Before Bathsheba

“Now it came to pass in the spring of the year, at the time when kings go out to battle, that David sent Joab and his servants with him, and all Israel . . .But David remained at Jerusalem.”ย  2 Samuel 11:1

We are deceived into thinking we’re alone.

Lord, may I not lose my awareness of just how close You are.ย  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Still With You

I am within you and with you
I give My Spirit so you know

that I’ll never, ever leave you
this is truth and always so

for when temptation tugs you
in thought or word or deed

you are still in My presence
turn to Me and let Me lead.

Published in: on December 30, 2011 at 8:07 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

16 Comments

  1. Lovely, Deb. And when temptation tugs and we follow, He still never leaves! Grace upon grace!
    Debbie

  2. Thank you for that gracious grace reminder, dear Debbie. ๐Ÿ™‚ Never leaving us means never. So thankful for God with us and for you with us all too! ๐Ÿ™‚ love and prayers for your day!

  3. Debs, thanks for the reminder. I fail Him in this area a lot of times… I forget He said He will never leave us nor forsake us. But, thanks for His grace and reminders (your post being one of them) I am blessed to know He never abandons His children… Love and blessings. Have a blessed New Year’s eve and a great 2012 in which you will marvel and testify of His glory! – Ritas ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you so much, Deb ๐Ÿ™‚
    “Lord, may I not lose my awareness of just how close You are.”
    I so pray!

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. C.S. Lewis said, “There is no neutral ground in the universe; every square inch, every split second, is claimed by God and counter-claimed by Satan.”

    David’s sin with Bathsheba occurred because he opted for what he thought was neutral ground when he stayed in Jerusalem. His lack of fighting cost a child’s life and the eventual overthrow of his government by his rebellious son, Absalom.

    If the Old Testament was written for our instruction, then we need to pay heed to its lessons. The war between the Kingdom of God and the kingdom of darkness is raging at this moment, and we all need to be involved in the battle…or we will suffer just like King David did.

    There is no neutral ground.

  6. Wow. Larry’s remarks were so ominous and humbling I hardly know what to write. “…every square inch, every split second,” quoting C.S. Lewis.

    Life on our planet makes me afraid sometimes. And it isn’t that I question whether God is with me and in me, But, like I was just praying last night, I have so many new jobs to do every day (and the ones that are really hard I do to glorify Him) that while I’m doing one task, setting up the next, loading the dishwasher, double checking a loved one’s medications, cleaning-scrubbing-washing-rinsing, I SIMPLY FORGET ABOUT GOD.

    It was a terrible thought. I confessed it, asked Him to please make me aware, with gratitude, that He is right beside me helping with the hard jobs, too. And it’s so true. i’m so blessed to be able to care for my injured husband, and today I am still thanking Him for that.

    God bless you, Debbie. I always wonder what’s going on at your house that brings such good wisdom to mind. Hugs… : )

  7. Yes, these certainly are excellent lovely reminders about His Grace. “Never means Never”–I second that, dear sister Debbie!! (Both of you–my lovely Debbie sisters!)

  8. So thankful for you, for Him with you and in you, and the grace that brings here and wherever you are and wherever you go. Thank you for your prayers that strengthen me. God bless you and your witness for Jesus in this coming year!
    love and prayers, my Ritas!

  9. God bless you, dear Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song . . .full of Him. Thanking Him for being close to you tonight and all of your tomorrows.

  10. “He opted for neutral ground.” This stopped me Larry. Thank you so much for being here and adding what He knows we need to hear. Praying that I don’t opt for the neutral ground in these posts either.
    God bless you as you battle on in Jesus.

  11. I know exactly what you mean about Larry’s comment. wowsers. And lovely Linda . . .I too can simply forget in the midst of the work that we do. You inspire me so much with what you do each day and how you do it for His glory. There is an immense wisdom and witness from Him shining through you!
    love and prayers!

  12. Sis Caddo . . .have you met Debbie before? You would love her two minutes of grace! ๐Ÿ™‚ So many sisters to bless and be blessed by. What fun! Who’d have thunk it . . .me the only girl in a family of brothers. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. if we are walking in fellowship with Him this is just a big hug and we rejoice… If we are in the garden with Adam and Eve when the serpent came on the scene and we caved then it is time to hide as they did…. I never want to be ashamed of His presence with me… He is the Light of my life, my Hope of Salvation, my joy, my strength, my high tower to run into and be safe… my everything… I am ever grateful that He is ever near.

    loved you poem

  14. Yes, I just recently met the other sister Debbie, of 2 Minutes of Grace–through your blog here, I think (am I just old, or what? these wonderful folks and their blogs seem to blur together for me–I feel ashamed to say it, as it sounds quite unflattering, and I don’t mean it to be! I’ve been trying every way I know–writing the names on paper, bookmarking the blogs–I feel hopeless, but maybe I’m just tired). Anyhow, I was over at her blog, commenting the other day–I love the concept of “2 minutes of grace”! What a lifesaver, or day-saver that can be, right?

    I love you both–truly, dearly!! God bless you, as I wander around in a fog!

  15. Thank you for the wonderful way you share about Jesus, our faith-filled fisherlady. I know that comes from a close relationship with Him, one that feels His presence and keeps turned to Him. God bless you and yours, as you abide in Him and the joy that brings!
    love and prayers for your new year with Him!

  16. Oh, no shame in that, sweet Sis. You just try to be everywhere, reading everyone . . .like you do with your baking and cooking and taking and sharing. You bless us and are a delight! Now, get some rest in His grace. love you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

