Setting Up

“In his days Hiel of Bethel built Jericho.  He laid its foundation with Abiram his firstborn, and with his youngest son Segub he set up its gates, according to the word of the Lord, which He had spoken through Joshua the son of Nun.”  1 Kings 16:34

Ahab was busy building an altar for Baal, while Hiel built according to the word of the Lord.

Lord, what am I working on today?  And here’s a simple poem . . .

In His Days

Hiel laid a foundation
according to God’s word

and set up gates
for people to listen and be heard

at a time when Baal
altars were being built

there still remained hearts
that sought His in worship.

 

Dear readers, after posting this, our sweet sis from Jerusalem alerted me that I may have made an error. I’m sure she is right! Please forgive me for not studying further before doing this post. Here is J of Jerusalem’s gentle comment below:

I sure love you, DEAREST Sis, and your word for today is a wonderful word…and God HELP me if you feel that I am judging or being critical, because I am NOT…but maybe you check out the meaning of the scripture…back in Joshua when Jericho was thrown down…and cursed…he said that who ever re-built the city would do it with the blood of his children,…and Heil lost his children to death as he re-built the city that was not to be rebuilt…if i read it right.  Let me know PLEASE if I have read it wrong?  PLEASE don’t take this as criticism.  I just believe that you, like I, LOVE The Word of The Lord and want to know if someone else who seeks Him sees it differently, so I’m sharing this.  Please know that most of what you send leaves me thanking Him for the Light and Truth that you highlight!  I LOVE YOU!  me

ani b’derek

19 Comments

  1. Did a bit of reading and J is right 🙂 But do you know what I think is wonderful Deb – your beautiful teachable heart and desire for truth. You could have easily deleted your post, or not said anything, but you let us all know straight away so that we could also know truth. This says loads about your beautiful character and integrity – makes me want to read your posts even more! Bless you and I hope you have a wonderful day xx

  2. I agree with OnbecomingEsther. We know more about you from this than we could have learned in any other way. Plus, I love J in Jerusalem’s wonderful way of handling the mistake.

    God bless you.

  3. Dear Aimee . . .what a sweetie you are! Thank you for such an understanding heart and for encouraging me when I feel pretty stupid right now. haha! God bless you as you look for His truth and find it! love and prayers for you and yours!

  4. Thanks Larry, for your kindness. This was bound to happen sooner or later! I’m so thankful that J let me know and pray that you and other readers will too, when I’ve got something wrong. 🙂 And thank you for not riding me out blog town, tarred and feathered. God bless you, Larry, as you stay in His Word and forgive when someone messes it up!

  5. I believe that, every so often, God sticks out his foot so that we will stumble over it and make a mistake. We then feel foolish. It’s not necessarily that God wants to make us look foolish, but He wants us to know what’s in our hearts.

    “God offends our minds to reveal out hearts.” (Mike Bickle)

  6. Larry . . .thank you! That was really nice! Lots of thoughts can go through my head, but mostly I’m just thankful that J caught it, was reading and e-mailed me right after I posted. 🙂 So, I’m dismissing all the thoughts that aren’t helpful and just accepting the humbling moment for what it is . . .humbling. haha!
    God bless you friend Larry, and thank you for the quote!

  7. I also agree with onbecomingesther. It’s such a gift of humility to accept the opinion of another with an open heart. That’s what you’ve done. I am struggling a bit right now and your post reminded me that I need to build it according to his rules.

  8. Tammy, thank you for your gift of grace. I am praying for you now, as you build and He reveals what to do and makes a way for it to happen. God bless you as you get things set up! and thank you for coming by today, for letting there be a good reminder from what I misinterpreted. You’re an earth angel.

  9. This is a great lesson for all of us to dig a little deeper, and refresh our minds and understanding of His word…although your sentiment is an awesome thought, and certainly applies in other areas of the Bible, I believe what J is speaking of can be found in Joshua 6. That took place some maybe 500 years prior to the whole Ahab gang. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, Deb, as it will keep some speed readers on our toes…as I think sometimes all bloggers,Christian or otherwise, time provided, can read another bloggers post to hastily, or in some cases not read it at all and leave tale, tale comments.
    Bless You
    Keep up the wonderful work.
    paul

  10. Oh Paul . . .thanks so much for the encouragement to keep going, to dig deeper, to stay refreshed in Him. 🙂 That helps a lot! God bless you as you build your wonderful poetry upon His word!

  11. Why am I not surprised that you welcomed a lesson from a blessed teacher, our sister, J. Sometimes we are the teacher, and sometimes we are students.

    1 Kings is a tough read. Thanks for helping learn more each time I visit. Big hugs and prayers to you and yours…. : )

  12. “helping ME learn more” oops.

  13. Lovely Linda . . .you help me learn all the time. Thank you so much for that and how you do it, in this beautiful unintimidating quiet way. God bless you and thank you for encouraging me, praying for me and always sending me lots hugs . . .which I love. 🙂 love and prayers for you too, beautiful lady of His.

  14. Dearest humble Debbie, while your facts were not right, your heart certainly was/is. There is no doubt that you saw a lesson which applies to the situation today.

    God’s people are trying to keep some semblance of Godly living alive while there are others who are anti anything to do with God and His ways. But there are still those who will stand up and be counted. May we all be unashamed of the Gospel.

    We still serve an amazing God!

  15. Oh my Mentor Angela . . .I should’ve checked with you first! 🙂 Thank you so much for your ever present Jesus grace that you just carry around with you in blog land as well as His wisdom and understanding. “May we all be unashamed of the Gospel”. . .amen!
    God bless you and the treasure that you are, serving an amazing God and proclaiming His name and goodness!
    love and prayers!

  16. God bless your servant heart, Dear Deb

    Thankful for all you share in the ‘hard to read’ passages. Thankful for J and her loving correction.

    I have learnt much from you both.

    Blessings
    ann

  17. J was so amazing in this and the way she let me know. And due to time zones, she read it first at the time I posted! I see God covering me with more of His grace. 🙂
    God bless you, our Ann full of Jesus grace, as you come and bring more of Him and His grace here. 🙂

  18. Thank you for the lessons you share in this post! God bless you, encouraging Debbie! 🙂

    Paulette

  19. Some lesson are more humbling than others. haha! But thankful for all the love and support! God bless you and encourage you today, as you live and love in Him, Praising Paulette!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

