They Glorified God

“But they were hearing only, ‘He who formerly persecuted us now preaches the faith which he once tried to destroy’.”
“And they glorified God in me.”  Galatians 1:23-24

Those in Christ glorified God.  They knew Paul didn’t change by going to the gym and reading the latest self-help book.

Lord, we thank, praise, worship and glorify You, the One who makes all the difference in our lives.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Re-done

I check the mirror
because I don’t feel the same

You’ve brought about in me
an everlasting change

my heart, mind and soul
taken apart and re-done

all for the glory
of Christ the Risen Son.

I was thinking if any of you have a link you could share to your salvation story and wouldn’t mind sharing it here in the comments, it would be wonderful . . .and God glorifying. 🙂  Or, just share your story in the comments, that would work too! Thank you!

34 Comments

  1. Wonderful idea…let’s just say I met Him first as a child and took His hand, then tried to take it back later in life. Thankfully, He held true to His promise to never let me go! I’m so grateful He’s never forsaken me, even when I’ve (regrettably) turned my back on Him.

  2. That is a beautiful example of just how Jesus is . . .He never lets go! God bless you, planaquarium, for how you glorify Him with your life and through what you write!

  3. http://thefisherlady.blogspot.com/2012/01/my-favourite-thingsnew-beginnings.html

    I’ve posted a wonderful testimony to new beginnings in Him..

  4. Hi Debbie,I totally enjoyed your poem “You’ve brought about in me
    an everlasting change”!! Yes indeed Jesus has done this in me “Hallelujah”!!
    Love you Debbie and do have a good evening. 😀

  5. It is Jesus who makes the difference!

    They knew Paul didn’t change by going to the gym and reading the latest self-help book.

    This statement echoes loudly some of the things I’ve been thinking, lately. While physical exercise is of some benefit, and there are are some decent helps available on how to be more organized, less introverted, more frugal, less gluttonous etc, these things can only become a form of legalistic religion when the strength to make necessary change is self-derived.

    I have neither a link nor the time to give a detailed account of my history. But I can try to give a snapshot:
    As I’ve been a professing Christian for approximately 30 years, there have been many ups and downs on my end regarding emotion and obedience. Much of my life has been spent focusing on maintaining my external physical and religious appearance; and the past few years have been very difficult as various wrong attitudes, idols and areas of indifference have been exposed.

    I am grateful the Lord is faithful, patient and forgiving.

  6. Like Paul, I met Jesus in a Damascus Road-like setting: my bathroom.

    https://larrywho.wordpress.com/testimony/

  7. Sis, this is SO GOOD! “Re-done”–yep, that’s what our Lord is So good at! And I love these comments–so humble! I so love the reminder that our efforts can become legalistic, and “works” oriented. Better to just keep looking to HIM, having confidence and joy that He is changing us from Glory to Glory. Love to all, CV

  8. Thank you so much faith-filled fisherlady! God bless you for sharing your link and glorifying Him! Going to check it out now!

  9. Precious Pat, celebrating that change with you today! God bless you as you continue to praise Him, no matter what.
    love and prayers!

  10. Oh Heather, I’m so grateful too! There is always more with God, isn’t there? I came from drug and alcohol abuse and suicide attempts to an exercise class with a Christian instructor who introduced me to Jesus and invited me to church. 🙂 These are now the best years of my life. God bless you and love on you today!

  11. I totally love your testimony Larry! So powerful, like Him in your life. Thank you for sharing it here!!! God bless you . . .and your sense of humor! 🙂

  12. I feel re-done . . .and boy did I need it! 🙂 Such a mess. Now I may still be a mess, but a joyful one! I love that, being changed from glory to glory, sweet sis Caddo Delight! God bless you as you look to Him for your everything! love and prayers!

  13. Debbie I came back as we some times do and I have also enjoyed others comments,I use to wonder why follow comments.But there is a lot of wisdom in comments!
    Love ya and have a good night. 😀

  14. The Lord gives us a new heart mind and soul. That is a wonderful thing. Even though they will reside in an earthen vessel of flesh it still a wonderful thing, because eternal life is eternal…incorruptible! 🙂

  15. Deb, I just nominated you for two blogging awards. You can check it out and collect your awards here: http://lindakruschke.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/receiving-and-giving/
    Peace, Linda

  16. I do that too, Pat! And the comments always help me. I’m so blessed that people take the time to do that. 🙂 Sweet people like you!!! God bless you and you have a good night too, resting in His arms. love you!

  17. Those are things that we just can’t change or get on our own. And He makes forever changes . . .eternal changes. My little brain can’t even imagine all of that! 🙂 God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word and send you much love tonight!

