Large, Costly and Hewn

“And the king commanded them to quarry large stones, costly stones, and hewn stones, to lay the foundation of the temple.”  1 Kings 5:17

Our foundation was lain with the most costly Stone of all.

Thank You, Jesus, for being our precious Cornerstone.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Our Sure Foundation

Solomon planned so carefully
the temple he would build

David’s desire for the Lord’s house
his son would fulfill

just as God’s own Son
builds His temple now in us

the perfectly hewn and established
foundation of  Christ Jesus.

29 Comments

  1. the church’s foundation is built on christ

  2. each stone that fits is a stone hewn by Jesus ❤

  3. A great connection Debbie 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

  4. Living stones set on the Solid Rock foundation. 🙂

  5. Our Chief Cornerstone for us who believe and a rock of stumbling for those who do not.

  6. This is so lovely, Deb–our Cornerstone! (Say it like, “my hero!”–remember the cartoon characters? I think it was “Nell” who would say that when the hero character rescued her!) Sorry, if I’m being too silly on Friday morning–my heart is seriously grateful for Jesus, our Rock. Love and blessings to you this day–keeping you & Aub in prayer, Sis!

  7. Reminds me of a Noel Paul Stookey (Paul from Peter, Paul and Mary) song:
    The building block that was rejected
    Became the cornerstone of a whole new world

    When I am down and unsuspected
    With a burden that does not show
    I think what time has resurrected
    And how the sun can make the water flow

    There is a man who has collected all the sorrow in our eyes
    He gives us love as God directed but is seldom recognize

    I love the imagery of Jesus as our cornerstone in your poem, Deb.
    thank you,
    Debbie

  8. He is my Rock, my Foundation and my Cornerstone.

    I think of 1 Corinthians 3:10-17 coupled with 2 Corinthians 5:10. It is our responsibility to build on our Foundation, but we are unable to build anything of worth if we build in our own strength, with the wrong motive or for our own glory. It is ONLY as He enables that we are able. Praise God that He does enable and that He is gradually bringing us towards His goal for us – Ephesians 4:13 – the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ (or as the Amplified puts it: nothing less than the standard of Christ’s own perfection) Wow! We won’t achieve it while in this life, but we look forward to the time when He presents us perfect. What a day of rejoicing that will be.

    What an amazing Saviour!
    What an amazing God!
    What an amazing eternity awaits us!

  9. Now is my turn to say “amen” to you, Z! God bless you and that unshakable foundation He’s lain in your life!

  10. How beautiful, faith filled fisherlady! 🙂 Thank you! I couldn’t comment again, but the grace dripping and pouring poem was so touching . . .thank you!
    God bless you and build upon you!

  11. God bless you, Eden! Hope your weekend’s great too!

  12. Oh Heather . .. I love the “living stones” and the Solid Rock comment! 🙂 You’ve got me thinking more about this! God bless you and all that you are in Him!

  13. Great insight and addition here Larry! It makes me think how badly it hurts when I stumble and kick my toe into a chair leg. How much worse the pain of a life that stumbles on the Rock.
    God bless you and keep you and move mountains on your behalf.

  14. I got it, sis Caddo Delight . . .and loved it! Hey, I need some silly about now! 🙂 God bless you and your heart that is set on Him! love and prayers and thanks for you!

  15. Oh gracious Debbie . . .thank you for thinking of that song! Loved it 🙂 God bless you as you head out into parts unconnected . . .yet still connected to us because of Jesus! love and prayers!

  16. Mentor Angela . . .your comments get me so excited for Jesus! 🙂 “It is only as He enables that we are able.” Loved that . .. a look at good enabling.
    God bless you as you rejoice in your Rock of Ages today! Thank you so much for taking the time to pour Him out here in the comments section. You really bless us!

  17. Yes, thanks–always–for more songs for our hearts. And I love that “being connected” thing–through Jesus, and prayer! Amen! Love to my sisters, who hold me up in joy!

  18. Thanks kindly, Dearest Delightful Deb

    I looked at the bricks on a house today. How interesting that I cannot see the foundation, yet those bricks would have fallen had the capstone not been good and solid! We can’t always ‘see’ the way He connects us, but we can rejoice in the truth that our Cornerstone is solid and secure.

    Thanks for another beautiful piece. Praying your feet will always be fully and firmly planted in Him.

    Blessings
    ann

  19. And when we want to cast the first stone aren’t we chipping off the foundation? Ouch! Somebody stoned me 🙂

  20. Love this, especially the emphasis on “hewn” – the carving may be painful, but what an honor to be even a little building block of the kingdom.

  21. Thank you so much for that prayer, Ann full of grace, joy and song (and prayer)! It snowed a little here last night and can be slippery and hard to stand. So glad that with Him we can be sure footed.
    God bless you and the sweet temple you are for Him!

  22. Hi sweet spoon! 🙂 So, so blessed to see your smiling spoon here. And wow, what a comment! I never thought of that . . .you are so wise and wonderful and make us think. God bless you and send you hugs and love today!

  23. Thank you dear poetess of His, for exploring the hewn word. You have me thinking more too, about that word and what it means to be fitted into the Kingdom. God bless you and the building block you are for Him!

  24. The established foundation of the cornerstone makes me feel grounded and sane… that even on the days when I’m falling, the cornerstone is still rock solid and stable. Good encouragement in your poem today… thanks Debbie. ; )

  25. So nice to have Him and His strength and solidness to count on when I’m shaky. God bless you and be your everything today! love and prayers and hugs!

  26. I heart how you mentioned how carefully Solomon arranged the Temple – attention down to the cornerstone – meticulous – careful – with wisdom. And I heart you’ve reminded me what the base of my being is. My twitter profile used to say “God is my air” – I changed little since – the message is the same – but God being my air – that’s kind of like saying he’s my cornerstone – and he is. I just shake my head at all my doubts as I write that – to doubt the cornerstone of my being – I am not me without God. Why do I do that? Oh me of little faith. Anyway, I hearted this – thank you Debbie – God bless you my friend.

  27. God bless you, Craig, whose heart and faith are hewn carefully by your God. I love that “God is my air”. Praying to live out that reality more and more. Thank you so much for being here. Thinking of you and praying too!

  28. It’s me again, encouraging Debbie. 🙂 I just finished reading “No Hammer Heard, ” which was just wonderful! Then I read this poem, and I simply shook my head, LOL! I truly enjoyed this message, and how the Lord moved through you to write it. Thanks for being such a blessing to me!

    Paulette

  29. God bless you, praising Paulette! You are such a beautiful work of His and always share of that solid Jesus foundation with us! God bless you as you worship and praise Him today!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

