Year After Year

“Now there was a famine in the days of David for three years, year after year; and David inquired of the Lord.  And the Lord answered, ‘It is because of Saul and his bloodthirsty house, because he killed the Gibeonites’.”  2 Samuel 21:1

Year after year . . .then David inquired.

Oh Lord, what is there on going in my life that You want me to inquire about?  And here is a simple poem . . .

Just Asking

Year after year
time upon time
until I believe
it’s simply mine.

Now I’m asking
and I need to know,
“Is there a way, Lord,
to make it go?”

14 Comments

  1. May we all ask God about everything! 🙂 Blessings on your day Debbie!

  2. Thank you, Deb

    God has spoken directly to me through your words this morning. My heart overflows with gratitude.

    I choose to believe that He will give me that lot that is due to me, and that He is able to remove whatever does not belong. How great is our God!

    Blessings
    ann

  3. “…Now I’m asking
    and I need to know,
    “Is there a way, Lord,
    to make it go?”

    Asking a question like this may mean hearing an answer that you or others may not like very much. In King David’s and Israel’s case, the Lord’s answer required an extreme action on David’s part, but still he was determined to do it.

    Hopefully, we will do the same.

  4. My Deb,
    I’m agreeing with Larry…if I inquire of the Lord, maybe I’m a little afraid of what the answer will be.
    You have given me something to think about today, that’s for sure!
    Blessings your way…
    your bee

  5. Oh Lord, what is there on going in my life that You want me to inquire about?

    A profound question.

    Brings to mind our Lord’s promise: “Ask and it shall be given…”

    And, on the other side, I’m hearing James’ admonishment that we often have because we ask not…or because we ask with wrong motives.

    Thank you for the encouragement to not only ask, but to do so with a heart that is in line with the will of the Father.

  6. Thank you sister Ann for this word–I too will choose to believe He will give me what is due me, and remove what does not belong. This is so personal today–I so appreciate you, thank you! God richly bless your day!

  7. I was about to comment. Than I read this wisdom from Heather which expressed so well what I was thinking, so I’ll just add my “Amen”

  8. That is an excellent practice, Eden. 🙂 God bless you and everything you and He talk about today.

  9. Thank you Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song and sis Caddo Delight. I love the prayer and am praying it now with you both. God bless you and all that He gives and removes in your lives!
    love and prayers!

  10. Thank you, Larry. I understand, even though when I write these, I don’t always grasp the full affect of what I’m praying. As I considered it, I thought that I would rather know and do what’s required. Praying its not as extreme as David’s was. !
    God bless you as you ask and hear from Him today!

  11. Heather, you are such a blessing here, adding more of His Word and heart. You help me as I pray! Thank you and God bless you and your family.
    Mentor Angela, I am amening with you! God bless you as you ask and do and serve your amazing God! 🙂 Praising Him for you.

  12. We know as we read what the answer was to David, what he had to do in order for things to get better. It was so hard. I’m with you . . .don’t know if I’m that strong, but believing that God will not ask me to do beyond what He will sustain me doing. I’m believing that for you too, beautiful Bee. 🙂 Also remembering other times when I asked what He required of me, what He wanted me to do. His answers were bathed in grace. We can trust Him. 🙂 love and prayers for you and your day with your Jesus!

  13. “I thought that I would rather know…” from your reply to Larry. I’m on the fence with this one, Debbie.

    If the challenges get much harder, I don’t think I could take it. Knowing would only make today’s happy moments less joyful. But who knows… powerful food for thought. Hugs : )

  14. Love you lovely Linda. Love your honesty and real-ness. This simple poem post got not so simple, didn’t it? oops. So here goes some attempt at encouraging you . . .maybe you don’t have an ongoing famine in your life, a year after year thing. You may be doing all He requires you to do and He is working in whatever situation that is on going in your life. Or, you might ask be floored by His love and understanding in what He answers you too. 🙂 This happened to me a few years back and my trust in Him was boosted 10000% . . .maybe more. 🙂
    God bless you and all the answers He has for you. love and prayers for all you do, Linda. He knows the depths of it all.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

