In Love

“But King Solomon loved many foreign women . . .from the nations of whom the Lord had said to the children of Israel, ‘You shall not intermarry with them, nor they with you.  For surely they will turn away your hearts after their gods.’  Solomon clung to these in love.”  1 Kings 11:1-2

Love is always a good thing, right?

Lord, show me what I love today that will turn my heart away from You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Above and Beyond

So much to love
in this life

our children, our friends
our husbands, our wives

all special blessings
sent by our God

oh, but to love Him
above and beyond.

16 Comments

  1. “Lord, show me what I love today that will turn my heart away from You.”
    Amen.

    Thanks, Deb.

    Nothing is worth hanging onto if it doesn’t bring Him glory.

    Blessings
    ann

  2. Solomon’s interest in foreign women blossomed after he fulfilled the major prophecies on his life. Maybe he was then bored and looked elsewhere.

    If so, this should be a warning to all of us to never think we have arrived at such an elevated spiritual place that we never have to keep seeking the Lord like a humble child.

  3. Indeed!

  4. This is a good reminder, Deb. Sometimes we get so thrilled by all His gifts that we get distracted from loving HIM, the Giver. Thank you so much for being His willing messenger, and for being His gift to so many (like this sis!)–may He bless you abundantly this day, and always.

  5. Thank you, Ann full of grace, for showing us how to know . .. if it isn’t bringing Him glory, we will know. 🙂 You are a wise and wonderful woman of His!
    God bless you as you cling to Him!

  6. Oh, that’s a good point, Larry! It would be kind of tough being so much wiser than everyone else, to then stay humble.
    God bless you as you arrive on time to worship and love Him each day!

  7. God bless you, poet friend, and those you love . . .as you love Him.

  8. God bless you, sweet Sis Delight, as you keep Him number one in your heart. . .and still have plenty of love to go around! 🙂
    love and prayers!

  9. Can a person spend so much time with God, so much time doing godly things that they neglect the ones on earth that He has given us to love? I do believe a person can do that. I’ve probably edged a little too close to it myself. My wife will remind me sometimes but overall is very understanding. Her gentle reminders have been enough to make me aware of it. And I believe God is aware of it as well. As I struggle to be sensitive to the issue without abandoning either God or my wife, I see God reward us by making the time we do spend together more fun and enjoyable than ever before. It is like He knows He is first and blesses because of it. (In case that sounds like every day is bliss, I can assure you it is not . . . but they are without a doubt better. It pays to love Him above and beyond. I will forever keep trying to do so.

  10. You make a great point, Mike. A really good one. I know that has probably happened more than we know. I’m with you that somehow when I am loving Him first, He makes a way for me to love others more too. Don’t know how that works. It’s that God math thing. 🙂
    God bless you and yours as you stay in love and loving Him!

  11. Dearest Deb – Do I love Him above and beyond? I’ve never come close to being tested. I’ve never gone without love and food and shelter. I’ve rarely been ill-treated. I love Him, but it’s been easy.
    “Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
    How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;
    Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
    Oh, for grace to trust Him more!”
    More – Above and beyond!
    Debbie

  12. Thank you gracious one, for bringing another level to this. . .how loving Him is easy when we are not lacking anything. So true! Praying to grow in trust of Him more with you. And so thankful to get to do this journeying together. 🙂
    God bless you and keep you, as you love Him and others, with that very special full heart of yours.

  13. I immediately thought of 1 John 2:15-16 “Love not the world . . .” but then you reminded me of the ‘special blessings sent by our God’
    Of course we are to love these. Love is an essential part of our life. We cannot live healthy lives without love.

    Then you bring us back to earth: “to love Him above and beyond”. Oh how important that is! Our love for God must surpass all other love – and this is sometimes easier said than done. When we truly love Him ‘above and beyond’ we will reflect Him to those we meet and HE will draw them to Himself.
    He must increase and I must decrease!

  14. You have me thinking, Mentor Angela . . .Maybe that is how we are able to love more and love Him most of all, by Him increasing in us and us decreasing. 🙂
    God bless you as you love those He’s given you and love Him even more! love and prayers!

  15. Oh what a hard lesson I have learned on this one Deb.When my love for someone else is not focused through the lens of my love for God it becomes at best co-dependence at worst idolatry!

  16. It just doesn’t work, does it? I’ve done both, Pastor J , and am so thankful that He helps us out of it, back to loving Him first and more. God bless you and your love for Him and others!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

