest. . .I never thought of it that way before, but wow, so true. What else can we do?
    God bless you as you worship Him, humbly and in truth.
    love you!

  19. Sis Caddo Delight . . .He sees you and knows your heart and the deep humility that you have and all that you have gone through. I think there is a difference when one has been on the bottom and is lifted up and out by Him. That is a humble joy, not pride. 😀 You got that humble joy thing going on!
    Love you and God bless you as you stay before Him each day!

  20. I want to be humble and holy too, praising Paulette! So glad we get to go through the process of being humbled, so we can be with Him.
    Thank you soooo much for nominating me for an award! You are so kind hearted and gracious. What a blessing!
    God bless you as you stay low before Him, in worship and praise. He loves you and your humble heart!
    love and prayers!

  21. Your are just the BEST SIS, thank you!! Sending hugs and prayers of blessing to you always!!

  22. Beautiful! I wrote on humility a few days ago. But sometimes it’s easier to write about than to live! Haha!

  23. Thank you for stopping by Jonathan! I really was blessed by your post on humility. The thing that stood out to me was how humility meant seeing yourself rightly. Good stuff! 🙂
    Sometimes when I post something like this, that’s easier to write about than live, then He gives me an opportunity to put it into action. ! God bless you and your ministry!

  24. Yes, He gives us those insights and burdens with enough accompanying grace to move it into action! Many blessings to you!

  25. “… assured that whatever it takes is so worth the process.”

    Do you ever wish you knew the outcome in advance to make sure the process is worth it? Your poem and prayer about humility are a strong message and reminder. A good word for me during the stress of the day…

  26. Lovely Linda . . .yes, I do wish I knew the outcome in advance. Guess that’s where the trusting Him part comes in. 🙂 Those days in the midst of it are certainly humbling. You live practicing humility every day . . .and are closer to Him from it then you may even realize. God bless you as you lean on Him today. love and prayers!

  27. So beautiful !

  28. God bless you Marcos! Hope you’ve been well! 🙂


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

