Misconstrued Motives

“Then David spoke to the men . . .’For who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God’?” 1 Samuel 17:26
“Now Eliab his oldest bother heard when he spoke to the men; and Eliab’s anger was aroused against David, and he said, ‘Why did you come down here? And with whom have you left those few sheep in the wilderness? I know your pride and the insolence of your heart, for you have come down to see the battle’.” 1 Samuel 17:28
“And David said, ‘What have I done now? Is there not a cause’?” 1 Samuel 17:29

Our motives may be misconstrued.

Lord, when the integrity of our action is doubted, please help us to focus and do what You’ve asked us to. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Who Is This?

His brothers thought they knew
the real reasons David came

to be prideful and brag
to seek out some fame

but when Goliath fell
all saw the Lord with him

so they could face the Philistines
claim His victory and win.

16 Comments

  1. It’s usually people’s doubts that hinder our progress in our Life with God! May God give us the wisdom to differentiate between, when He’s trying to send a message that we’re in the wrong path, and when it’s Satan trying to make us not continue the path we took.
    SIMPLY Lovely!

  2. Thank you so much, Deb.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. My spirit has been groaning, Deb. Thanks for sharing this tidbit that brought me so much relief. How great is our God!!!!!

    “Lord, when the integrity of our action is doubted, please help us to focus and do what You’ve asked us to.” This is the perfect application for a situation I have to deal with at 2:30 this afternoon! I will follow Him and focus on His requests.

    Thank you, sister friend. You have no idea!!!!!! 🙂

    Blessings
    ann

  4. That’s so true, Mike. Just when we think we know what we’re suppose to do, someone is doubting and negative about us doing it. I read this great check list by Holley Gerth that I thought was a real blessing!

    http://www.holleygerth.com/heart-to-heart-with-holley/2011/10/23/thoughts-quiz.html

    God bless you and give you the wisdom and courage to move on His behalf today! Thank you!

  5. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word and encourage you, as you do what you have to do today! love you!

  6. Dear Ann full of Jesus grace, joy and song . . .I will be praying for you this morning, in regards to that 2:30 time. I know that groaning that you are experiencing and it is a hard place to be in. Standing with you as you stand with Him today. God bless you and what He has asked you to do. love and prayers!

  7. “…for you have come down to see the battle…”

    This is one of my favorite scenes in which David could have easily replied, “What battle? You’ve been challenged twice a day for forty days and as yet, not one spear has been thrown. What’s with this?”

    It reminds me of many battles we Christians think we’re fighting but we never leave our trenches.

  8. Oh Larry . . .I missed that and no wonder Eliab was miffed. His pride was hurting and someone who knew him was here questioning what was going on . . .and why there was no battle! You have given me something to consider and pray about here. Thank you!
    God bless you in the battle!

  9. The story is so powerful, and so true. Maybe everyone who loves the Lord feels that way. But this happens to me alot. In our small town, anyone who is “different’ is suspect. It’s why I don’t go to church. I’m judged before I even have a chance.

    Thanks for bringing that issue to light. Hugs… : )

  10. Hugs right back to you, dear Linda. I understand what you are saying and I wish I could be there with you. The more I hear from other people, maybe some of us were meant to operate a little more on the edge of things instead of from within a building. I know God sees your heart and knows your motives and He loves you and is ministering to others through you! I’m one of the ministered to! Thank you! 🙂

  11. Where two or more are gathered…

    I am so thankful for those precious moments when I share the pew with you and Deb.

    Love and hugs,

    Theresa

  12. And to think David had brought good gifts of food for his brothers… they missed his good intentions completely because jealousy blinded them.
    I find there are days something is misplaced or gone… it is easy to assume the ‘someone’ who may have done it , only to remember it was me…I have to laugh and thank God that He is working hard to make me into the image of His dear son 🙂 and to please help me ‘never’ to blame another…

  13. Oh beautiful faith filled fisherlady . . .I have done that too! My hand went to my mouth in remembrance! haha! I loved how you showed us this in reverse, when it’s us thinking the worst of someone else. Praying with you to submit more and more to His work in me! God bless you as you thank God today!

  14. Thank you, Deb

    I could sing of His love forever. 🙂

    He showed up. How cool is that? I am in process, but I am thankful He is with me. The meeting went well. May His name be glorified and thank you for standing in the gap for me.

    Blessings
    ann

  15. “…Please help us to focus and do what You’ve asked us to.” In spite of all distractions and naysayers, may we keep our eyes upon the Lord, and His will for our lives!

    Thanks for this message Debbie! God bless you!

    Paulette

  16. Thank you for your encouragement, praising-Him-Paulette, that helps me keep doing this! God bless you and your focus and worship of Him!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

