His Words In My Mouth

“For your servant Joab commanded me, and he put all these words in the mouth of your maidservant.”  2 Samuel 14:19

I find myself speaking on my daughter’s behalf when she is having trouble getting her words out.

Lord, thank You for giving me the words to say right when I need to say them.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

All These Words

People can put
words in my mouth
in order to control
what I say

but I really long
for You to reign
over the thoughts
on my tongue
today.

28 Comments

  1. Amen Debbie! Have a lovely day 🙂

  2. The hardest place for God to reign is over our tongues. So, yes, I agree with you.

  3. Oh, this is so lovely–I pray that my words can be a blessing, not a curse. I thank you for your words, Deb, which always speak peace and gentleness and encouragement–and His love. Thank you, and may He richly bless your day!!

  4. Amen Debbie,how very true,oh for God to control our tongue’s.Thank God for being patient with us. Wonderful poem,I enjoyed the read.
    Love you 😀 😀

  5. Oh may He come and control the rudder of our tongues! Good word Deb!

  6. Hi Debbie,
    We can ‘t take back the spoken word so we definitely need God’s help to watch over what we say. Lots of good things come from our tongues as well …praising God and encouraging others .
    I hope you and your family know God’s blessing in 2012. Pam

  7. Here’s a Word for you Sis Debbie: You’ve been nominated for the Candle Lighter Award!!!!! Check out my blog for more info! Yay! and God bless you!!

  8. Amen, Deb. Thanks for sharing.

    I so need Him to reign supreme over all of me, but especially the heart thoughts and the tongue 🙂

    “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

    Blessings,
    ann

  9. God bless you, Eden, and thank you for love pictures and thoughts you give us. It blesses me!

  10. God bless you, Larry, as you let Him reign there today! 🙂

  11. He does richly bless my days . . .with you and all my dear blog friends. You and your blogs all help me submit to Him more and more, so that what is going in, then can come out in words that He has a rein on. I need that!
    God bless you as you bless us, sis Caddo Delight!

  12. Oh precious Pat . . .that is so true, about His patience with us. Thanking Him for that with you tonight! I love that He keeps giving us opportunities to let His words come out of us.
    love and prayers for your days, that you experience less pain and are able to do the things that you enjoy.

  13. I’m always so thankful when He has control over my words. I blow it too many times, if left just up to me. God bless you and all that He is planning to speak through you.

  14. Dear Pam, thank you so much for remembering the good things too! Yes! God bless you and the important work you do, and the words you speak, for good. I’m so glad that you came by as I want to get your book! 🙂 More good words!

  15. You are so sweet, sis Caddo! Thank you! I will check it all out soon! You and faith-filled fisherlady are going to just help me on into this award thing. 🙂 God bless you, lovely one!

  16. Oh yes Ann full of grace, those heart thoughts. That’s where it starts, isn’t it? Thank you sooo much for adding the scripture that sends us to Him with our prayers, for it to be Him putting words in our mouths and His desires in our hearts.
    God bless you and send you much love today! I appreciate you so very much!

  17. thoughts on your tongue today! Lord reign over them! Love it 🙂
    great simple poem… my prayer too!

  18. It kind of goes with Him taking our thoughts captive . . .and please take my tongue with those too! 🙂 God bless you, faith-filled fisherlady, who speaks words of grace and love! Thank you so much for letting Him speak through you!

  19. Oh Deb my words are both my greatest strength and my greatest area of weakness so I especially love this entry and agree wth your prayer that He would reign in my words and give me the fruit of self-control 🙂 in increasing measure this year! Bless you x

  20. Aimee, I’m so blessed that you said that . . .that it can be our greatest strength and our greatest weakness. You wise woman of God you! I would love for that to be true in my life too this year, more of Him reigning and me growing in self control. Can’t go wrong with that! God bless you and the way you minister to us, so full of Him and His words! love and prayers!

  21. Debbie, I really need to re-read this once a day. From you lips to God’s ears… to my lips!! Truly, unique and profound. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/hiatus-but-first-a-little-chi-chi/

  22. This is a lovely poem, Debbie.

    Far too often, I have spoken before considering the consequences of my words or tone. It has become my prayer that the things that come from my lips reflect the Lord’s character and love for others.

  23. God bless you, Amy, and all that He is going to be saying through you this year. 🙂 My words come like a knee jerk reaction sometimes. If I would just wait for Him and His words! love and prayers . . .you weren’t suppose to be on here! You’ve got too much going on right now!

  24. Heather, that can be me too. Speaking too quickly before considering. Thank you so much for showing me that and I’m joining you in that prayer to reflect Him more in my words to others! God bless you and your heart for Him.

  25. A powerful message, encouraging Debbie! We certainly must be careful to guard our gates to the heart and soul, our ears and eyes. For out of our mouths speak the abundance of our hearts!

    Paulette

  26. Proverbs 12:18 says “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”
    Thank you, my Deb, for being one of the wise who brings healing to so many. Loving you!

  27. I think about that, Praising Paulette . . .that my heart might be full of Him. 🙂 God bless you as you use words for His glory and our edification. You are a blessing! God bless you!

  28. Oh Beautiful Bee . . .thank you for adding that Proverb! I had forgotten about that one. I so want to bring healing and not hurt with my words. I mess up and am thankful for forgiveness and another chance to let Him order my words.
    So thankful for you Bee, for your kindness and for your words that bless us and lead us to Him! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

