Inquiring of God

“It happened after this that David inquired of the Lord, saying, ‘Shall I go up to any of the cities of Judah?’  And the Lord said to him, ‘Go up.’ David said, ‘Where shall I go up?’  And He said, ‘To Hebron’.”  2 Samuel 2:1

I tend to not ask enough questions or the right ones.

Lord, we thank You that You listen and respond to us.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Specifics

Lord, may I ask You
if I should even go

and wait to hear the details
that I will need to know

for You are a God
who loves it when we pray

and will give us specifics
if we’ll listen to what You say.

Published in: on December 17, 2011 at 8:58 am  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , , ,

20 Comments

  1. How true… how true Deb!
    Better to ask the LORD for the wisdom and knowledge of what is His will in every situation… and pray for it to be done.

    Amein… Love from Susan…

  2. Praise the Lord for He listens! Nice poem. Merry Christmas!

  3. This is so timely. I was awake early thinking about how to pray for around specifics. I used to be very good at this and have somehow let it lapse. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Such a timely prayer Poem…. will hide this one in my heart

    Lead us on Lord!

  5. and you know I’ve been talking to him, you know I’ve been listening, and he has spoken, and I have heard, step-by-step.Grrrrrrrrr bunnies 🙂 perfect, as usual. God bless you Debbie. Now that I’m going down to eight posts a week from 10 – I should have more time to comment. So I’ll be commenting more.

  6. Susan, I think I am the worst at this. I pray for others, then forget to pray about the details in my life. Thankful for His reminders! And for you! God bless you, dear Susan, as you ask!
    love and prayers for you today!

  7. I know about that lapse Tammy. It just creeps up on me too. There are so many things that we have to just do, daily things . . .and I forget to ask Him about it.
    God bless you as He listens and answers you today!

  8. God bless you faith-filled fisherlady, as you hide Him in your heart and you hide in His too! You are a blessing and your faith shines His light.

  9. I’m on those steps with you. Just have to be all the time. Now I’m smiling because He answered us both, specifically. Okay Lord . . .:) God bless you and all the ways He shows you to walk with Him.

  10. God bless you as you ask Him about what to do today! 🙂 Wishing you a beautiful Christmas!

  11. Hi, Deb, sister mine! This so reminds me of Carrie Tenboom (sp?) (remember, from way back when?)–she told a story to illustrate the “how, when, where” etc of God’s directions to us, by relating her own father’s response to her questions about train fare. I’m probably messing it up badly, but essentially, her dad would not give her the train fare money UNTIL it was time to leave on the train.

    So, the message was that God does not always provide us ALL the details in Advance of His plan/direction for us–He may just say “go”, and as we step off in faith, He adds the “when, where, why, how”. Makes for quite an adventure! (though a bit scary, depending on how much peace & faith we have, going into the journey–)

    By the way, I really like the way you say, “and here’s a simple poem”–that’s so nice!!

  12. Oh sis Caddo Delight, I’m so, so glad that you added this, because I know there are times like that. Corrie’s story does illustrate it so well. Thank you for explaining it better. 🙂
    I once thought maybe I should stop putting the “and here’s a simple poem”, but someone told me it should be there . . .so it is. 🙂
    God bless you and bring you much delight in Him today!

  13. “… and wait to hear the details, that I will need to know.”

    It’s always easier to look back and see how He guided me through impossible times. So I ask Him to speak to my heart. We are so blessed to know the Lord in such a sweet and personal way.

    Just keep asking questions, and I will too! Hugs… ; )

  14. Well, I had a whole big paragraph (again) written, but it disappeared/didn’t post–it’s late, so I’m going to believe the Lord said, “save it, Caddo”. In other words, it wasn’t all that important–or maybe didn’t make sense… See you tomorrow–God bless you Big!

  15. Linda . . .I had you on my heart and wanted to send you a note or e-card. Then here you are. . .
    I know it is easier to see all the details once we’ve lived them. Praying that He is doing just that for you now, guiding you through, blessing you in small ways and big ways.
    God bless you and the questions you ask and the answers He gives you! love and hugs!

  16. Oh that is so frustrating when that happens. gggrrr. I love your sweet response though. Looking forward to delightful you tomorrow!

  17. Thank you, Deb

    “Lord, we thank You that You listen and respond to us.”

    So thankful that there are no ‘silly questions’ where He is concerned! Thanks for the reminder that I am free to ask Him to help me understand the foggy situations.

    Blessings,
    ann

  18. I love that Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song , that there are no silly questions. 🙂 Sometimes all I can do is tell Him I love Him. Just get kind of overwhelmed by His love and all the questions leave my mind.
    God bless you as you ask and wait and let Him lead you through the fog. love and prayers! Happy to see you here!

  19. Hi Debbie,

    I really enjoyed this passage of Scriptures and the poem! “Inquiring minds want to know.” When we go to God in prayer with our questions, sometimes it is difficult to wait for the complete unfolding of His will. However, it is always worth it in the end, because He knows what is best for us! So, wait I will do.

  20. Laughing, praising Paulette, at “inquiring minds want to know”. 🙂 And I just know part of why I don’t get all the details is that I don’t wait long enough. Hear a little something and run with it.
    God bless you as you ask, listen and wait on your Jesus! He will not let you down!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

