Desiring For God

“See now, I dwell in a house of cedar, but the ark of God dwells inside  tent curtains.”  2 Samuel 7:2  (David speaking)

“Also the Lord tells you that He will make you a house.”  2 Samuel 7:11 (Nathan speaking)

What David desired to do for God, God multiplied to infinity back to him.

Lord, may the desires of my heart always be about You. And here’s a simple poem  . . .

A Forever House

David loved the Lord
and wanted to build Him a house
but God said no.

He knew David
the desire of his heart
and it pleased Him so

that He promised David
an heir forever, a house
that would always reign.

Did David know then
by the Holy Spirit
that Jesus Christ was His  name?

Published in: on December 23, 2011 at 6:51 am  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

18 Comments

  1. Oh wow–I stayed up just long enough to be first in line to comment!! This is great, Deb–I love the concept of a Forever House. Just think about that mansion we’re going to share–wanna be roomies? See you tomorrow–xxxooo

  2. You make me smile, Sis Caddo Delight . .. you are here first and often last! What a sweetie! We can definitely be roomies. You got skills! 😉 God bless you and your heart that desires Him and more of Him.

  3. Hey, I know I’m supposed to be in bed, but I was wondering if you could help me on a Bible question:

    This morning I woke up with the phrase “Shekina Glory” on my lips–I don’t know why, although I’d heard it in a church I used to go to years ago. I couldn’t even figure out how to spell it, so was having trouble locating it in my Bible dictionary and the concordance. Almost gave up till I remembered Google–so that’s where I got the spelling. But I don’t have time to read all the stuff there & don’t even know if it’s “legit”.

    Do you know much about this Shekina Glory? If so, I’d love a little Bible lesson here! (No Rush) I’m sure there’s a reason the Holy Spirit had the words in my mouth upon waking…but what?? Love to you Sis

  4. I will have to look it up too. teehee! For some reason it comes to mind with the celebration of Lights, Hanuka. I will see what I can find out and maybe someone who reads can help too! Sleep tight!

  5. What I just read said the presence of God in the temple at Jerusalem. Helpful?

  6. Dearest Deb – I don’t know if David knew His name, but I’m pretty sure he knew His heart. 😀
    Debbie

    This is a little wordy but here’s one answer:
    1: Shekinah (shachan, to reside). The glory of the Divine Presence in the shape of a cloud of fire, which rested on the mercy-seat between the Cherubim.
    2: Shekinah or Shechinah is not a biblical word. It was first mentioned in the Jerusalem Targum. The Sheckinah was not supposed to dwell in the Second Temple. Responses were given either by the Urim and Thummim of the high priest, by prophets, or orally. (See Deut. iii. 24; and Luke xvi. 2.). Source: Brewer’s Dictionary.

  7. Wonderful thought Debbbie 🙂 Have a super blessed day!

  8. Isn’t it amazing that now we are the temples of the Holy Ghost? God’s plan was so much bigger than David knew!

  9. David and Nathan died without ever seeing the promises coming to pass in their lifetimes. And yet, they believed in them with all their hearts.

    Now, that takes faith.

  10. Dear Debbie, I’m pretty sure David knew His heart too! 🙂 and thank you so much for helping with Caddo’s Shechinah question. You are an blog angel. God bless you and your desires for Him!

  11. God bless you, super Eden, and the click of your camera. 😉 Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  12. I love that, Pastor J! Way beyond what we are able to think, He does. God bless you and His big plan for you! 🙂

  13. Oh yes that does take faith . . .the kind I want to have and share with others! God bless you Larry, and yours, with what comes to pass now and in the future.

  14. What a powerful piece… again! I am so full of hope as I finish reading this poem. “God knows the desires of our/David’s heart,” reminds me that I don’t have to be perfect in the eyes of the world, I just have to love Him more than anything. A nice prayer to sleep by… ; )

  15. Well, I think your comment is better than my post. You have lifted me again with “I don’t have to be perfect in the eyes of the world, I just have to love Him more than anything.” Oh I love that. Thank you! God bless you and sweet dreams, lovely Linda!

  16. Thank you both for taking time & love for such a thoughtful answer! That it’s not a Biblical word, explains why I couldn’t find it in by Bible Dictionary, or my Bible–I thought I was just a dweeb at Hebrew spelling!

    So, maybe it wasn’t “spiritually” relevant that I woke up saying it–it could have just been a stray memory from that church I went to ages ago. But I guess it proves my heart, that I was determined to find some “holy” reason behind the whole deal!

    I so need to go to bed, girls–I love you sisters, dearly! God bless your rest, as well!

  17. is it possible that david had thought it referred to solomon?

  18. Thank you, zzzisle! That makes sense to me! I was just taking liberties, thinking beyond Solomon, to Jesus. 🙂
    God bless you and have a Merry Christmas!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

