Last To Be Blessed

“Then David offered burnt offerings and peace offerings before the Lord.”  2 Samuel 6:17
“And when David had finished offering burnt offerings and peace offerings, he blessed the people in the name of the Lord of hosts.”  2 Samuel 6:18
“Then David returned to bless his household.”  2 Samuel 6:20

It can be challenging as those of the household, last to be blessed.

Oh Lord, let our homes be safe places of mercy and grace, understanding and love.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

In Line With Him

We struggle feeling unnoticed
unthought of, unmissed

at the very bottom of
a loved one’s list

but in God’s Kingdom
we are so blessed as His

that there is love and understanding
to cover such as this.

27 Comments

  1. “Oh Lord, let our homes be safe places of mercy and grace, understanding and love.”

    Oh the blessing of Psalm 34:4-7. The way things are shaping up for 2012, Debbie, there’s every chance the Lord will send someone to experience the safe place of mercy and grace etc that’s present in your home and they’re going to want that for theirs. Bless you all.

  2. In Kingdom of God dynamics, we bless God and others before ourselves and thus reap the rewards of being His child. The last shall be first.

  3. This is a great word, Sis–I could be here all day, replying to it but I’ll echo the two comments above. “Kingdom of God Dynamics” is well worth holding to–if people realized how Quickly God’s blessings often arrive, they’d be running to get first in line to be His servants.

    I also love the words about God blessing our homes to be a place of mercy and grace, & safety. Just this week, one of my neighbors was locked out of his apt–he didn’t have his phone with him to call the management to come with a master key. So he asked me to make the call, which I did. Although I had a busy day planned (at home), I assumed management would arrive within 30 min, so I invited Chris in–he didn’t have a jacket either, and it’s cold!

    This is the short version of the story: after making several more calls, I was told it would be after 3pm before anyone would arrive with the key. I was surprisingly calm–normally, any change in “My Plan” for the day, makes me aggravated, cranky. I surely wasn’t upset with Chris for forgetting his key–it’s happened to me a few times, too. And I Was irritated with management–but apparently the Holy Spirit was Very Present.

    I calmly told Chris it was going to be “awhile”, and asked if he’d like to watch a Christmas movie–he said yes. So, we watched my fave: “Christmas With the Kranks”–I served him some pumpkin bread–and moments after the movie ended (about 4 hrs after Chris first arrived), our maintenance guy showed up to unlock Chris’ door.

    Although Chris & I have not had trouble between us, we weren’t friends, “just neighbors”–I’d never had him in my home previously. He apologized for inconveniencing me–but oddly, I had not felt inconvenienced at all! Nothing I’d planned for that day was so important that it couldn’t be moved to the next day’s list. And yes, Chris could have “survived” being locked out for 4 hours–but who knows the width and depth of the blessing which may yet be realized, because I chose to make my home a safe haven? I Do know that Chris has been “seeking” the Who What Why Where of God….

    Got to run–catch you all later! God bless you!!

  4. Oh, my darlin’ Deb, reading your poetry brought to mind the difficulty of raising children on my own. Having been abandoned in so many ways, I always strived to make sure our home was a sanctuary of “love and understanding” while we faced the world with very little resources.
    God bless you for touching my heart and reminding me that it was not my doing…it was the work of our Holy Savior. Bee Blessings your way! love your bee 🙂

  5. This is so lovely; when I consider He knows my name and loves my heart, among all the millions of lives that ever were and will be….I am overcome with wonder and joy!

  6. Thanks Deb – you so beautifully summed up and put words to some of my recent thoughts and bought rest. May you and your precious family know His blessing this Christmas xx

  7. Amen to that! Makes me want to sing–except, that isn’t where my gift is, so I guess I’ll go write a poem (maybe try another of those cool acrostics you taught me!)–God bless you richly!

  8. Thank you Roger, for that encouraging thought. I’m realizing more and more that I don’t see things here, my life and what I do, as others do. Praying for this to indeed be a place where His presence is felt and He is sought out.
    God bless you and all the ones He calls on you to bless in His name.

  9. I was hoping someone would add that “the last shall be first”. 🙂 You didn’t let me down . . .even with jet lag.
    God bless you as His child and one who blesses many.

  10. Wow , sis Caddo Delight. Chris might lock himself out again sometime . . .on purpose. 🙂 I love how God calmed you because I know that feeling when you have already mapped out your day, and then it blows up on you. You were such a blessing. You are a safe place for me, even all these miles away.
    God bless you, delightful one, as He brings more neighbors to your door.

  11. Beautiful Bee! Your comment really got to me and my mommy heart. When I was delivering mail, I couldn’t wait to get home to my girls. It was hard for me to be out doing things for everyone else when I wanted to be home for them.
    God bless you and all that He has brought you through, for His glory. love you Bee!

  12. Thank you for the beautiful way you put it all in perspective. Humanly it may seem we are last, but He knows us and nothing gets any better than that!
    God bless you and the wonderful way you bless others!

