I Also Forgive

“Now whom you forgive anything, I also forgive.  For if indeed I have forgiven anything, I have forgiven that one for your sakes in the presence of Christ”  2 Corinthians 2:10
“lest Satan should take advantage of us; for we are not ignorant of his devices.”  2 Corinthians 2:11

Unforgiveness is an instant heyday for Satan.

Lord, we desire to forgive first and ask questions later . . .or not at all.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Unforgiveness Device

We’ve been wronged and the pain
rocks our world
and it takes awhile to process
what’s been unfurled.

So help us to forgive quickly
for if we don’t
Satan takes advantage
until soon we won’t.

Published in: on December 2, 2011 at 7:01 am  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , ,

22 Comments

  1. bitterness is such a destroyer…
    forgiveness casts it out
    then all that’s left
    is joyous peace
    for that’s what love
    is all about

    love your simple poems Deb!

  2. Amen, amen and amen! Living with unforgiveness is like carrying a ton of bricks because the one who suffers most is the person who does not want to forgive. Thank you for this message. I needed to hear it…
    Blessings to you and your beautiful family!
    Your Brother in Christ,
    Vineet

  3. I love your poem comments, faith-filled fisherlady! 🙂 God bless you and yours with His joyous love today!

  4. God bless you, Vineet! So true about that ton of bricks. I’ve lived that way before and it is so yucky! Blessings to you and yours too!

  5. So true – a grudge hurts US, not them; forgiving heals both hearts! Thank you again for your daily dose of wisdom and gentle truth.

  6. So true Deb, Bitterness and unforgiveness is the “Bait of Satan”. Let us have none of it in our lives.

  7. Francis Frangipane wrote in one of his books: “Bitterness is unfulfilled revenge.”

    So, yes Lord, help us to forgive first and ask questions later.

  8. “forgiving heals both hearts.” That is beautiful, planaquarium, like you and your poetry. 🙂 God bless you as you walk in forgiveness today!

  9. “Let us have none of it in our lives.” Amen Pastor J! Praying for that too and God bless you as you walk the road before you!

  10. I went through a bitter, resentful time in my life. Oh boy was I. And I wanted everyone to know about what had been done to me. Soooo glad that He began closing my mouth and opening my heart to forgive.
    God bless you, Larry, as you forgive others today!

  11. Debbie, just tears, so many tears. How fitting that this is your topic today. I woke up today to a very harsh wrong, so painful, and I am trying to sort out how to respond. It seems sometimes that the hardest to forgive are those who loudly claim to be Christian but act worse than my non-Christian friends in so many ways. People don’t see what goes on-what is said and done- behind closed doors. And sometimes, what does…hurts so much I do, like you did, want to tell about it. But I can’t. Except with a counselor. I want to hurt back as I have been hurt, and then I have to remember that if I let go of my expectations for another, I won’t be hurt so badly. But I will still ache with disappointment. And i still have to set boundaries against abuse, and when I do that, I am accused of not being loving or Christian or whatever. And I am threatened. And even boundary setting has to be done so carefully. They can be set in love or set in bitterness. Today, I am struggling. I have Him, though, and I have all the wise words that have been shared here, and I think I especially love the comment you wrote just above mine here. Thank you, Debbie. I am so glad you were set free from your bitterness. And I am so glad you were honest about your struggle with it. I struggle, too. Have to get my eyes back on the love of my Father for me.

    I had a couple of deep abuses from years ago, and for some reason I was able to quickly forgive those, truly forgive. I am finding this one much, much more difficult to get past. i am also still in the midst of this one. Maybe that makes it more difficult, I don’t know. I think it could. How to forgive and forgive and forgive when living in the midst of….how to continuously forgive in the midst of continuous offense. That is my assignment. That is what I hope to learn. I have to learn where I am wrong, too. Thanks for letting me unload here. Delete all this if you need to. So many things to weigh in these situations. Answers can seem simple until one is in the hot seat.

    I will be ok.

