Seeming To Be Something

“But from those who seemed to be something – whatever they were, it makes no difference to me; God shows personal favoritism to no man – for those who seemed to be something added nothing to me.”  Galatians 2:6

I’ve found that whenever I’ve seemed to be something, I’m the one who gets added to.

Lord, may all I seek to add to someone’s life be “yes” and “amen” to what You have placed there.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

A Math Problem

What can we add
to someone in Christ

someone blood bought
Spirit-filled, justified

someone sold out
in love with their King

not one itty
bitty thing.

26 Comments

  1. amen

  2. So true Deb! The only thing we have to add to one another is what Christ gives us. Anything from our flesh can never add to the great thing HE is building in us!

  3. Amen, echo.

    Thanks Deb. Of myself, I am absolutely nothing … that’s what I can add, that’s what I can take away.

    “Lord, may all I seek to add to someone’s life be “yes” and “amen” to what You have placed there”
    May it be so, Lord Jesus.

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. Praise be to our awesome God… He is so worthy…
    there was a post by Katie today and I scrolled down to the one before Christmas on fostering and why would she take ‘another’ child… so precious to see God at work… a great read…
    http://kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com/

  5. I’ve noticed when I seem to be somebody, God comes to me with an ax in hand and chops me back down to what I should be content to be: just a man who loves Jesus.

  6. Another good word! I’m glad Jesus came to solve math problems too! Love from itty bitty me~~

  7. Big smile. Thanks. Mosk

  8. Humility is not a “natural” human tendency, I think. Far too often, I’ve felt the Spirit’s disapproval of arrogance in my heart when my efforts at communication turn toward self-promotion.

    Thank you for the reminder that the Lord uses whom He will and I need to look for ways to support others instead of build up myself.

  9. God bless you Z, and all you are in Him! 🙂

  10. Thank you Pastor J for your comment, that touches on the fact that others do share things with us, add to us in a good way. 🙂 I feel added to each day I read the comments here. And while I have you here, thank you for your latest FLACT post! I have begun . . . 🙂
    God bless you and all He is building in you!

  11. Jesus in you adds much to me, Ann full of His grace, joy and song. And I’m so thankful. And I say YES to all He is in you!
    God bless you and be with you in powerful confirming ways today!

  12. Dear faith-filled and heart spilling over fisherlady . . .I read at Katie’s. That is the most beautiful thing. Thank you for sharing it and sharing you. He blesses through you mightily . . .
    God bless you and all the love He keeps adding to you!

  13. “just a man who loves Jesus” adds much to this world. 🙂 Thank you for being you, Larry, and for teaching me more about Him. God bless you and what He adds to you each day.

  14. Well, sis Caddo Delight . . .I can tell you that you add Jesus joy to my life! 🙂 Just as He planned. And smiles, lots of smiles!
    God bless you, every last itty bitty bit! love and prayers!

  15. God bless you, poet friend, and all He is doing in you and through you!

  16. Heather, I get that check too, when wanting to say something . . .and maybe sound like I know something . . .when maybe all I know is Christ and Him crucified. 🙂 I think you are doing a beautiful job of supporting others and letting Him add Light to this world.
    God bless you and hug you today! 🙂

  17. Debbie I love that God has placed the same scriptures on our hearts and that we have both drawn out different treasures! I was so challenged reading this that whatever status, authority, position etc. that we might appear to have it really means nothing unless we are enriching the lives of those around us. Particulalry challenging as a Mum of young ones to stop and pause what am I adding of value in this season. Bless you x

  18. um… You could add encouragement. And teaching. And compassion. And those are just some of your gifts that have blessed me.

    I’m “in love with my King,” but the love of a sister goes a long way too. Hugs to you, Debbie. ; ) Praying for you and yours…

  19. Aimee, my heart gladdened when you wrote that you were going to be doing Galatians. 🙂 ( I have to go read you!) I was hoping for some help. haha! The treasure you took away is perfect. It reminds me of that saying about “no one cares how much you know, until they know you much you care”. And yes, being a parent and having little blank slates to write on . . .to add to . . .is challenging. So thankful that He is in this with us!!!
    God bless you and the value of knowing Jesus that you add to each relationship! love you!

  20. Oh lovely Linda. . .now you are going to make me blubber. Thank you so much for coming alongside me, for being the lifter of my arms when they get heavy, for keeping me honest and real with my Jesus and my sisters and brothers. 🙂 What God adds to this world through you is priceless. God bless you and hug you for me today!

  21. Amen, encouraging Debbie!

    Wonderful poem, with an awesome message! May I ever decrease, that the Lord might increase in my life. I never want to think more highly of myself than I ought to. I want only that the Jesus in me, would pour into another vessel, for I am absolutely nothing without Him! May the Lord bless you and keep you today!

  22. Praising Paulette . . .you are a perfect example of that pouring out of Him in you into others. 🙂 Thank you for that! and God bless you and be your constant filler-upper today! love and prayers!

  23. “What can we add . . .”
    True. We can add nothing to the person who has been re-created by Christ. Only Christ changes us and makes us what we are.

    On the other hand, we can sow seeds of love, encouragement, challenge, inspiration etc etc which the Lord can use to “grow” other people.

    The Lord uses your “simple poems” to bring blessings and challenges to your readers. Thank you for adding to my growth.

  24. I love the things you listed that we can add, mentor Angela . .. those seeds. May we always be sowing! I kind of think its the other way around about you adding to me and my growth! 🙂
    God bless you and all He does in and through you for others today!

  25. I love this…and you!!
    🙂

  26. Bee, you’ve been busy today! God bless you and your friendship that He has added to my life. What a blessing you are! love and prayers for you a good weekend! 🙂


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

