I Am Weak Today

“Then the king said to his servants, ‘Do you not know that a prince and a great man has fallen this day in Israel’?”  2 Samuel 3:38
“And I  am weak today, though anointed king; and these men, the sons of Zeruiah, are too harsh for me.”  2 Samuel 3:39

David’s confession of weakness didn’t lessen his position as king.

Lord, this world is too harsh for us.  Thank You for being our strength and our joy.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

A Shelter

This world is too harsh for me
and today I am too weak
to deal with all the violence
and rebellion I see
so I’ll take shelter
and do what I know
agreeing with Your word
because You say it’s so.

Published in: on December 19, 2011 at 7:53 am  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , , , ,

23 Comments

  1. Hi, Sis Deb–I love the idea of taking shelter in Him (hiding in the Rock) and agreeing with His Word because He says it’s so. One of the pastors I listen to described his young daughter nestling so close to his side that she was nearly covered by him–and drew the comparison that we are welcome to do the same with our Heavenly Father. Such a comfort! Especially for those of us who may not have had the best of earthly fathers.

    Dear Sister, I find that no matter the hour, I come here before I retire and first when I get up–your words of faith and relationship to Him are so soothing and restful. Bless you, bless you–for your love and faithfulness! Caddo Delight

  2. Dearest Deb – Admitting my weakness comes fairly easily to me.
    But sometimes I’m content in it. Not content like Paul, knowing that His power is made strong in my weakness, but content in a more weary way. Thank you for reminding me that when I’m weak I need to seek His Shelter.
    Debbie

  3. Oh, Deb! What a perfect post for this week! Yes to your reminder to seek our shelter in him! Grateful to be reminded that even kings grew weary of the violence, etc. in their lives. And I totally agree with Caddo that your posts are restful and soothing. You have a gift and it just keeps on overflowing like a continuous spring with blessings and learnings for those of us who read here. Thank you, Deb!

  4. Sis Caddo, your comment has blessed me, comforted me. I don’t think too highly about what I write. Then you say this and He reminds me again that it’s not about the words I put down, but Him. Thank you! And God bless you as He delights over you today! 🙂
    p.s. just read a comment from my sis-in-law. She must have seen the time that I was posting. Told me to go to sleep. haha!

  5. We do get weary of the harshness . . .and sometimes used to it. You remind me of the constant spiritual warfare that goes on and how that can make me feel weak too and content to let someone else fight in prayer. So glad that He renews us and fill us to face the hard things again. 🙂
    God bless you and shelter you today, dear Debbie.
    love and prayers!

  6. Angel A . . .I didn’t even think about it in the context of this week! Thank you! (duh me!) I just kept thinking 2 Samuel isn’t very Christmas-y. Now you have me thinking that Mary and Joseph probably felt pretty weak heading to Bethlehem and having to find shelter in the stable.
    God bless you always, Angel, as you walk with Him, sheltered by His fierce love of you!

  7. Taking shelter in God reminds me also of the song, ‘Breath of Heaven,’ (Mary’s version, words by Amy Grant) in that it’s all about finding shelter for the birth and yet still having that nagging bit of doubt that she’s up for ALL THIS after have been so willing to be the handmaiden of the Lord. Love this, Deb, and peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/home-at-last-the-sunday-whirl/

  8. The world is a harsh place to live–good to know it is not our home.

  9. Amy, what a thoughtful comment. Thank you! Everyone keeps adding layers to this that I never thought of when I wrote it. Breathe of Heaven is a beautiful song and what you said . . .a little doubt of being up for all this after saying she is willing. That can be me too.God bless you Amy, and the depth and understanding you bring . . .and the shelter you provide for others.

  10. Well said, Patricia! 🙂 God bless you as you count your blessings today and keep your eyes on Him.

  11. Thank you, Dearest Delightful Deb

    “Lord, this world is too harsh for us. Thank You for being our strength and our joy.”
    Amen

    The ‘news’ on TV is enough to send us into a tailspin. So thankful that I can fall back on Him and allow Him to be my strength and my song.

    Blessings,
    ann

  12. Yes, I’m on my way to bed now too! (But had to check in to say “good night moon” to you–)

    Yes, it really is about Him, rather than the words we put down. I seem to have settled into the JOY, rather than too much self-pride, when He gives me more words to write. Not sure of the verse, but I’m thinking of the scripture re–if we humble ourselves, then He will lift us up. (“Humble yourself in the sight of the Lord–and He, and He will lift you up”–I can hear the song in my head.) If we glorify Him by what we do, He is so pleased with us–and when we serve others (even by the words we write–poems or whatever) He is glorified.

    I’m praying for you to have good rest tonight–peace–and strength for the new day coming; I love you bunches! Your sis Caddo Delight

  13. Just what I needed to come and read – I love your comment that his weakness didn’t change his position. It can be very hard being in leadership on the days when you are weak and everything feels too hard and this is such a wonderful reminder that those days are ok if we will find our shelter in Him. Thank you precious Deb – visiting here is like cool, refreshing water! You’ve refreshed me to finish writing the entry that has been sitting in my drafts for more days than it should have! Bless you xx

  14. Now I can hear that song too, Sis. 🙂 A good thing! I looked it up and the verse comes from James 4:10. Sweet dreams and see you tomorrow! love you!

  15. God bless you our Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song. There are times when it gets too much. So thankful He is always here to run to. . .and to then get sent back out from, renewed. Praying your week is one filled with His strength and joy!

  16. Aimee that is such a great insight . . .about it being okay if we are weak, if we are seeking Him. I really liked that about David, how real he was about what he was experiencing. God bless you in your ministry, Aimee, and shelter you on those days that are too hard. I am so looking forward to reading your next post!

  17. Hi encouraging Debbie,

    Admitting my weakness comes very easily for me these days. I’m so glad that, because the Lord is my shelter, I have everything I need. He is my rock, my sword, and my shield! I find comfort and rest in Him, when I am unable to find it anywhere else! For that, I am truly grateful! I like the song you shared. Thanks. 🙂

  18. Lord, this world is too harsh for us.

    Indeed it is.

    Thank you for sharing this, Debbie. It is so comforting to know that those who trust the Lord always have a safe place to shelter from the storms of life.

  19. Praising Paulette, I learn from you all the time. I think I’ve tried for too long to make excuses for my weakness or try to deny it exists . . .but how much better it is to just admit it and let Him be my everything in front of everyone. God bless you, our praise and worship leader, as you deal with harshness from the shelter of your King. love and prayers!

  20. Taking shelter with you today . . .what a blessing to have each other as we seek Him. God bless you and yours, sweet Heather, and wishing you a beautiful Christmas!

  21. yes Debbie, praise God for the blessed strength He gives when we have none… He is always faithful!
    Actually, I confess to Him each day that I am weak and need Him … that when I have been strong it is because of His strength with me… He is so worthy of all thee glory!

  22. Faith-filled fisherlady . . that is a great way to start each day, confessing and needing Him. 🙂 I always know where my strength comes from . . .Jesus! God bless you as you glorify Him today, through your weakness and His strength. love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

