The Spirit of God

“So he went there to Naioth in Ramah.  Then the Spirit of God was upon him also, and he went on and prophesied until he came to Naioth in Ramah.”  1 Samuel 19:23

“And he also stripped off his clothes and prophesied before Samuel in like manner, and lay down naked all that day and all that night.”  1 Samuel 19: 24

Saul was on a mission to get David.  He sent messengers three times to him and then finally went himself. Each time the Spirit of God came upon them and they prophesied instead.

Lord, sometimes we go off on missions of our own.  Please send Your Spirit upon us so we can only do and say what You want us to.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Come Upon Us

We start out on life’s path
knowing what we need to do

be successful, make money
and a name for ourselves too

then Your Spirit comes upon us
and strips us of untruths

leaving us lying in wait wanting
only to do what You want us to.

12 Comments

  1. Perfect words: “strips us of untruths” – as much as it hurts to give up our poor dreams, we’re promised such rich hope! How loudly the world shouts that its shallow way is the right one, and how much we need the profound vision of God.

  2. Stripped of all to be clothed wtith ALL. Indeed, Lord. Come upon us. God bless everything for you & yours, Debbie.

    Roger

  3. Like a sheep tended by the shepherd, help me not to go off on paths which are not ordained by you. Help me to have spiritual ears to hear and know your voice. Please allow your spirit to come upon me, that it may “strip all untruths” away from me!

    Thanks Debbie! May you be strengthened today by the enabling power of the Holy Spirit!

    Paulette

  4. I love that planaquarium . . .rich hope. 🙂 God bless you with rich hope and profound visions today! Thank you for blessing me with your comment!

  5. That is a powerful thing. Praying that many yet still will come and be clothed by Him. Thank you for your prayer!!! God bless you and yours too, Roger, and the work He has called you to!

  6. Thank you praising Him Paulette! What a wonderful prayer. I got goosebumps. May you be strengthened as well, sweet one, as He keeps you on a path that is narrow, but deep in His love. God bless you!

  7. “We start out on life’s path
    knowing what we need to do

    be successful, make money
    and a name for ourselves too…”

    This certainly is a picture of my life before I met Jesus. All I wanted was to be filthy, stinking rich.

    Now I am. I am the son of King.

  8. Yes, you ARE rich. 🙂 Me too.
    This summer I had the blessing of meeting a young man in his 20’s who knew Jesus. To hear how he left an established job because he felt led to by His Lord and was doing odd jobs while he waited for what God wanted for him, blessed me. His wife was also doing important work for others, but as a volunteer and not getting paid for it. It was so contrary to what we feel is a must. By the end of the summer, he had been hired by another company. 🙂 Another son of the King.
    God bless you Larry, as He covers you today.

  9. Such a great reminder that when we get disctracted God can bring us back to what He wants us to be doing. It is a great comfort that His grace is bigger than our mistakes and our misdirection! Am really enjoying your reflections on 1 Samuel xx

  10. I love your look at this and the comfort that His grace is bigger than our mistakes! Yay! God bless you as you continue to look to Him!

  11. GREED TO SEED

    I used to worship money
    An idol built of greed
    My life revolved around the lump
    Amassed, just for my need
    I used to guard it carefully
    And watch it ebb and flow
    Was overjoyed to see it come
    But sad to see it go.

    Charity began at home
    My needs were paramount
    The poor and needy had to wait
    Their poverty didn’t count
    But then I had a change of life
    And I asked Jesus in
    But kept my wallet firmly closed
    My wealth was not a sin.

    Bit by bit, my hardened heart
    Was softened by His love
    And off my greedy, grasping hand
    He took the chain mailed glove
    Now I tithe and sow my seed
    Into the kingdom field
    A cheerful giver, I’ve become
    And heaven is my yield.

  12. Oh how I have missed your poems! Thank you so much for leaving the perfect one here as a comment. God bless you and the seed you are sowing for Him! I’m believing for much fruit!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

