He Knows Where To Look

“But the Lord said to Samuel, ‘Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart’.” 1 Samuel 16:7

Samuel had listened to God and obeyed Him from a very early age and yet still he thought Jesse’s oldest son, Eliab, was the one God would anoint.

Lord, we thank You that You see and know what we do not. Please purify and transform our hearts for You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Brightest Times

I look on the outside
You see within

I judge by appearance
You weigh the hearts of men

and know beyond all measure
what each one can do

arranging for them the times
of shining their brightest for You.

19 Comments

  1. Oh, I love this verse – I used to have this hanging on my desk…t’s what all of life boils down to: the love we have within that outshines any outward flaws. This is so encouraging, thank you!

  2. Love love love your poem today – God has made us all so differently and you are so right that He knows where and how we shine best. Also love your thought about Samuel. I am so enjoying your blog Deb – find myself looking forward to getting a chance to sit down and read them. Bless you for so faithfully encouraging us every day x

  3. “Lord, we thank You that You see and know what we do not. Please purify and transform our hearts for You. ”
    Amen, Amen, Amen!!

    Thank you, Dearest Delightful Deb!

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I feel like dancing up in here!!

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. So glad you were encouraged and so thankful for what His word provides us! God bless you, planaquarium, as you and your poetry shine for Him today!

  5. “…Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have refused him…”

    King Saul was the tallest and most impressive man in all of Israel. So, when Samuel looked for the king to replace Saul, he probably assumed God would choose the same type of individual.

    But God does not use a mold to create His leaders, He works on their hearts.

  6. God bless you, Aimee, and how He has made you. You are an encourager of His, one He loves so very much. πŸ™‚

  7. You just go ahead and dance, Ann full of Jesus grace and joy! You make by blog brighter each time you come! Thank you and God bless you and your heart for Him.

  8. That is a good insight, Larry, into why Samuel was thinking it would be Eliab. So glad He works on us!
    God bless you as you shine outside of any mold. (I am not saying you are moldy here, okay?) πŸ™‚

  9. Debbie, this is very potent and poignant in its message. I once wrote a song (one of many I someday will record) that asks God to search my heart and guide me… hoping I’m living up to God’s will. One line says, “If you stood in my shoes, would you feel shame?” Loved this one, Debbie. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/taxed-to-the-max-poetic-bloomings/

  10. Praying for you as you shine for Him, with writing poetry and songs. He has you where He wants you and He has your heart. πŸ™‚
    God bless you, Amy, and your unique calling in Him.

  11. This is very true! Thanks πŸ™‚

  12. Deb, you have a talent for finding lovely verses that seem to be hidden within the Bible!
    Thanks for making them shine! πŸ™‚

  13. Deb, it has been some time sine I have studied this book of the Bible, but I remember a lot from the various times and places whereI have studied it. I just can’t get over the things that the Lord reveals to you when you go to these passages,and even the passages in other books of the Bible.I am so thankful that You are here sharing. I need it. It is humbling to confess that. But lately I have been kind of yucky…enjoying many things, but neglecting my time with the Lord. Please keep praying.

    Love,
    Theresa

  14. God bless you, Mike, as you keep looking to Him and His word. So thankful to have you here. I just read a chapter and then wait for Him to highlight something to me and fill in the blanks. He’s so faithful! This is probably a better known verse from the Old Testament and a good one, for sure!

  15. Oh beautiful and wonderful woman of the Word . .. don’t be too hard on yourself. You are in a different time to be sure!!! So much has changed for you, but your love for Him is still very real and alive. πŸ™‚ I’m glad that you are getting to enjoy some things Theresa, and I think He is too. love you and praying too . . .for the joy of the Lord is your strength.

  16. Hi Debbie,

    I enjoyed the Scriptures and the poem! Powerful message!

    Love,

    Paulette

  17. God bless you, praising Paulette, as He looks within you and sees your heart of worship for Him!
    love and prayers!

  18. Deb, AWESOME POEM! I love this verse, and think of it whenever someone complains about what God has done, when He has punished when they think He shouldn’t, or hasn’t when they think He should. He knows so much better than we do because He judges what is in the heart, not just the actions of people. The Lord bless you as you seek to see as He does. Peace, Linda

  19. This is a good verse for me too, Linda, whenever I want to judge someone . . .but I don’t know what He does and can’t see what is going on in someone’s heart. I’m so glad that He can!
    God bless you too, beautiful Linda, as you seek Him first!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

