No Hammer Heard

“And the temple, when it was being built, was built with stone finished at the quarry, so that no hammer or chisel or any iron tool was heard in the temple while it was being built.”Β  1 Kings 6:7

Usually when things get quiet, we think the work has stopped.

Lord, thank You for the quiet steady work of Your Holy Spirit in us. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Temple Building

I’m under construction
God is working in me
though I feel like a mess
He continues patiently
building and adding on
never stopping what He’s begun
a Holy Spirit made temple
of worship for His Son.

25 Comments

  1. Deb, this is awesome. I never thought of it this way! I love the way you see simple verses that you could just read along without noticing. Thank you!

  2. “I’m under construction
    God is working in me…”

    As a young Christian, I thought Jesus would always treat me as the Carpenter to gently build me up. Later, I learned He also would show up with a stick of dynamite in His back pocket to remove things inside of me.

  3. God bless you, Mike, and all He is doing in and through you! πŸ™‚

  4. Sometimes it’s more like mining with blasting going on, is that what you’re saying? πŸ™‚ So glad that He shows up to do the work that only He can do. God bless you as He builds up and removes in you today!

  5. That is a verse I would very likely have skimmed over. Great insight!

  6. Debbie, if I believed that “you” wrote these ‘simple poems’ I would say it is one of your best, but since I know it is from the Lord, I’ll just say thank you for allowing Him to work through you in such a way.

    “I’m under construction”
    Yes, and I have been for decades, but praise God I can see a continual progress in the work and I am looking forward to the time when He says it is complete . . . and I will be with Him for eternity.

    What an amazing God!

  7. I don’t know why . .. there was just something beautiful about it to me. πŸ™‚ God bless you and the quiet beautiful work He is doing in your life!

  8. Thank you for knowing it is Him who writes these! πŸ™‚ Except of course, if one is pretty bad then we know I just did it on my own. haha!
    Angela, you are a treasure to us, and your walk with Him so encourages me and comforts me and strengthens me. There are times when I feel so slow, . .like it is taking Him extra long on me because I’m such a mess. Then to hear you say that you have been under construction too, for many years, and that it continues, blesses me. There is hope for me yet!
    God bless you as you praise your amazing God!
    love and prayers!

  9. Thank you, Deb

    What a wonderful piece! So thankful that with Him, quiet doesn’t mean completion. I laughed out loud at Larry’s comment. That dynamite has brought me to my knees more time than I can count…

    “Lord, thank You for the quiet steady work of Your Holy Spirit in us.”
    Amen.

    I am grateful that you shared this with us, Deb. May He continue to work quietly and ‘simply’ in you.

    Blessings,
    ann

  10. Truly wonderful message, as always, Deb. I, for one, am really glad the Builder is quiet sometimes! Love to you, and all your readers. God bless you and angel Aub abundantly.

  11. Ann full of grace, joy and song . . .I sure hope its not dynamite time soon, but you never know! πŸ™‚ God bless you and the wonderful way He works in you and through you! Praying you have a good week!

  12. God bless you, Sis Caddo Delight! I love the quiet working too, especially when everything else seems so loud and demanding. Thinking of you with love and prayers. Angel Aub flew in her swing for awhile today. πŸ™‚

  13. Amen! Beautifully written, Debbie.
    God Bless You,
    Dei

  14. God bless you, too, dear Lady D! I always love to see what He and you are working on! πŸ™‚

  15. Debbie, I don’t know how you do it every single day! Every poem is clearly an inspired work of the Holy Spirit living in you… Just beautiful–again!

    My temple is sadly never quiet. When there is no noise around me, I create some in my head. It’s jackhammer loud in there. This is a nice gentle reminder… : )

  16. I missed posting Saturday . . .the first time in awhile. πŸ™‚ There might be more no posting days this year too! But I pray it’s not because I’m not spending time with Him, but because He says it’s okay to not write or post at times.
    So thankful that God is right in there too, Linda. He’s not at all afraid of some noise or even jackhammers. He’s doing just what He desires to do in you! Love you!
    God bless you and keep you, lovely Linda, temple of His.

  17. Yay, Swinging!! Next time, ask her if she could swing a little for “auntie”– So much love to you, thank you for prayers. Have a blessed evening, both of you.

  18. She is readying something to send her Auntie! πŸ˜‰ love you!

  19. Intriguing verse. We are being built by a material that is already finished. Jesus has already hammered it out in the quarry.

  20. Oh . . .Mike, that is a great comment and insight. I was also thinking about hammers . . .the hammer that nailed Jesus to the cross outside of the city, away from the temple. You give me lots to think about! Thank you!
    God bless you and yours and all the work being done!

  21. Hi encouraging Debbie,

    A beautiful piece, indeed! God is not through with me yet! He’s working in me, and working some things out of me, that should not be. I thank Him for His attention to even the smallest of details! When God gets through with me, I shall come forth as pure gold! Glory to God! Thank you Deb, as you’re always a blessing to me! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  22. Great minds think alike. πŸ™‚

  23. Oh boy that is a good one. Even when I don’t hear Him He is at work! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I needed this today!

  24. I love that description, praising Paulette . . .that you shall come forth as pure gold. πŸ™‚ Thanking Him with you for His attention to even the smallest details. Your comments tend to send me into a worship time. πŸ™‚ I love that and love you and your heart that He has His way with! God bless you and hug you gently for me today!

  25. I really like what you took away from this too, Pastor J! Thank YOU! When things are quiet and I think that nothing’s going on . . .He still is working! God bless you as you bless us today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