  12. Angel A . . .I can echo what you said. Answers are simple when we’re not in the hot seat. It’s so hard, because wrong is wrong and then when it is covered up or paraded as right? Well, I’ll just say that I know how hard it is to stay quiet. A, I am praying for you right now. Mostly, I just want to come take you away. But I know that God is with you and He is doing something mighty in this. You are a very special child of His, that He can trust you in this place. To forgive in the midst of offense is a powerful, powerful thing. It is a God thing and you are displaying His glory. May He cover you constantly and protect you, guarding your heart and your mind as you stand in Him today.
    No way can I delete this. It needs to be read. love you A and will continue to pray!

  13. Deb, You’ve been listening in on my prayers, haven’t you. 😉 This was perfect. I love the second stanza – it is so true:

    So help us to forgive quickly
    for if we don’t
    Satan takes advantage
    until soon we won’t.

    I don’t know why forgiveness is a lesson I must learn over and over. Perhaps it is because I must experience every facet of forgiveness before I’m ready to write a book about it. I don’t know. But you’d think I’d have it figured out by now. Yes, Lord, help me to forgive quickly. Peace, Linda

  14. Dear A… I will pray for you too. May the God of all peace guard your hearts in Christ Jesus. I will ask and believe for a miracle of healing and restoration. I have walked through the fire of abuse and God has healed to the utmost and brought restoration. If you are not in a safe place though, it is not unchristian to find safety… even emotional abuse needs to be stepped away from and help found to help bring restoration. God calls us to peace.
    Blessings to you dear.

  15. LInda . . .I think that is something incredible, to write a book on forgiveness and I am asking for His favor toward you as you write. Such an important thing to do . . .a Have-to do. And so hard to do at the same time, in some cases. I do know that sometimes when I think I can’t, that it is too much this time, He miraculously helps me to. I’m so surprised when it happens. 🙂
    God bless you, beautiful one, as you keep forgiving and helping others to too!

  16. Thank you so much for praying for A too, faith-filled fisherlady! And God bless you!

  17. This is such an excellent word, Deb. I had a serious problem with unforgiveness most of my life. I didn’t feel that I was deliberately resisting, but my prayers to forgive simply weren’t “availing much”–but last March, as we were going into Easter week, God did a supernatural healing/deliverance in me–like spiritual brain surgery–and I unloaded all the bitterness and resentment. I actually felt physically lighter, and so free. Now I’m committed to not letting it pile up–as soon as I’m upset by someone, I CHOOSE to forgive right away. It may take a little while for my feelings to catch up–but they do, and I’m fine!

  18. Reaching a place of forgiveness will take us down a path which is paved with deep hurt, emotional anguish, and shattered hearts. Only Almighty God is able to deliver us from the bondage and burden of unforgiveness, when we place it in His most capable hands! “I Want A Heart That Forgives!” This is the most beautiful song I’ve heard about forgiveness. Enjoy!

    Love,

    Paulette

  19. Caddo, what a beautiful testimony that is! I loved that – spiritual brain surgery. Yes, that is what it has felt like to me too. All day I can be rumbling about something and then when the time comes to blast away . . .He takes over and it is gone. There is nothing negative left.
    God bless you as you choose to forgive right away! 🙂

  20. Thank you so much, praising Paulette, for your deep understanding of what forgiveness is and takes. I keep finding there is nothing that we can do without Him and forgiveness is certainly one of the things I need His help with!
    What an awesome song! You were right! Thank you for sharing and God bless your heart that wants to forgive and be like His.
    love and prayers!

  21. Thank you for your prayers, and for your wisdom, Debbie. They mean a lot to me, a lot!

  22. Dear Fisherlady,

    Thank you, too, for your prayers and for what you shared. I agree that even emotional abuse needs to be stepped away from. This situation is full of heavy lifting for me, because I thought I knew a lot about all this. These things can present differently or just plain sneak up. There are glimmers of hope, but there is also that thing of cyclical good and bad behavior, in the midst of which ‘hope’ has to be verified as true change, and not just a part of a cycle. And things are complex, and that is hard, too. Thank you so much, again.

    A.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

