Giving In

“Thus says Ben-Hadad, ‘Your silver and your hold are mine; your loveliest wives and children are mine.'”  1 Kings 20:2-3

“And the king of Israel answered and said, ‘ My lord, O king, just as you say, I and all that I have are yours.'”  1 Kings 20:4

“Then the messengers came back and said. ‘Thus speaks Ben-Hadad, saying, “Indeed I have sent to you, saying, ‘You shall deliver to me your silver and your gold, your wives and your children; but I will send my servants to you tomorrow about this time, and they shall search your house and the houses of your servants.  And it shall be, that whatever is pleasant in your eyes, they shall put in their hands and take it.'”  1 Kings 20:5-6

Giving in to Ben-Hadad only made him bolder to demand more.

Lord, I desire to give in to You today, knowing You only take away what is bad for me, and replace it with all that is good.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

No Holding Back

Whatever You ask of me
I need not hold back

afraid that you will take and take
and somehow I will lack

for whatever I relinquish
You replace with so much more

so now I can trustingly leave
wide open my heart’s door.

24 Comments

  1. Debbie I so LOVE this poem and it has so been my journey, that even though what He has asked at times has been hard, I know that He has my best in His heart and so like you say our heart can be an open door. Bless you xx

  2. “…afraid that you will take and take
    and somehow I will lack…”

    Isn’t that one of Satan’s great lies, Debbie? He’s the only one who takes and takes and leaves us lacking … spiritually, mentally, morally, physically and materially. Yet, the world won’t have it any other way. Psalm 34:10 is our testimony isn’t it? God’s best to you all.

    Roger

  3. Deb, I just LOVE your “simple poems” and scripture messages. It is so easy for me to visit every day and get a gentle prayerful lift. You truly have a gift! Thank you, and blessings to you! Angela

  4. How often I have held back, only to realize (again) that it isn’t mine anyway. Thanks so much for your encouragement and reminders! Be blessed today. 🙂

  5. I struggle daily with the temptation to hold back just a little something for myself.
    Oddly enough, although the Lord will only strip away what is necessary and beneficial, Satan is more like Ben-Hadad. The initial consequences of sin often seem to be manageable. Yet, the enemy will push in ever farther when we give him permission.
    It’s no wonder why we are called to resist the devil even as we are commanded to yield to the Holy Spirit.

  6. “…afraid that you will take and take
    and somehow I will lack…”

    This is probably the number one reason why people don’t walk close to the Lord. They are afraid it will cost too much and in return He will not be able to help them with their needs.

    And to be truthful, we all struggle with this to some degree, even if it is our last penny, which will buy us nothing. We just want the feeling of having something, a little bit of independence, apart from depending on God.

    I’m guilty of this.

  7. Oh, this is such a sweet word of blessing, Deb! That HE does replenish all we give away from our open-door hearts–Yes, amen, glory to God! Love to you this day as you go about HIS work–may He bless you abundantly with HIS replenished, refreshed Provisions! sis Caddo

  8. I am sure it was Spurgeon who said “You can’t outgive God, because God always uses a bigger shovel”

    While this has happened many times in my life, I must admit there are still times when I hold back. We are sometimes so slow to learn. We KNOW – beyond any doubt – that HIS way is best, and yet we tend to hold on to our own way. How foolish! How absurd! How it must grieve our great God!

    In the words of Amy Carmichael:

    Shall I, I pray Thee,
    Change Thy will, my Father,
    Until it be according unto mine?
    But no Lord, no,
    That never shall be. Rather,
    I pray Thee,
    Blend my human will with Thine.

  9. Oh Deb this touches me on a level…it is beautiful.

    Love,
    Theresa

  10. The Lord is with me, it is not possible for me to lack. His blessings are secure for all His children. Be forever, and ever, blessed

  11. God bless you, sweet Aimee, on your beautiful open heart journey with Jesus! I love the way you reflect Him to us . .. and I love you too! Have a great day!

  12. Thank you, Roger, for the way you understand what is really going on. People might get fooled thinking that they are doing what is best for themselves . . .not realizing all the footholds they are giving satan. God bless you as you lack no good thing today!

    “The lions may grow weak and hungry
    but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.” Ps. 34:10

  13. Angela, you are so, so sweet and kind. Thank you so much for encouraging me to keep at this. God bless you as He gently lifts you each day, and carries you through in His big love!

  14. Ted . . .I do that too! I wonder why I’m stressed or don’t have the usual peace and joy, then “bingo” . .. as soon as I give in to Him, everything is better. 🙂
    God bless you and yours, and all that He is doing in and through you!

  15. I really appreciate how you explained how Satan is more like Ben-Hadad. I have given in to a bully before . .. and this is exactly what happened. They just wanted more and more. I love that you got that. There is no just a little bit with the enemy. But with God, we can give in just a little at a time and see Him move tremendously on our behalf. Time to use Mentor Angela’s phrase . . .What an amazing God! 🙂
    God bless you as you yield to Him today, and are blessed completely! love and prayers!

  16. I’m guilty of it too, Larry. And I love your honesty. 🙂 I can come up with lots of reasons why it’s okay . . .but I don’t really feel okay until I’m giving in to Him. Your comment reminded of a friend who told me that exact thing . .. she was just too afraid yet of what He might ask of her, to give her heart completely to Him. Thank you for sharing that . . .it helps us see that we are not alone in some of our struggles to give in.
    God bless you and all that He is adding to you today!

  17. Thank you Sis Caddo Delight, for bringing the joy and glory to Him, for making this be a giving in party! God bless you as He provides for you in wonderful ways! Love and prayers and big hugs!

  18. What beautiful words by Amy Carmichael . . .thank you, dear Mentor Angela! And I love the picture that comes to mind of God’s bigger shovel. .. 🙂 Angela . . .you comfort us in that you understand and have these same thoughts at times. Not that we want them or want to grieve Him, but that we are strengthened together to keep giving in to Him more and more, knowing that it is going to get easier and easier for us to do the more we do it and get to see what all He wants to do in us.
    God bless you as you keep glorifying Him! love and prayers!

  19. Love you, beautiful wonderful woman of the Word. God bless you as you surrender your all to Him today. He has you covered! 🙂

  20. I love that faith and confidence in Him you have! 😀 So thankful for His blessings and promises that we can always, always count on. God bless you, and thank you so much for being here and adding to this simple poem post!

  21. Hi encouraging Debbie,

    Great poem! “For whatever I relinquish You replace with so much more.” Isn’t that the truth? Yes, sometimes it may be a struggle to let go of some things, but we can’t beat God giving, no matter how hard we try! God bless you! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  22. God bless you, Praising Paulette! I love your “we can’t beat God giving”. 😀 All He does is good! Thank you so much for encouraging me and being here! love and prayers!

  23. My Deb, I am reminded of the times I gave my last five dollars in the offering basket at church, trusting the Lord would provide for me and my children. He is certainly faithful and has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams! Thank you for reminding us to give of ourselves first, and trust in the blessings to follow. Loving your precious words!
    Bless you 🙂

  24. Beautiful Bee . . .you are such a giver of His, in so many ways. I know He loves that and honors it in your life. Learning to trust Him with you! God bless you and faithfully care for you today!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