  13. I’m glad for that rest for you, sweet Aimee. I was thinking in this of pastors and their families. Those in ministry must give so much of themselves and their time, to God and others. Praying God gives each one the right spouse and children who can understand and still know they are blessed too.
    God bless you and yours Aimee, many times over, this Christmas and always! xxxxxx

  14. Amen Debbie 🙂

  15. God bless you, Eden, sooner and later too! 🙂

  16. Thanks Debbie – as a pastor and a pastor’s kid myself, it is always a blessing to know people are praying for us :). And even though there are days you don’t know if you can sustain it all, it is such a blessing and privilege to be able to journey with so many xx

  17. I related to the message of this poem in many different ways. “We struggle feeling unnoticed unthought of, unmissed.” Several years back, when it became apparent that my health issues were not acute, but chronic, the adage, “out of sight out of mind”, seemed to ring true for many of my so-called friends. I was deeply hurt for a while, but I’m thankful that God has brought me a long way. Unfortunately, some memories linger still.

    I liked the way you ended the poem, “but in God’s Kingdom we are so blessed as His that there is love and understanding to cover such as this.” Praise God! Amen! Thank you encouraging Debbie!

    Love,

    Paulette

  18. I’m really glad that you feel I’m a “safe place”–even miles away. I hope I don’t make myself out to be some kind of “extra saintly” saint–because I certainly have my moments/days when I’m NOT. Re the Chris story, I’m trying to figure out how to speak “in love” to my management company–as I continue to have all kinds of negative feelings about what happened, their lack of responsiveness. The old me would have just called up and given them a large piece of my mind that I couldn’t really afford to part with–blow up & let the chips fall where they may. But these days, I’m more sensitive to God’s, “Wait”–which is a cool new thing. I’m frankly amazed that God is changing me from “glory to glory”–even though I can write poetry about it, I’m surprised when I actually see “true life” evidence that it’s happening! Amazing Grace!!

    Today was very productive–baked and baked; visited more blogs that you have listed–very fun; and worked on my next “Flavia” episode–maybe I can get it posted by Christmas (crossed fingers!).

    Oh and guess what?? My neighbor Jeff–the unbeliever I’m close with–gave me a Christmas gift. It’s a pale blue T-shirt that says, “That Love Your Neighbor thing? I meant it–God”. I really love it–we’ve Never exchanged gifts, though we each consider our friendship a Huge Gift–and he was so excited that he couldn’t wait one more day to give it to me. (He also gave me two boxes of lasagna noodles he got from the Food Bank–because he knows I’ll make the lasagna and invite him up!)

    So we settled our plan (if I’m repeating myself, I apologize)–Jeff & “Tiny Tim” will be my guests for dinner on New Year’s Day. I’m excited–I’ll do a ham and au gratin potatoes and veggies, and I’m baking a pecan pie. Sure wish you could come, sis!

    Well, it’s after 11 so I’d best be thinking about bed–I hope you had a good day, and pray you’ll rest well tonight. Know that you are close in my heart! Until tomorrow–your Caddo Delight

  19. Oh praising Paulette . .. I felt that there were going to be many ways to take this. I feel that hurt you are talking about and honestly, was thinking of a similar situation in my own life too. Then I waited on Him and He brought something encouraging from it, a way for me to look at it and see more than just being put last. So thankful that you are His, and beloved and cherished. He would search high and low for you and doesn’t stop thinking of you for even a second. 🙂
    God bless you and continually whisper to you how much He loves you.

  20. I love that gift that Jeff got you too! This is a wonderful thing! God bless you, St. Caddo, my sister and His delight!

  21. Hi Paulette, your comment touched my heart. I pray you have pain relief and a blessed Christmas. Love from Bee 🙂

  22. Your poem is lovely and not only expresses well the struggle with being “forgotten”, but offers encouragement to look to the Lord for loving acceptance. Thank you 🙂

    The verses you chose also bring to mind that Jesus has given Himself as our peace offering. And, although Christian believers frequently seem to be in “last “place in this life, Christ has promised to personally return for those who love Him. What a blessing this will be!

    I hope you and yours have a beautiful Christmas!

  23. Heather, thank you so much for seeing what you did in this, how Christians can be put last now, but He has promised to return for us. 🙂 God bless you and your beautiful family this Christmas and always!

  24. Oh Deb, I have been missing out lately. Here it is late in the afternoon on Christmas day and I’m in a cozy quiet place doing one of my very favorite things…reading your blog! And what a beautiful post!

    I hope today is full of abundant blessings for you.. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  25. I was just thinking of you! 🙂 God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word. Praying your Christmas was filled with His kindness and grace. love you and praying too!

  26. so true Debbie… and by God’s grace we can wait for the blessing that comes after other’s needs have been met.
    Our family knows each other’s love and we release each other to minister as God pleases, then we come back with rejoiceing to share all that God has done around us. We enjoy these times together and gain strength in them.
    His perfect Love wrapped around our hearts guards us from bitterness and jealousies…makes us able to give freely

  27. Your comments are so filled with His love, faith-filled fisherlady. 🙂 And it is His perfect love that makes everything possible. God bless you and wrap His love around your heart today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

