Prepare Your Hearts

“Then Samuel spoke to all the house of Israel, saying, ‘If you return to the Lord with all your hearts, then put away the foreign gods and the Astoreths from among you, and prepare your hearts for the Lord, and serve Him only; and He will deliver you from the hand of the Philistines’.” 1 Samuel 7:3

We prepare for tests, prepare dinner, and prepare ourselves (somewhat) before heading out the door.

Lord, help us to prepare our hearts for You, putting aside anything contrary to Your Word, so we can serve You only. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Nothing But Worship

Be careful what your heart beholds
and longs to hang onto
causing it to serve
other gods, not Me.

Look strong and sure at My Word
and let it purify you
leaving you with nothing
but worship, for Me.

24 Comments

  1. Only Jesus, precious Jesus… holding anything else in my heart weighs burdensome and I have learned that traveling light is so much more joyous!
    His Word is a light unto our path… He is worthy of all our worship!

  2. You have me singing here, our faith-filled fisherlady! 🙂 I can hear Amy Grant. . .
    Thank you for that traveling light tip. Good to know if it starts feeling burdensome, to check what I’m hauling around.
    God bless you as you worship Him, our Worthy One!

  3. Deb – Yes, I do prepare for so many things with more attention than I prepare my heart for Him. Unworthy, but grateful,
    Debbie

  4. “Look strong and sure at My Word.”

    Amen, Debbie. Proverbs 4:23 … Imagine the same diligence being applied to heart preparation as it is to head preparation (certificates, qualifications, titles, positions) what an awesome church that would be, eh? The Philistines, whatever they might be, would not stand a chance. God bless.

  5. You should see us getting ready to go any where. It’s definitely a process! I try to be prepared for anything we might encounter . . .
    Thank you for encouraging me and joining with me as I long to prepare my heart for Him first. 🙂
    God bless you, dear grateful Deb, who Jesus loves and counts as worthy in His eyes! ( me too!)

  6. Your comments make me smile and get excited at the same time! 🙂 Praying for that kind of diligence, Roger, the kind that leads to deliverance.
    God bless you as you prepare yourself head to toe, for Him!

  7. Hi Deb what a beautiful blog you have – love your poems! I felt very refreshed looking through some of your recent entries. Bless you!

  8. I am so thankful for this reminder.

    Love,
    Theresa

  9. very lovely very nice indeed from kevin i enjoyed it.

  10. I love the traveling light comment. If only I would take time to prepare my heart daily.

  11. “…Be careful what your heart beholds
    and longs to hang onto…”

    Maybe I should be like some of the Pharisees who wore blinders, hoping not to see temptations. Oh well! My wife would probably not like that so I better trust the Holy Spirit to help me.

  12. Thank you, wonderful woman of the Word, for your thankful heart. That is a good way to prepare for Him! 🙂
    God bless you and prepare you for your day!
    love and prayers!

  13. Thank you, Kevin, for such a kind comment! God bless you and your poetry and the way you prepare your heart for Him!

  14. I liked that too, Tammy. It helps me look at preparing in a different way! The time thing . . .that is a hard one. Everything takes time, but I think you prepare more than you know, just through your daily choices. 🙂
    God bless you as you travel light with Him today!

  15. Giggling. Can’t wait to see a new picture up of you with blinders on.
    God bless you as you trust Him to prepare you and help you. 🙂

  16. God bless you, Aimee, and I feel the same way about your blog! God bless you and refresh you, prepare you and love on you today! 🙂

  17. Well this certainly cuts right to the point. Ouch! Your gentle conviction says it perfectly.

    Bless you, my child – Moskowitz the Humble

  18. I hope it wasn’t too painful!!! These are suppose to encourage. haha! God bless you as you humbly prepare your heart for Him! And thank you for another look at how to prepare our hearts . . .by staying humble. 🙂

  19. Yes. It is so important to spend time with the Lord before setting out on the day’s adventures. How can we hope to be effective for Him if we travel in our own strength.
    God Bless

    Pam

  20. God bless you, Pam, as you stay close to Him, being prepared for all He asks you to do. I love your heart for Him and your ministry too.

  21. >> “leaving you with nothing but worship, for Me”
    Oh what a wonderful thought! A mind and emotions completely void of anything but worship of our great God and Saviour!

    One day we will experience this – and it will last for all eternity.

    What a Saviour!

  22. I can hardly wait . . .but I will. 🙂 God bless you, mentor Angela, and how He uses you to help us prepare today!

  23. I was getting ready for church this morning – checking my hair, my clothes etc. and was reminded of your words to prepare my heart! Thanks for your beautiful words that caused me to pause and remember the most important thing to prepare before heading off to worship x

  24. God bless you and your heart that He knows and sees! You are His and He loves you! Praying your worship was a wonderful time with Him.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