  18. Thank you beautiful Linda! Congratulation on your awards and prayers for you to feel better. 😦 I don’t like that you’ve been feeling bad for so long. God bless you and heal you.

  19. My story is a little rough to put in a nice place like this. But it was most assuredly the high point of my life, so happy to know faith and God’s grace for the first time.

    “You’ve brought about in me an everlasting change.” Some days I still can’t believe it… : )

  20. I was 21 and just had a baby and thought what on earth am I suppose to do with this! 🙂 So I went to church!
    Great post! God Bless You!

  21. Some days it takes my breath away yet, that I am still here, that He has changed so much in me and keeps working on me each day. 🙂 God bless you and your story that glorifies Him! love and prayers!

  22. I was 27 and pregnant! He uses those babies, doesn’t He? 🙂 God bless you, dear Lady D, and thank you for sharing your story for His glory! love you!

  23. Deb I love this post, I have missed reading regularly while I’ve been on holiday! And I love reading what God has done in people’s lives. I used to think I didn’t really have a testimony because I have loved Jesus since I was a little girl. Now I realise it is a testimony – a testimony of faithful parents, and a testimony of His grace in my life keeping me from the very beginning. Isn’t God good that whether we encounter Him at the beginning, middle or end He never gives up and He never lets go! Bless you x

  24. I tried to comment on your post but couldn’t get it to work so returning here to say your poem was so beautiful. I loved the reminder that it is His beauty that holds us up, and will be praying for Danielle. Bless you fisherlady!

  25. Oh dear Aimee, how I loved your testimony, your story, and the realization that you had one . . .that we all do! I, too, am so thankful that we can encounter Him at any time, and it’s the right time, for Him to go to work in us and for us!
    God bless you and your love of Him! love and prayers!

  26. Faith-filled fisherlady . . .I couldn’t leave a comment there either, when I tried, so echo Aimee’s comment here! Thank you for sharing that with us!

  27. Hi encouraging Debbie,

    “Oh what a great change has been wrought in my life, all because of Jesus Christ! I’ve been changed from the inside out! I am not the same, without a doubt! God has been so good to me. He sent His Son to die on that cross, when it should’ve been me, because I was so lost! He took my place suffering vicariously. Oh what a wonderful change has been wrought in me!”

    I enjoyed your poem, as I always do. However, this one stirred something in my soul. Thank you so much encouraging Debbie!

    Paulette

  28. “…an everlasting change.” Oh yes, my Deb, He changed me forever! This is a wonderful post, and I would like to share a story about my salvation:
    http://beegraziani.wordpress.com/about/
    Praise God for your beautiful poems!
    love from your bee

  29. I think it stirred up some worship time! Thank you, Paulette, for your testimony that you live out each day, praising and worshiping God and all that He has done and is doing for you. He shows us His wonders in you. love and prayers!

  30. Oh beautiful Bee . . .thank you, thank you, thank you for leaving your salvation story here for us all! You have a powerful testimony and story that glorifies Him big time!!! I am so thankful for it and for you. God bless you and all He has done, that you may be His eternally. love you bunches and am thinking of you!

  31. “Re-done . . . an everlasting change”
    So true!
    The Word tells us that when we are “in Christ” we are a NEW CREATION; old things have gone and all things are new.

    That was so very true in my life. I was completely changed. No, I didn’t suddenly become perfect – far from it – but I was a different (a new) person.

    I had a very dramatic conversion experience, far too long to recount here, but it is recorded in a few chapter blogs under “my life story” on my blog. The actual conversion is recorded in part 6 “Ghosts, demons and evil spirits”

    Now, nearly 54 years later, I testify to the REALITY of that experience. My loving Father continues His work in me and I praise Him for all He has done.

    What an amazing Saviour!
    What an awesome Father God!

  32. I was thinking of you in this, mentor Angela, knowing you had such a powerful conversion experience. Thank you so so much for letting us know where to find it at your blog! What a blessing and an encouragement you are. love and prayers!

  33. I’ve seen you around Blogshere! I think you may be the OTHER OTHER Deb. Are we following each other. How many Debs of such COOLNESS can there be? xoxox melis

  34. I’m laughing . .. I don’t know which deb I am! haha! Thinking probably the not so cool one though. haha! I saw you at TMG, the cool Debbie place. 🙂 And . . .you left such a reply to my comment I about cried. Thank you and no pressure to follow and read here, okay? I just wanted to hug you so did so the only way I knew how . . .a comment and subscription to your blog. love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

