Largeness Of Heart

“And God gave Solomon wisdom and exceedingly great understanding, and largeness of heart like the sand on the seashore.”  1 Kings 4:29

This sounds like a heart condition that I wouldn’t mind having. 🙂

Oh Lord, please grow my heart for You and others today.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

A Heart That Grows

A heart that beats with mercy
and flows with His grace

that doesn’t shrink or pull back
from what it’s asked to face

one that grows in love
toward God and others each day

a heart that outweighs my fears
is what I ask and pray.

26 Comments

  1. “a heart that outweighs my fears” – such a tender, graceful request for His strength and courage, beautiful to His ears! May we all be so wise to request the wisdom we lack….bless you today, dear Deb.

  2. Great poem, Debbie – great prayer too! Solomon asked for wisdom and he got it. God knows you delight yourself in Him, so your prayer is answered too … Psaim 37:4. Bless you.

  3. A heart that grows…
    Yes, we all need to pray for big heartedness.

  4. That is the kind of heart I need. This is such a beautiful poem. Say a little prayer for me.That my heart would be more like that.

    Pray for physical strength,too. have been feeling so achy and exhausted…my legs have been giving me a lot of trouble…tired achy, and sometimes cramping in right calf.

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Amen Debbie! I could sure use a heart like that 🙂 God bless!

  6. “Largeness of heart!” I have never seen that before. I am going to have to think on this one. It’s really good! 🙂

  7. “…one that grows in love
    toward God and others each day…”

    With me lives the real me who knows I don’t love God enough. So this is a constant prayer of mine.

  8. Oh, this is so lovely, Sis! I pray today that my big heart will be less about me and more about Him, and others! Praying that your day will be abundantly blessed, as you serve and nurture from a heart full of His Holy Spirit. love you, xxxooo

  9. Your comments become like the beautiful poems you write, His poetess planaquarium! 🙂 God bless you too, and that heart of yours that is full of Him.

  10. “your prayer is answered too” . . .I just love that, Roger. Thank you! You are a huge faith booster. God bless you and all that He asks you to lean your heart into today!

  11. God bless you, Eric, and your writing! I don’t think I’ve ever heard big-heartedness bad mouthed. 🙂 Praying with you . . .and thanks for stopping by!

  12. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word and largeness of heart. 🙂 I read this before heading out this morning, so have been praying for you while I cleaned today. Thank you so much for letting me know, for allowing me the privilege of doing that. I’ll not get much computer time for a few days, but will get lots of prayer time, so will keep praying for you, sweet friend.
    love you!

  13. Me too! The Grinch came to mind, for some reason, when his heart grew 2 sizes larger that day. 🙂 God bless you as He fills your heart today!

  14. God bless you, Pastor J! Ya, I thought spell check would spit largeness back out at me, but it didn’t. 🙂 I’ve been thinking about it too, and all the things someone with a large heart can do.

  15. Larry, I hear you. He once asked me if I loved Him. That got my attention. It was during a worship song, no less!
    God bless you as you pray and He answers!

  16. Sis Caddo Delight, thank you for your prayers today! He answered them and it all has gone well so far! 🙂 God bless you and your big heart that embraces others in His love! love and prayers!

  17. Love that translation Debbie – largeness of heart is definately one of my prayers. The last few years have been good for teaching me He can always enlarge the capacity of our hearts – just not always that comfortable as they are stretched :)Bless you x

  18. Beautiful poem! Lord, please grow my heart for YOU! Thank you, encouraging Debbie! 🙂 God bless!

    Paulette

  19. I prayed on Thursday, although it’s now Friday. You were close in my heart yesterday. 😀
    You, dear sister, have such a pure, kind heart. How fitting that you would write about desiring that it continues to grow in grace and mercy. It seems that those with the biggest hearts are the ones that desire an even larger one. That’s certainly true of you!
    Your heart friend,
    Debbie

  20. Debbie I cannot say anything. You have said it all. This should be the constant prayer of each one of us. Thank you for putting it so powerfully.

  21. 🙂 “just not always that comfortable as they are stretched.” I felt that one, Aimee! Maybe I need to pray for a soft heart too, one that’s pliable, so when it stretches larger it doesn’t hurt so much.
    God bless you and all the ways He is growing your love and your heart. . .. and then touching us with it!

  22. God bless you, praise and worshiping Paulette, and your heart that’s big on loving Him! love and prayers for your weekend!

  23. Dear gracious heart friend . . .feeling like I don’t deserve you or that wonderful comment. Thank you Debbie, for your heart that reached out to me and just accepted and held and lifted me up. 🙂 You not only have a big heart, but a strong one.
    I was so so blessed yesterday by all the prayer! Thank you! I want you to be encouraged knowing that He listens and answered your prayers. It was a very long day, but one filled with His peace and grace and covering! Amazing.
    God bless you, Debbie, as you live large hearted for Him!

  24. Thank you for a life that reflects the big heart of a big God! God bless you and your heart for Him, mentor Angela!

  25. Your heart is soooo big Deb — it’s showing!

    Thank you Lord for the blessing of Deb’s big heart — had it not grow it wouldn’t have touched me and so many more 🙂

  26. Sweet Spoon, you bless me and make me smile! I’m afraid the rest of my body is trying to grow bigger . . .I must have miscommunicated! 🙂 God bless you and your sweet ones. love and hugs!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

