Received As Angels

“And my trial which was in my flesh you did not despise or reject, but you received me as an angel of God, even as Christ Jesus.”  Galatians 4:14

I am continuously amazed by those under going trials, yet bearing such an intense praise and worship for Jesus.

Thank You, Lord, for Your angels who despite trials in their flesh, minister to us in Your name so beautifully.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Suffering Saints

While bodies undergo
pain and distress
minds and hearts focus
on their beloved Jesus
ministering to us
in Your Holy name
suffering saints
bringing You glory and fame.

17 Comments

  1. Amen..I will remember this when I catch myself complaining about a common cold. What a minor ache compared to the suffering of our Lord, and what a privilege it should be to suffer for Him!

  2. It’s so true. I am privileged to know some individuals who demonstrate this type of faith and praise despite their hardships. Debbie, what state do you live in?

  3. Thank you, Deb

    My devotional this morning spoke of the aches and pains of growing old and how to face them in Christ… there is an expectation that the body will break down as a result of aging. Aches and pains are a whole different matter when they come as a result of suffering for His sake.

    May we truly focus on Him in the midst of our sufferings …

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. “Fox’s Book of Martyrs” contains amazing testimonies of Christians who praised God during unbelievable suffering. Some were burnt at the stake, with fingers melting off into the fire, and yet they sang hymns at the top of their lungs until they died. Others had fingers and toes chopped off, joint by joint, and still praised God until the end.

    Now, we may never suffer such fates ourselves, but I believe we can prepare ourselves, just in case, by learning how to be thankful and praise God in all of our circumstances. It’s not that our circumstances deserve praise, but rather our God who has saved us, deserves praise at all times.

  5. I love your simple poems, Deb–they’re perfect lovely bits, like angel kisses. My take is slightly different than the gentleman above–in that I do praise God for the circumstances which cause me to draw nearer to Him, that force me to be aggressive in my faith, and not passive. I AM praising HIM–no question–but I’m not ungrateful for the circumstances. Love to all, in Him–CV

  6. God bless you and keep you, sweet poet planaquarium. You are a steady praise and witness of His grace and love. 🙂 Thank you!

  7. I know some individuals like that too, Tammy, and it really humbles me and teaches me. I’m in the middle of Illinois. 🙂

  8. I think that was a wise devotion. Those old age aches and pains can sneak up on you and we don’t want to finish out our lives here moaning and complaining! Then I meet people who live with chronic pain or are going through something incredibly emotionally painful and yet praise Him and live for Him. Not to mention those persecuted for their faith. These are people who can teach me a lot. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song as you are a blessing to others in the middle of trials.

  9. Such an important lesson Larry, that God deserves praise always. 🙂 Thank you! There was something too about that not despising or rejecting someone who is suffering, but receiving them as from God. Sometimes we look down on someone instead of seeing God in them. God bless you, Larry, and the way He will use you and your praise of Him.

  10. Sis Caddo Delight , leave it to you to think of angel kisses! 🙂 You are one of those angels of His . . .thank you for that. God bless you and your faith and praise which just doesn’t stop. love and prayers!

  11. I have to admit that nothing strengthens my faith like when things are going my way. When I’m suffering, it’s harder to pray if the situation seems hopeless. (Husband with hip replacement surgery.)

    The good news is that when I do feel God’s blessings in a glorious and powerful way (like today!) the energy I have to pray for others is literally boundless… and your name comes up alot. Hugs… : )

  12. Just want you to know I’m praying for you and your husband. I agree that I feel more energetic in times of blessing–it’s just that the times of struggle act as a whetstone for me, keeping a sharp “edge” on my faith, dependence and communication with God. May He bless you abundantly this day, sister.

  13. I agree, lovely Linda! Those times of energy to pray for others are precious and so needed. Like a power boost! 🙂 God bless you and thank you for praying for me.
    And thank you Sis Caddo for sharing how God uses the struggle times for you! You bless us!

  14. More words of wisdom. Thank you.
    While we might not feel like praising God at times, especially when undergoing pain and/or problems, we know that when we do, the pain lessens. Praise is a wonderful remedy or at least a supplier of comfort and peace.

    We cannot welcome problems but we know that when we look back at previous times of trials, we can be thankful for them, because we can see that the Lord used them to “grow” us and we are better for having endured them. Truly, a loving Father, knowing what is best for His own.

  15. Some that have painful trials in their lives may never know how much God uses them. I love your faith and trust in God, mentor Angela. God bless you and your thankful heart that praises Him.
    love and prayers!

  16. Darling Deb,
    Sister Caddo said it best: “Angel Kisses”
    I love that–and I am feeling the kisses as I visit your wonderful blog.
    Blessings and love from your bumbling bee!

  17. God bless you and shower you with His love today, our beautiful Bee! I’m thinking of an old Amy Grant song . ..Angels Watching Over Me. You are one of those angels watching over me . So blessed! love you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

