God of All Comfort

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort,
Who comforts us in all our tribulations, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”  2 Corinthians 1:3-4

God’s comfort isn’t meant to make us comfortable.

Thank You, Lord, for sustaining us in places we couldn’t exist in without You and those You send Your comfort through.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Comforted to Comfort

God comforts us
in our hard places

without transporting us
into an easy chair

so we can comfort those
who are deeply troubled

knowing the uncomfortableness
ourselves of being there.

Published in: on December 1, 2011 at 6:43 am  Comments (27)  
Tags: , , , ,

27 Comments

  1. Right on Debbie… well put!
    I am amazed sometimes when I go through a difficulty knowing that it is not normal for me to have that particular problem… I give it to Jesus to show me a way through and he does …suddenly there will be a friend struggling with the same issue and I can graciously help them through because God had just shown me a way out.
    love it!

  2. You are wise and wonderful, faith-filled fisherlady! I have a long distance friend that God restored our friendship, and then had us in such similar places and continues too . . .it IS a comfort to know that she knows!
    God bless you as you comfort others, sweet Susan!

  3. Yes Debbie, where pet doctrines have divided us, comfort & encouragement in tribulations & persecutions soon to be upon us, will bring us together as one just as it has always done in other lands.

    I thank God for those who’ve already served their apprenticeship in them … we wait in the wings, don’t we? I doubt if there will be any great revival ahead, but nevertheless, look out for the Acts of the Holy Spirit Part 2! Bless you heaps.

  4. “God’s comfort isn’t meant to make us comfortable.” That is a GOOOOOOOD line! I am so there right now and thank you for the reminder!

  5. I agree with Jelillie. That is a great line and a reminder that we all need to hear.

  6. Thank you so much, Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  7. Thanks Debbie . God certainly uses us to comfort others.It is only through our experiences of the deep valleys of life that we realise how important it is to be comforted and therefore the need to comfort others when we are strong. God Bless.

  8. Yes! Well said! Thank you! This is exactly why I post work that I may have written decades ago, before my faith had matured at all. As I continue to “grow up” in the Lord, my writing reflects that (hopefully), and it’s my prayer that I will be an encouragement to readers. That is my true and enduring joy.

    Again, thank you–it’s wonderful to meet another “sister”! May He bless you richly today and always!

  9. I also agree with jehilie. Thank you for this wisdom-packed poem, Deb!

  10. Beautiful Deb! Had to laugh when I read He doesn’t transport us to the easy chair – how many days I’ve wished for a spiritual lazy boy 🙂 Truth is while He is our comfort He is not that concerned with us being comfortable. Thank you for taking the comfort He has given you and sharing it with us today x

  11. “God comforts us
    in our hard places…”

    I was going through a tough, tough trial with no money in my billfold and no food in the pantry so I sought the Lord. While praying, He showed me a dumpster.

    I can now laugh about it, but at the time, I didn’t smile much, although I did go to the dumpster. I jumped in, sifted through the garbage and found lots of soda pop cans which I turned in for cash at the grocery store.

    So, comfort is sometimes a dumpster.

  12. Debbie, you are right on with this one. It takes suffering of one’s own to be healed, to remember what it felt like, and to help someone else in turn. God gives us so many gifts, but empathy is surely one of the best. Thanks, dear. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/repairers-of-the-breach/

  13. Thank you, Dearest Delightful Deb

    You had me at :
    “God comforts us
    in our hard places”

    I don’t like the hard places but I love the fact that He is there to comfort, regardless.

    Blessings
    ann

  14. Roger, you are something special. So blessed that He brought me to you. Your comment was comforting to me . . .just to know that there are reasons for whatever we are going through, for this waiting. How exciting thinking of the Acts of the Holy Spirit Part 2! 🙂 God bless you heaps too! And gobs! 🙂

  15. God bless you Pastor J, Tammy and Angel A, and comfort you in your uncomfortable places today!

  16. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word. Thinking of you and praying for you in the place you are right now, that He will comfort you and make a way.
    love you!

  17. Thank you for sharing about comfort . . .about us realizing how important it is to be comforted and then to comfort. Nothing is wasted this way.
    God bless you and the comfort you are to others and to us!

  18. I think that is a beautiful reason to post your work, to encourage others and comfort us wherever we may be at in our lives. 🙂 Thank you for that! I’m glad to have another sister too! yippee! Kind of funny, I was the only girl, the youngest in a family with 4 boys. Now look at all the sisters He’s giving me!
    God bless you, Caddo, and the blessing and help you are!

  19. I’m so tired tonight, sweet Aimee . . .wanting me a spiritual lazy boy about now! haha! Only God could do this thing, this comforting us while not being concerned about us being comfortable. From a human it would seem cruel, but not from Him.
    God bless you! You have been a special comfort and encouragement to me!

  20. Oh Larry, I wouldn’t have been smiling either. I love that God loves you and knows you like He does . . .because some of the things you have gone through make me cringe.
    You know that Aubrey has seizures. It’s not something that we can smile about either. But yet, He comforts me in those times by the way He keeps her from harm. There are times when I’m right there and catch her. There are other times when she should have some signs of whacking her head and body on stuff . . .but she just doesn’t. Not a mark, bruise or bump.
    God bless you, Larry and continue to comfort you, in and out of the dumpster.

  21. I love that, amazing Amy, that empathy is one of His best gifts. I know what if feels like to have someone minimize what I’m going through and so I don’t want to do that others. Remembering whatever we suffered with in order to help someone else is a good way to put our past to use! You do this all the time, Amy! Thank you! And God bless you and comfort you in those uncomfortable places!

  22. Praying He is comforting you right now, Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song, right where you are at. I tend to want things to be more comfortable and easier for others. . .I don’t like to see anyone uncomfortable. But that is not how it works, for really good God reasons!
    God bless you and care for you as you care for others today.

  23. Your readers each put their story so beautifully. It’s my favorite verse… written on a notecard where I can see it. Imagine God giving each of us who believe and struggle, the power to comfort as He does. It’s not about an easy chair, it’s about all we can do for others in His name, if only we endure and heed those words.

    I feel so full and inspired. Thanks for another good one. Hugs… : )

  24. I love how you keep your favorites verses on notecards, close to your heart. Praying for just that, to comfort in His name like He does. There are so many suffering, in those hard places, where all I can do is give comfort.
    God bless you, lovely Linda, as He prepares you and sends you on to comfort more.

  25. I pray that He would give you special rest and bring you into that spacious place (Ps 18)(maybe a few moments in that lazy boy :)) and that you would know He delights in you. I so love dropping by your blog each morning Deb – it is truly a joy and delight just as you are to our Heavenly Father xx

  26. There is grace found in suffering that could be known no other way. God is good and his grace is flowing down upon us every moment, even when the suffering doesn’t go away. And that grace is enough for us. That truth led Paul to make the outrageous declaration, “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” Not only do we survive suffering as Christians, we rejoice in it. That is the incredibility of the gospel of Jesus.

  27. What a wonderful comment Eric! Thank you! You have me thinking about the “incredibility of the gospel of Jesus” now tonight. God bless you as you suffer yet comfort, and are comforted through it all.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

