A Temporary Time

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory,
while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen.  For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”  2 Corinthians 4:17-18

All that I see is just temporary, but my brain doesn’t always grasp that.

Lord, please help my heart be set on the unseen eternal things.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Eternal Divine

All that I touch
see and taste
fills my days
and in my haste
I can forget
this is but for a time
while God works out
what is eternal and divine.

22 Comments

  1. Some things seem like a broken record but one day the record will be set straight.

    Thanks!!

  2. What a cool comment, hero! Thank you and God bless you in the seen and unseen today!

  3. Thank you, Deb! 🙂

  4. Thanks, Deb!!

    This too MUST pass! 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. God bless you, Mike, and all that He is doing behind the seen in your life! 🙂

  6. 🙂 I love that approach, Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song! Thanking Him for the temporary and the promise of what will last! God bless you today, and fill you with His vision of your tomorrows in Him!

  7. ““For our light affliction, which is but for a moment..”

    An amazing comparison when viewed through the eyes of eternity where a thousand years is but a day. But then again, we live in a four dimensional world (length, width, height and time) where time moves a lot slower, especially during our afflictions.

  8. I would never be able to tell anyone their afflictions were light. But, I can remind myself of that! (because mine are!)
    God bless you Larry, and move you through the affliction times at warp speed.

  9. Wow ~ I love your poetry and am very pleased to have found your site today. Thank you for such lovely inspiration!

  10. Oh Deb, I just love this…what a comfort…so glad I came by and read this.

    In less than3 weeks my algebra grade has fallen from a “B” to a “D”, and I have my final in a few days. My composition grade has fallen, too…did not get that Bibliography done.I only got 2 out of 15 sources done and it was worth 150 points. I still have the research paper to write…

    There have been some family issues that have competed for my attention. One has to do with my mother. Her health has declined rapidly these past two months. She might have to have surgery.She can no longer walk and my dad has to care for her now.Just a few months ago she was leading a productive life…even worked part time. I am an only child and my parents live about 10-15 minutes away.

    I have been having a hard time juggling and my grades are now reflecting that. I’m going to try my very best but your post helps me to keep things in perspective. College, careers and even family life is temporal…but the things concerning the kingdom of God are eternal. Remembering that calms me. Thank you so much.

    Love,
    Theresa

  11. Oh Theresa, my heart is pulled for you. I am the worst multi-tasker. What you are doing requires 10 Theresa’s instead of just one. I am so blessed that He used this to calm you. Praying that He continues to find ways to keep you at peace while everything else is so crazy. Asking Him for favor for you so that you can pass the classes that you have taken.
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, as He works this all out for you and your family.
    love you! Sending hugs too ((((( )))))).

  12. God bless you, dear Jessie, and the poetry you write! Thank you for such a nice comment and the encouragement you bring here!

  13. This was the verse in my study yesterday – couldn’t bring myself to comment, was having one of those days where everything felt hard and neverending instead of light and momentary 🙂 But as I have been reflecting on this, and the heroes of ‘faith’ in Hebrews 11 I have been encouraged – God is preparing something for us we can’t even begin to comprehend, but we have to be willing to not hold this world so tight! Thanks again for a word in season – bless you x

  14. I appreciate this word, too–it’s all about “perspective”, what’s temporal and what’s wonderfully eternal! Thank you!

  15. Boy, sweet Aimee . . .that is so true. Nothing that we are going through feels light and momentary. And I don’t like to minimize another’s pain, nor have mine done that way. So you have encouraged me with your being encouraged that God is preparing something for us . . .so just don’t hold on so tight here. God bless you as you hang on to Him and His promises!

  16. Praying to keep that wonderful perspective with you, Caddo! Your comments are so lifting and lightening! Thank you and God bless you for blessing us!

  17. ever changing us from glory to glory…

  18. God bless you as He changes you, each moment precious and fleeting at the same time! You are His beloved!

  19. Thanks encouraging Debbie! I was encouraged by the Scripture and your poem. By the way, that happens to be one of my favorite Scriptures. It’s wonderful to know, if I suffer with Him for a little while, I shall also reign with Him! Thanks again! 🙂

    Paulette

  20. Praising Paulette, I was thinking of you as I wrote this one. I know what Paul meant about “light affliction” as compared to all eternity, but still, your affliction is not “light”. Praying for Him to lift the pain for you today. God bless you and your pure heart and witness for your Lord that you love!

  21. Perhaps the hardest thing to remember! Our life is like a vapor…

  22. It is! We can’t just blow everything off because it’s only temporary, can we? God bless you, Jessica, as you live for Him now and all eternity.


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

